We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Natural Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Al Natural Resort to your Saves list
Al Natural Resort
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Old Point, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
12.5% LOW SEASON DISCOUNT
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My experience in Al Natural was awesome, really nice people, the location is incredible and the concept of the Hotel is really good!! I like they work with their surrounding community, building very peaceful and comfortable Bungalows with the best view ever. The food was simply perfect and a big surprise, taking into account we were in the middle of nowhere. We spent very good time with people from all over the world in a dinner table to remember. I will definitely come back in the future to be unplugged again.
Kudos to Vincent with his great humor, excellent service and of course the food!
Only missing part was the host at the airport as promised, after having a celebration the night before the person that supposed to pick us up never arrived but everything was compensated when we arrived to our final destination.
Many things to do and relax: kayaking, sailing, diving or simply enjoy reading.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    34
    12
    12
    6
See reviews for
42
123
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epe, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It takes a while to get there, which usually is the whole idea of staying in a remote area… part of the fun! While sailing to Isla Bastimentos it just gets better and better. Al Natural is a beautiful place to stay for a couple of days. It is very comfortable. The cabins are so pretty, each of them overlooking the ocean. There is plenty to do around here. We went snorkelling, diving, dolphin spotting and we visited several beautiful islands. The water around here gives you a wonderful opportunity to see some of the sea life. I was surprised to find such a good spot in Panama.

Perhaps the best thing about this lodge is their food. I’m not sure if he is always around, but the kind Belgian guy Vincent turned out to be the most fantastic cook. No matter what he serves, it always tastes heavenly! Since we are vegetarian it’s not always easy to find a place to eat well, but Vincent made the most delicious dishes for us in a blink of an eye. At night dinner is served by candlelight while the cutest monkeys you’ve ever seen give notice of their presence: Western night monkeys. They will eat banana out of your hand.

Al Natural provides you with a perfect combination of seeing and doing things and relaxing. It’s so peaceful, the only sound here comes from the breaking of the waves and the insects. There are no mosquito’s to worry about, only when you set foot in the jungle, which is about 5 meters behind the cabins. So weird…

Everybody was happy around here. People enjoyed their stay, whether they stayed for only 2 days or for a longer period. It was nice to share our great experiences during the night or in the morning. Very nice location, perfectly organised by the beautiful Selva Bananito Lodge (Costa Rica) in one of their tour packages. We highly recommend to combine these two lodges! Take a look at their new website for further details.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After 5 weeks of backpacking through Colombia and Panama my girlfriend and I wanted a treat to end our travels and this was the perfect place to completely unwind. Although a lot more expensive then other places we had stayed during our trip, we felt it was money well spent. The Al Natural is in a very beautiful and remote location on Isla Bastimentos with carefully designed cabins right on the beach. The food was absolutely delicious and we felt very well looked after. I just wished we could have stayed a little longer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Al Natural Resort ended up being so much better than we expected! It was like we were in a magazine on top destinations or something. The rooms on the water were fantastic. We stayed in the 'Natural House' and did the all inclusive with food and alcohol. Vincent, the manager, was so helpful and friendly and the food was absolutely amazing! I'm talking three and four course meals (mostly seafood). I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to feel like you are secluded in the wilderness with an ocean view. Listening to the waves and monkeys at night while falling asleep was so surreal. Great for a honeymoon!

Room Tip: Natural House is the best room, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 4 great days there. All the staff is excellent and really professional. The location and the resort is really beautiful and we have a good surprise with the excellent food they prepare for dinner.

The cabins are good enough for this kind of ecoresorts and it's really amazing the sea view from the rooms (that are opened if you want).

Alse we did some good dives there, beautiful coral reefs (but it's a pity that there are no big fishes on that area)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect place to relax and come down from everyday life, this is it. Cabins right at the beach, equipped with everything you need, don't expect luxury extras, it's basic but beautiful. You don't need TV if you can watch dragonflies, pelicans and bats hunt right in front of your face!
It is remote but you don't miss anything. Food is exellent, the people are great. We will surely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband stumbled upon Al Natural while searching the internet for a honeymoon dive destination - Al Natural appealed to us because of the unique eco adventure style, the beauty and privacy of the resort, available excursions and the snorkelling and diving! The trip from Panama city was interesting, Bocas Town was great! Don't buy things like suntan lotion or bug spray in Panama City wait to Bocas where the shops are plentiful, prices are low and the people are friendly! Al Natural provides transportation from the airport to their main office. We were greeted at the airport by Cesar who was friendly and helpful. Transportation to the island of Bastimentos is a gorgeous boat ride with PLENTY of photo opportunites and a friendly Captain who will point out areas of interest,.

At the resort we were greeted by Martin who is incredibly welcoming and will take you immediately to your private bungalow - be warned! These bunglaows are open air style, the idea of the resort is to enjoy nature fully! There is a bathroom with running water and HOT showers, there is no electricity other than solar power - it was truly an eco experience! The bungalows are amazing! Fresh flowers on a comfortable bed and you wake up to the most amazing water view you can imagine! Nature is everywhere!

The dive instructor Nicole is engaging and experienced! We dove a ten mintue boat ride away at a stunning rock wall - we saw big fish and little fish and incredible coral! It was an amazing dive experience!

The food! The food is gourmet! All meals are served at the same time - everyone eats together at one long table in the dining bungalow that is completely open to the elements. You have to experience dinner in a tropical setting with candles and music and waves and breezes and a group of like minded travellers all coming together to appreciate nature at it's best at least once in your life and AL NATURAL is definitely the place to make that happen!

This resort takes all the elements of a perfect vacation getaway and puts them together in a bundle of sunshine, water, islands, nature, exploration and serenity that will work for the single traveller, the couple, the family and all will find what they need in this one well run and amazingly pulled together resort!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Natural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Natural Resort

Address: Old Point, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al Natural Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Al Natural Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Natural Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Al Natural Resort Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Natural Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.