We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent option if...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Amber - New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Amber - New Delhi to your Saves list
The Amber - New Delhi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An excellent option if...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Amber is a lovely property with a super nice staff, a great breakfast selection (including omlettes made on the spot to order), nice rooms with safes, minibar selections, good towels, even little slippers. There's climate control which in winter is a blessing! The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. Just make sure you get a street facing room if you want some natural light. The first room we were shown had no window, then they moved us to a second floor street facing room which we much preferred. If wasn't terribly noisy and we liked having light in the morning.

Here's the only problem: nobody knows where this hotel is and it's impossible for a driver to find it without stopping several times nearby and asking people on the street. Our airline arranged our airport pick-up and sent a man who seemed to be a very experienced driver, and he got utterly lost (though finally found it). The next day we were abandoned by a taxi driver who could not find his way. When we got someone else to take us, it was still like an exploratory mission. I've heard that the South Delhi streets and numbering system is difficult to navigate, and because this hotel is small and not very well-known, it's just off the radar.

And that may actually be a reason to stay here. You don't seem to get much for your money in Delhi and I think The Amber is an excellent value. For an extra Rs1000/day (which is a lot less than what you'd pay for an equivalent, more well-known hotel closer in to the city center) you can hire a driver through the hotel who will obviously know how to get you home and ferry you wherever you'd like to go for the whole day. Or you can figure out the metro system (much, much less expensive) and get the hotel staff to give directions so that a tuk-tuk to get you to the nearest station and back.

I'd love to see The Amber do well and become a more established property despite this one great disadvantage because once it is on the radar, then no one will have a problem at all finding it!

Room Tip: If you want windows and natural light, definitely ask for a street facing room on the second floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    102
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
100
48
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Clean and neat hotel. Very friendly and helpful service. Lovely soft fresh towels. All else pretty much standard. We were surprised that there were very few people in the hotel.

Room was neat and tidy. Bathroom was spacious. Took a while for the hot water to flow.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 02 nights and I really appreciated this hotel. The service was good as was the food. I also enjoyed the rooftop sitting area...it was a great place to hang out and read. They offer very good breakfast, really fresh stuff. I found the food excellent. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i stayed twice in this south delhi hotel in last two years after reading reviews about it on Trip Advisor. we (my family) liked it and had a comfortable stay. the staff are very courteous and helpful. the ambiance of the rooms is superb and tasteful. most people (especially tourists) in their reviews have complained about its location. their complaint it is that Taxi drivers and Auto Rickshaw drivers don't know about the place. there are some easy landmarks like Fortis Escorts hopsital, Sukhdev Vihar Bus depot. i would love to stay there again. Food is great too. and they prepared a nice lunch for us on just a 30 mins notice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

its rated 9 out of over 500 so its a no brainer for the price, we are well traveled, and this place is awesome, we stayed for almost 3 weeks, mukesh (gm) and his crew were at our beck and call, sleeps are wonderful as there are no horns honking and you can get anywhere for so cheap and within minutes....don't believe how it's off the beaten path, it is close to everything, if it was in the core it would be over 300 per night....I recommend it to anyone and everyone.....

Room Tip: choose front room overlooking the street, they are bigger and brighter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was once of the better hotels in the area. The rooms were five star like, neat and clean, good bed comfortable sofas, LCD TV. The staff were very professional in neat and clean uniforms.
The service was good too. The hotel is located in South Delhi which was an ideal location as i had to travel to Noida as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you accept to stay a little bit out of the center, this address is a very good choice. Very clean and nice rooms with a helpful and professional staff. The hotel is located in a very quiet neighborhood, but the central market is not far away. You can also find several restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amber - New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - New Delhi

Address: 198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Amber - New Delhi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber is a new boutique hotel with the aim of providing luxurious rooms at affordable prices. It is located in the posh South Delhi area and is in close proximity to major commercial centers and tourist attractions of Delhi. The rooms and bathrooms are fitted with all the amenities that you will find in a 5 star deluxe hotel. Central air-conditioning / heating, 24 hours coffee shop / room service, wi-fi /in-house GYM/ broadband Internet connectivity free of cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Amber - New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amber - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Amber Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amber - New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.