We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Facility but Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of India Habitat Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
India Habitat Centre
Save
You added India Habitat Centre to your Saves list
Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110 003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 581 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Overpriced Facility but Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This facility, open to members only, is located right at the very happening India Habitat Center. Lower floor rooms are very noisy, room conditioner does not work well and very slow reception and staff response. Charges about USD 100 per night and does not include breakfast. Room service and food quality is ok. Better to take food in near by places in IHC.

Room Tip: 4th floor and above and facing back side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at India Habitat Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at Habitat World.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused due to noise. We would like to assure you that a necessary corrective action has been taken to ensure a much better experience to our guests in future. Also, based on your feedback about service quality, the entire staff has been briefed to be more proactive while fulfilling guests’ requirements.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again at Habitat World.

Best regards,

Manager,
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
7
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This place is basically a members only facility and the most happenning place in centre of New Delhi. There is a hotel, number of restaurants, bar, food court, fitness club and many auditoriums and a great library. I have dined at Delhi O Delhi, an Indian restuarant a few times and have always been happier for it. The food is great and there is nice buffet where every item tastes great starting with appetizers, soup, entrees and some excellent desserts. The atmosphere is great with old pictures highlighting the city and democratic set up of the nation adorning the walls. Do try it if you know a member who can take you there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at India Habitat Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about Habitat World. We are glad to note your appreciation about the facility and restaurants.

Positive feedback motivates our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Habitat World.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

As per previous reviews, the hotel staff are not very helpful and whilst the rooms were clean it is expensive for what it is. Needs to be at least R1000 a night cheaper to represent good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at India Habitat Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay at Habitat World.

With regards to your feedback on room rates, we would like to explain that the room tariff at Habitat World is governed by the tariff committee of India Habitat Centre. A lot of thought has gone into charging these rates and we would like to assure you that rates charged are very competitive in comparison to other similar places.

In addition, your feedback regarding the staff attitude has been taken up with the entire Front Office and Service Team. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused and assure you that the staff has been briefed on proper guest handling. We assure you a much better experience on your next visit.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 (freezing) nights in December 2011. At close to Rs 5000/- a night (room only) for a single occupancy room, I think the property is a tad overpriced as there are sufficient cheaper options close by. That said the room was well appointed.The AC, TV, and other facilities were good. The room service though expensive was punctual and courteous. They have a reasonable gym in the premises, but even as a hotel guest, we need to pay to use it. The location of the hotel is the USP as it is right in the heart of the city and easily accessible.

The bathroom was pretty clean and hygienic, with hot water right through the day (much needed in Delhi winters) . However, the WC was old and in need of replacement.

All in all a reasonable stay, which would have been real value for money at about a 20% cheaper tariff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at India Habitat Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay at Habitat World.

With regards to your feedback on room rates, we would like to explain that the room tariff at Habitat World is governed by the tariff committee of India Habitat Centre. A lot of thought has gone into charging these rates and we would like to assure you that rates charged are very competitive in comparison to other similar places. However, your feedback has been shared with the managing team for further perusal.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I was recommended this hotel whilst on a recent trip to Delhi. Never again. The room was big but the smell of it was appalling. They were unable to swap me for another room until the second night but the second room was even worse and smelled decidedly of drains. The windowsills were the local pigeon's living quarters - with all of the rubbish you would expect from them. When I opened a window to try to reduce the choking smell in the room, the pigeons tried to enter. No internet, despite a team of 'technicians' trying to log me into their system.
The Diner is good and had speedy service but I didn't try the more upscale restaurants on floors 5 & 6.
This place looks tired and in need of an upgrade. Thankfully, I only had to put up with it for 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at India Habitat Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Habitat World. Please accept our profuse apologies for the unsatisfactory experience.

As a hospitality company, we have always done our utmost to meet quality standards that have exceeded our guests’ expectations and we regret that we were not able to meet yours this time.

We sincerely regret for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay and regret that the room provided was not up to your expectations.

With regards to your concern on wi fi connectivity, we would like to assure you that a necessary corrective action has been taken to rectify the issue.

We hope that this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing Habitat World in future. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This hotel is for members and their guests only. I happened to stay with a colleague of mine who is a member. IHC is fantastically located in the heart of Delhi.

The best part is that the hotel is a stone's throw away from Lodhi Garden the famous green belt of Delhi. Also the eatries in the top floor of the hotel has good options in chinese and thai.

I usually stay there when in Delhi. You should too, if you get a chance.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at India Habitat Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at Habitat World. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed dining at our restaurants.

Positive feedback motivates our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Habitat World.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

It is truly a tremendous hotel at a terrific location and offers all the luxury one may be looking for. Only members are allowed to stay at the hotel, and non-members need to get an approval from a member whom they know.

The staff at the check-in counter at the reception are courteous and very helpful. The rooms are quite elegant, comfortable and spacious with a pleasing window view. As far as the service of the hotel is concerned, it is also very good (which includes room service as well as housekeeping). The restaurants - like the Delhi 'o' Delhi and the Oriental Octopus - are absolutely marvelous and serve some amazing food. One can choose from a wide variety of dishes, ranging from fine Indian cuisine to Chinese to Mughlai and so on. During our week-long stay at the hotel, we tried out all the restaurants and really enjoyed them.

Also, the IHC is quite famous for the numerous cultural and musical programmes that it hosts everyday, within its premises. This is another advantage for the hotel guests, as they can always witness these and hence, never get too bored during their stay. In addition, the location of the hotel is terrific - right in the centre of New Delhi and close to many tourist attractions and heritage sites. Therefore, summing up, I would say it is really a magnificent hotel at a great location along with a wide range of luxurious facilities for the guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at India Habitat Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at Habitat World.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed dining at our restaurants. Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to strive to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again at Habitat World.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to India Habitat Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India Habitat Centre

Address: Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110 003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 581 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Also Known As:
India Habitat Centre Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Habitat Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.