We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the rainforest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Firefly Bocas del Toro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firefly Bocas del Toro
Save
You added The Firefly Bocas del Toro to your Saves list
Old Bank, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you are lucky enough to find this slice of heaven embedded in the rainforest it makes slogging thru the trashy town of Bastimentos--the second largest town in Bocas. The Firefly is down a hidden trail past the point...if you think you've gone too far then go a little further. A generous deck with the rainforest as the backdrop welcomes you to an array of seating facing the ocean surf. The entrepreneur owners relocated from LA and bought with them a flair for gourmet food with fresh ingredients that they grow themselves in the fertile soil surroundings. Weather you stop for a night or just for a meal it is worth a visit to this island.

Room Tip: Tough to find...so ask the friendly locals how to get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The owners are adorable and she is an amazing chef. The food was so fresh and delicious, as were the cocktails. The perfect place to eat while watching the sunset in a picturesque setting, then enjoying a cocktail while relaxing in some nice lawn chairs. Really fun. Don't miss it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Firefly is a beautiful and serene gem, not only is it the best accommodation on the island (probably even Bocas del Toro) but it is the best place to go for a drink or dinner and chill at night. The thai food is also really really good and authentic. It was only 3 months old when we visited so there are some things being ironed out but it is still definitely the coolest place to be on Bastimentos. It may seem a little confusing to get to but once you're there it's totally worth the trek and easy to navigate from. Make sure you have a flashlight for the path at night. The hosts Ryan and Lauren are great and friendly, Lauren even got on the mic during a live show they had one afternoon. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The rooms are rustic but the whole island is, the gecko's are harmless.The view is great and the sound of waves crashing through the night is so relaxing. It is a great stay, make sure you get out to visit Red Frog Beach.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms 1 and 2 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We came to Firefly after staying a night in Bocas Town, and were refreshed by the slower pace and more rustic atmosphere of Isla Bastimentos. The vibe at Firefly was exactly what we were hoping for in visiting the Bocas archipelago. Firefly is set apart from the "town" and evokes a feeling of solitude while still being accessible and stylish. The decor is gorgeous -- perfect balance of modern, simple, fresh, and comfortable. The owners, Ryan and Lauren, were warm and welcoming, and their bar/restaurant has a convivial atmosphere with good food and drinks. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 1 is gorgeous and looks straight out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We traveled through Costa Rica to Panama and found the Firefly near the end of trip. We spent our last three night there and it was amazing! Ryan and Lauren are great hosts. Lauren's cooking is absolutely delicious. Ryan took my wife and I surfing, her first time and with Ryan's instruction she got up on her first wave.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with a beautiful view. Hang out on the deck or at the open bar and restaurant or head out for a hike on the island. The Firefly was the highlight of our trip and we can't wait to get back.
Thank you Ryan and Lauren for a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were so happy we stumbled upon the Firefly during the end of our three week trip across Panama! This was by far the best experience we had across the country. We were fortunate enough to be able to stay at the B&B for 2 nights, the first night in the Jungle room and the second in the larger ocean front room. Both rooms were beautifully decorated and gave you the island vibe that makes you feel like you have stepped into a photograph.

The owners, Ryan, Lauren, and Finney (the lovable Pomeranian), were spectacular. They are literally welcoming you into their home as they live on the second floor of the guesthouse. Their friendly and laid back manner makes you feel as if you are more than just a guest but a friend. They are full of advice on ways to occupy your time on the island, however, if your looking to do nothing at all they love to have you spend the day on the deck enjoying the tranquil views and sounds of the waves crashing into the shore.

While we were at the Firefly we were able to take advantage of some of the wonderful activities they offer including, morning Yoga class on the picturesque deck in the front of the property followed by a relaxing ocean side massage and facial by their wonderful friend and masseuses Erin.

I will forever cherish my memories from my visit to the Firefly and would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a taste of the Basti lifestyle with a little LA flare!

Room Tip: All their rooms are wonderful, however, our favorite was the large ocean front rooms with the privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were so happy to have found FireFly by word of mouth from another person staying at RedFrog villas. We stayed at RedFrog and while the beach was amazing, the food was not. So we were on the hunt for some food and thankfully we found FireFly! The food here was amazing, the prices were very reasonable too. The cocktails were probably some of my favorite from our trip. I love all the different varieties and it was nice to try some new cocktail mixes. Gotta try the The Firefly and the VeniceBeach (think that's what it was called). We stopped here 3 times, twice for lunch and once for dinner. Next time we visit Bocas we plan on spending a few days at FireFly. The location is off the beaten path, which we loved! And it's right on the beach. Love the open setting of the deck and the vibe is just killer. Lauren and Ryan were so friendly and just make you feel at home. If you are on Bastimento's you must venture to FireFly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Firefly Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firefly Bocas del Toro

Address: Old Bank, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firefly is a small, boutique B&B located on Bastimentos in Bocas Del Toro Panama. We are located directly on the Caribbean and have 2 ocean front rooms and 1 jungle view room. Our restaurant/bar is open 6 days a week for lunch, happy hour and dinner. Breakfast is included in your stay. We are a 3 minute walk from Basti Town (Old Bank) and a 7 minute boat taxi ride from Bocas Town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Firefly Bocas Del Toro Panama/Isla Bastimentos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firefly Bocas del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.