We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chef (also owner) is One Amazing Chef!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Firefly Restaurant & Bar

The Firefly Restaurant & Bar
Old Bank, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
50765244809
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The chef (also owner) is One Amazing Chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A bit of a hike to get to, thru some interesting areas, but worth the culinary experience prepared by chef Lauren and waiter/bartender/et al Ryan (owners from CA). Set on a wood deck right off the rocky beach under palm trees. Bring a flashlight to find your way back to the boat dock, that is, if you are staying in Bocas. (We stayed on site).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wow. We ordered three of Lauren's dishes and loved each one. Her Asian-fusion cooking blends well with the overall ambiance of the inn. Would definitely recommend the gnocchi and shrimp combo, as well as her homemade coconut ice cream with black sea salt. So. Good. If you're lucky enough to stay here, her (included) breakfasts are killer. The staff is friendly and helpful. Reservations are required, it's a small place. Try one of Ryan's cocktails and enjoy the sunset.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randle, wa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great drinks...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We ended up eating almost every one of our meals here on our five day stay. The menu has great variety! The drinks were great! Presentation was perfect! :) we loved everything we ate! Our favorite was the popcorn fish and the green curry!!! Guaranteed you'll love it here!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Meal in Bocas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Owners are cool. Its pretty much just them serving, cooking, and making yummy drinks. Their BnB was on House Hunters which is a fun fact. The food is well made and cooked. I couldn't of asked for a better piece of steak on the island. The red meat in the area isn't always so good. They have really yummy drinks. They are different from the usual local beer or frozen drink in other bars in the area. The location is really cool. It is on the other side of Basti. The outdoor seating is comfy and well decorated. Overall one of my favorite meals in Bocas and surprisingly cheap for the quality of the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Island Oriental Gourmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Celebrating my wife's birthday in Bocas Town we followed the advise of Trip Advisor's reviewers and visited the unique restaurant on Bastimentos Island. From Bocas Town the water taxi ride was 10 minutes. Although the directions on their website are good, the locals directed us to the 5minute walk alongside the beach to Fireflies. What a unique setting at this small tropical retreat on the water!

The service was great with cocktails of refreshing muddled cucumber and vodka. Presenting a unique menus of small offerings, we selected the Thai steak salad, which was a great start followed by oriental pulled pork. While enjoying an Argentinian white wine, we continued with the braised ribs and shrimp satays. All the dishes were amazingly accented by Oriental and Thai flavors that jump in your mouth! We have not found this quality, taste, or presentation in Panama!
In Bocas...DO NOT MISS FIREFLY!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Firefly Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Carenero Island, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to The Firefly Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firefly Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.