We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and the new owners (Dave and Suzanne) are wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cayuco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Cayuco
Save
You added Casa Cayuco to your Saves list
Punta Vieja, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bocas Del Toro
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place and the new owners (Dave and Suzanne) are wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Top class accommodation, great food, great staff, great service, .... all set right on the beach and in a true rainforest paradise, with all sorts of great activities (they have SUP, kayaks, surfboards, a Hobie Cat sailboat) to choose from. An amazing place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
86
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Truly paradise found - off the grid, but certainly no sacrifices here! Beautiful setting, great accommodations and awesome food. We could all have just hung out in the hammocks and been happy. But the excursions are great too! We snorkeled, hiked in the rain forest and kayaked to Salt Creek Village, where most of the staff live. And the staff, along with new owners Dave, Suzanne and Rosie the crab-hunting dachshund, are what make Casa Cayuco so special. We were totally pampered, with our delicious dinners served to us out on the dock, lit with candles and small lights - like a 5 star restaurant in heaven! Two nights were birthday dinners for our group, and we even had special desserts. It was so hard to go back to the real world!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I don't even know where to start with this review: you should really stop reading now and just book this place :) The setting is absolutely beautiful and everything is very comfortable (particularly impressive given that they are totally off the grid!). We stayed for three days for our honeymoon in the Pelicano cabin, which is spacious and super close to the beach.

The best part of this place by far, though, is Dave and Suzanne. They make you feel so welcome and are just genuinely great people. They went above and beyond throughout our stay: giving my husband aloe and meds to nurse his sunburn, lending me Suzanne's own more appropriate shoes for our caving trip (city girl here came underprepared!), etc.! They do wonderful things for the local community and all of their staff are friendly and super helpful. The excursions planned were all incredible - we went snorkeling, saw dolphins, visited the local village, went caving, etc.! Amazing things to see right at Casa Cayuco as well, especially the bioluminescence at night. And the food was SO. GOOD. By far the best things we ate throughout our trip.

Thank you guys for giving us the best part of an already great honeymoon!

Room Tip: Pelicano cabin is great for honeymooners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Cayuco for 7 nights in July and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Pelecanos Cabin closest to the beach which was delightful, comfortable, well appointed and had a great view of the beach. We were there at an interesting time as previous owners/managers Sue and Lloyd, who obviously did wonderful things with the resort, were transitioning out and new owners Suzanne and Dave were in the latter stages of learning the ropes and getting ready to take over the day after we left. Thus, we were taken care of extremely well! My wife enjoyed the beach and I spent much time birding, there is a good trail beginning at the main lodge building and crossing the island where bellbirds were singing during our visit. We also walked to the nearby village of Salt Creek several times, hoping to walk another trail, the Caiman Trail, with a local guide, which was rained out, but there were several shops with very interesting indigenous arts and crafts for sale. There were plenty of other activities to do as well including a great snorkeling trip with many sightings of some of the local dolphins playing in the wake of our boat. The food was superb, including the fresh Barracuda dinner one evening; we would not hesitate to say it was the best food we have ever had at an eco-resort location. Dave and Suzanne, the new owners, were engaging, helpful, very enthusiastic and are wonderful hosts along with their dog Rosie! It was a perfect stay with just the right mix of relaxation and activity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our trip to Casa Cayuco was not 5 stars, it was 10! Stunningly beautiful setting, and easy to do nothing or everything and feel zen-like while doing so. Our daughter did yoga on the dock or the beach nearly every day. We snorkeled; kayaked; went to the chocolate farm (it is actually a wonderful narrated hike through beautiful gardens and groves of native trees so don't pass it up even if you don't care for chocolate); hiked to Salt Creek (the local indigenous village) and hiked through the jungle with a native guide; went on beach excursions to the Zapatillas and the peninsula of Panama and Noribe beach. The unexpected bonus was the time spent with the Ngobe people in their villages and the opportunity to see some of the service projects that Casa Cayuco has participated in to help improve their standard of living. Dave, Suzanne and their entire staff made us feel like pampered family members. It was wonderful to be largely unplugged (they have wireless, but no cell phone reception, thankfully). If you need air conditioning and all of your devices to be happy, this is not the place for you. But, if you prefer soft ocean breezes and the sound of the waves while swaying in a hammock feeling too peaceful to even read your book, then by all means, sign up for a trip to Casa Cayuco! I wanted to mention that this experience is suitable for healthy older people and not just the younger people shown in the videos. My husband and I are in our 60's and we were able to do everything (well, everything we wanted to do - we passed on the ziplines but our daughter loved that excursion). As everyone has noted, the food is also fabulous. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tortuga and it was perfect, right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Perfect is an overused word and not one that I throw around often. But I have to say, Casa Cayuco was perfect. It was exactly as advertised and exactly what we needed. Dave and Suzanne are wonderfull people and fantastic hosts. The excursions are amazing and beautiful. The location is absolutely breathtaking. I loved going for an early kayak and then lounging on the dock in a hammock planning my day. I loved the evenings spent with my kids, unplugged and uninterrupted. Just hanging out playing cards and actually talking. I loved the sound of the conch summoning us to enjoy another delicious meal. I loved it all. We were still on the plane when we started planning our return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort has recently been purchased by a young couple Dave and Suzanne who are wonderful host and hostess. The bungalows are open to the air and comfortable at night. Meals are included as well as a light snack. The food is great, prepared by local native help and Suzanne herself. Very private, you can go on and excursion with Dave and a staff member or sit in the sun and relax. They provide kayacs, snorkels, paddle boards, and beach towels. The beer and wine is included at dinner and it is reasonably priced if you want refreshments outside of that time period. It is a 40 minute ride from Bocas town to the hotel so do not expect to travel back to town during your stay. See the town at the beginning or at the end of your trip to Casa Cayuco. Lovely couple, lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cayuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cayuco

Address: Punta Vieja, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cayuco Eco-Adventure Lodge sits on a small swath of land sandwiched between white sand beach and lush, tropical rainforest. Remote by choice, our resort is a 40 minute boat ride from Bocas Town - Colon Island and adjacent to the National Marine Park of Isla Bastimentos. Our resort is eco-friendly, in that our electricity is generated from the sun. Solar panels are mounted on the roofs throughout the resort. All our water comes from the roofs of our buildings and is then filtered for our use. We hire only local indigenous people and by supporting Casa Cayuco, you are making an impact on over 100 people in our local village of Salt Creek. Cabins are stand alone structures and have large covered porches for relaxing and enjoying the scenery. Each is very spacious, open-air and equipped with fans.Our private white sand beach is no more than a minute walk from anywhere on the property. You swim right off our beach or off our thatched roof dock. Kayaks, paddleboards and a Hobie Cat sailboat are available during your stay. Where we are located there are no roads. Locals and tourists use footpaths or boats to get from one place to another. These same paths provide a wonderful trail system for hiking/walking and numerous opportunities for birding and finding sloths and monkeys! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cayuco Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Casa Cayuco Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cayuco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.