We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amber - New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Amber - New Delhi to your Saves list
The Amber - New Delhi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed at this modern hotel. Room was great with all the amenities.Clean and comfortable rooms. It was great to have a restaurant onsite that catered to all our needs for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    102
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
100
48
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2011. The pickup from the airport was on time and am so pleased we arranged this beforehand. The hotel room was lovely, clean and modern. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. The hotel is a small distance from the city centre but we arranged a driver (through the hotel) and did all our sightseeing this way which was perfect. The breakfast was nice (a mix of continental with a small selection of hot food and eggs any way you like, or pancakes if you prefered) and was included in the rate. There is no 'evening' restaurant but instead there is a large takeaway menu from which you can order. You can eat the food in your room or on the rooftop. You can also order alcohol which they will bring you. The rooftop terrace is small but adeqaute and very nicely done (rattan chairs and a large daybed). They delivered a newspaper to your room each morning and provided water free of charge. There was a minibar in the room and snacks which you could pay for and the price was reasonable for a hotel. I would highly recommend this place for travellers who want somewhere quiet and who are not concerned about being within walking distance of the city centre. It was an excellent price for a lovely modern hotel with helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I have stayed in the Amber hotel on 3 separate occasions in the last 6 months, in 3 different rooms. I have stayed in a lot hotels in New Delhi, from the 5 star to the no star. In Delhi you either have overpriced 5 star hotels which are not worth the money charged or you have these hotels in the range of Rs. 1000-3000 ( Approx. $ 25 - $ 65 ) per day which are dingy hostels. In the middle to upper range you have these so called "boutique" hotels which are in reality glorified guest houses with the management not knowing the first thing about hospitality and service.
But the Amber is different. It is perfect, it is well located , It is good value for money , it is comfortable, it is modern, rooms are spacious and the staff are among the best I have seen ( and I have stayed in a lot of 5 star properties both in North and South India).
I read some review of this hotels which say this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. WRONG. This hotel is in the middle of Everywhere. Whenever I am in Delhi, I have to go to West Delhi, Central Delhi , South Delhi and Gurgaon. It doesn't take more than 30 minutes to any of these places except Gurgaon which takes about an hour or a little more.
This time when I went there at the hotel, I was with my wife and 2 kids, one 12 and one 6. There was a large extra mattress put near the venetian blinds and we could still move around the room easily and even have dinner in it.
Their car hire service is very reasonably priced and I use their comfortable Innova car everytime I stay there. One of the drivers, Mr. Mukesh ( not to be confused with Mr. Mukesh Sharma, the brilliant manager ) knows pretty much every place in South and Central Delhi down to the block arrangements of individual localities.
The bathrooms are huge and very well equipped and modern with walk in shower cabinets etc.
While in Delhi I always prefer eating outside in standalone restaurants but the India dinner I had in the hotel was very delicious and reasonable priced and my kids are really fussy so their approval counts for a lot.
The staff is polite , efficient and very helpful without being intrusive and the Manager Mr. Mukesh Sharma is always around to solve any problem and I think he is the engine around which the excellence and efficiency of the hotel revolves.
I think one of the reasons this hotel is so good is because it is the side business of a rich Indian business family and it seems they have given instructions to the staff to put guest satisfaction ahead of monetary profits.
All In all, I would say unless you can afford a much higher range hotel, you couldn't do better than this.
Sure they could improve in a couple of areas like expanding their breakfast menu and lighting up the terrace lounge in the night which was too dark for me but overall It was 10 out of 10 on most counts .

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room, it seems to be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Before this hotel I leved in the 5* hotel but I did not feel myself comfortable there. When my friend recomended me this hotel I was very surprised - small hotel was situated far from main roads so you will be able to sleep in quiet without horns, staff was very responsive and caring. Good food, affordable prices. Rooms with A/C, TV, free wi-fi, beatiful terrace on the roof on the hotel. I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. My respect to the staff, owners and managers.
I am 100% sure that next time in Delhi I will live in this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Priced well, this hotel is very comfortable and caters wonderfully to the needs of the Western traveler. The Indian guests that I encountered also seemed quite pleased.

My room was modern, well-maintained and clean. It had free wifi, a good television, a spacious bathroom with Western style toilet. All the services were there - such as wake up calls, irons, laundry, slippers and robe, refrigerator, minibar, etc.

The restaurant is clean, open around the clock for dining or for room service and the chef will flavor the food to your liking. Western food is available too. If they don't cook it there, they'll order it for you from a nearby restaurant.

Very appealing to me was the availability of a comfortable car and staff driver whenever I needed one. There is a minimal charge for that service but you can reserve one for airport pickup or drop-off, for shopping or for sightseeing. The Amber's location is on a quiet side street, away from the noise of the city, but also a short distance from the shops and other restaurants. So the hotel-owned car is a plus and the drivers are knowlegable.

And last but not least, many of the staff spoke my language well (English). Those that didn't were courteous, professional and service-oriented and could communicate well enough.

This is not a fancy luxury hotel, but the attraction lies in its comfortable simplicity.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and I was given one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed at this hotel after seeing the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Have some good comments, bad comments, and comments about things that are just weird (can't even decide if they are good or bad)

Good:
- Rate was pretty cheap what you get. It included free internet and breakfast
- "Boutique" hotel styling
- They have a copy of a city guide book in the room

Bad:
- Location. This hotel really is in the middle of nowhere. None of the taxi drivers know where it is, so you'll literally have to direct the driver yourself once you get to the nearby hospital.
- Front desk staff very courteous and friendly, but they just weren't helpful at all. The didn't know much about the different train stations in Delhi and couldn't book me a car without talking with the general manager. They didn't even have a map of the nearby area. The best they can provide is a high level map of Delhi with the hotel marked somewhere in a general area
- While the rooms had nice decor and styling, it seemed like things were starting to show signs of age. Don't know how old the hotel is, but much of the fixtures and furniture were either scratched or stained

Weird!
- Not sure if they are being eco-friendly or just cheap, but they never refilled the toiletries (shampoo, soap, etc.) after we used them the first day.
- When we asked for a second key for the room, the staff seemed perplexed and claimed they would get us one "later". After repeated requests, they finally admitted that they couldn't issue a second key and would have the staff member help us open the door if needed.

TIP:
- Make sure you have the hotel arrange for car transportation from the airport or train station as any regular taxi driver won't be able to find it.

Room Tip: heard a lot of dogs barking from front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Of all the hotels that we stayed in in India, I have to admit, THE AMBER was quite impressive. I absolutely loved the interior design of the entire hotel. Their rooftop deck is amazing! The service was excellent and I really enjoyed their food as well! When in Delhi, stay at THE AMBER!"

Room Tip: Book a trip with GRAND TRAVEL PLANNER
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amber - New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - New Delhi

Address: 198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Amber - New Delhi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber is a new boutique hotel with the aim of providing luxurious rooms at affordable prices. It is located in the posh South Delhi area and is in close proximity to major commercial centers and tourist attractions of Delhi. The rooms and bathrooms are fitted with all the amenities that you will find in a 5 star deluxe hotel. Central air-conditioning / heating, 24 hours coffee shop / room service, wi-fi /in-house GYM/ broadband Internet connectivity free of cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Amber - New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amber - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Amber Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amber - New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.