We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Panama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalupe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa
Save
You added Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Parque International la Amistad | PO Box 55-0039, Guadalupe, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best in Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were extremely pleased with the Lodge, the staff and the amenities! Plus the view! There are great hiking trails, an orchid farm nearby and plenty of R&R if you so desire. The suite was spacious and comfortable, the best accommodations that we have had so far in Panama. We met the most wonderful people during our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: For the extra money, book one of the suites, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    50
    20
    4
    10
See reviews for
41
93
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you have the opportunity to visit this exceptional Lodge, don't miss it
You will never regret it. Food , service rooms are all terrific. Be sure to get a massage or facial they are wonderful and very well priced

Room Tip: Suite 16 has 2 dbl beds, 2 balconies a kitchen, sitting room and a wood burning fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We happened upon Los Quetzales by chance. We were planning to stay at Hotel Cerro Punta, but when we arrived there was a sign that said 'cerrado todos las dias'. We drove on and found LQL&S. I was happy to hear English spoken at the desk but disappointed to learn that the cost was $95 and they required a 2-nite stay. I explained we had made reservations for the next day in Boquete. Michael allowed us to stay for one night... and the cost included a full breakfast and a cloud forest tour. We were sold. LQL&S was the best of all the hotels we stayed at in Panama. The room was clean and comfortable with fresh flowers from the garden. in fact all the veggies, milk and eggs are provided on-site. The meals are excellent.
This is a true eco lodge, even [used] toilet paper is composted. The list of activities and spa services is vast. We did take the cloud forest tour 8:30 the next morning... a bone-jarring 45 min. ride in a seated trailer hauled by tractor up a rocky trail to a cabin where we donned rubber boots. We then hiked up a muddy jungle trail to a waterfall and back. The flora and fauna were stunning. We were back by noon. I definitely would have stayed more days if I could.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Los Quetzales is a unique property and one of the top two places we stayed during our entire Panama trip. If you are looking for a friendly, beautiful, quiet place where you can meet interesting people and experience fantastic cloud forest, this is it. If you need 5-star amenities, you probably won't be happy here. The owner, Carlos, is a wonderful, thoughtful host. Other staff members are very friendly and helpful, but service is often slow. We thought the food was very good and appreciated the organic greens grown on site. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet with a nice little balcony. It can be quite chilly and damp at Guadalupe so the heavy comforter was a nice touch. Los Quetzales also has several gorgeous cabins high in the cloud forest -- these are the places to go if you want to be completely alone in nature. But it's a long way to the cabins, up an extremely rough track. If you choose them, take all you need and enjoy the incredible solitude. Every morning, all guests (including those at the lodge) are invited to take a 3-hour trek into the jungle with guide Abel, who was lovely. I would highly recommend it, though be prepared for challenging hiking. We also enjoyed using the spa (wood-fired sauna and excellent massages) while we were there. The town of Guadalupe is tucked in a high, steep canyon, and the agricultural fields climbing the hills were impressive and beautiful. One last thing -- be sure to visit Finca Dracula while you're there. The grounds are gorgeous and your very knowledgeable guide will share information about the 2,000 varieties of orchids growing there.

Room Tip: The cabins in the cloud forest would be a unique lodging experience -- we didn't stay in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for a couple days following new years. They were so hospitable and kind. The owner was extremely helpful and made us feel at home. This lodge is truly a gem and must see!

The food was okay, but the location was amazing. You can spend days simply in the library or speaking with travelers. It was fun, comfortable, and overall welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I found Los Quetzales Lodge a great place to stay in order to enjoy seeing the high elevation birds along Volcan Mountain in the cloud forest of Panama bordering Costa Rica. The cost of the lodging was affordable and included quite a generous spread for breakfast each morning, buffet style. The front desk people (Michael) was very helpful in helping us find a local bird guide to take us to where the Resplendant Quetzal might be found. We were rewarded by seeing 5 of them! I enjoyed all the staff who worked there. They were very pleasant, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the the hotel Inn rooms. Next time I would like to try staying in one of their c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We rented a suite and the room was nice enough; A wood fireplace, a kitchenette, and a comfortable bed. The thing that bothered me most about the room was that you couldn't flush any toilet paper in the toilet, and then they didn't empty the garbage everyday- thought that was a little gross. We loved the lodge area where you can hang out and play games, Foosball, get a drink, etc. so I would NOT recommend staying in the cabins that you have to take a tractor to get to. It's QUITE a hike to get to and from the lodge if you are in a cabin (we walked up there one day). The food was okay- nothing to write home about. We ate at the buffet, and the food seems to always be room temperature instead of hot.

Overall our experience was just mediocre- we weren't impressed. We actually decided to cut our trip short by a few days to go to Boquete instead. Once we did our hiking at La Amistad and checked out the tiny town of Guadalupe, there didn't seem to be much else to do, and the weather was cold and very rainy (which is typical in the mountains). They advertised having Yoga onsite, but there was none when we were there, possibly due to the holiday. I guess if you are the type that can pass the hours and rainy days with a book then this place would be for you, but if you are the adventurous type there is much more to do around the Boquete area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa

Address: Parque International la Amistad | PO Box 55-0039, Guadalupe, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Guadalupe
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Los Quetzales Lodge And Spa
Los Quetzales Hotel Guadalupe
Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa Panama/Guadalupe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.