We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite meal in Bocas Del Toro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roots

Roots
Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Salvadoran
Restaurant details
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal in Bocas Del Toro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We traveled with kids (7 and 9) and this was the one restaurant that our kids liked and they ate their whole meal. : ) Great loctation. The town is so authentic...you must at least check it out. Go for the great pricing, great food and great location. Lobster meal for $10...really???

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We had amazing seafood in a great relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Liming Late Morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Meet the Basta Boys
Lovely Jamaican feel
My Spanish was rusting me up: Chill Jam Bro

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go only for the ambiance, not the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

If you are into caribbean ambiance, this may be okay for you, but I found the food only so-so and because nothing seems very clean in this town, I couldn't help wondering about the kitchen. Everything seems to be done in a creole sauce which is ok, but I couldn't finish it..it got old very quickly. I left hungry and went back to the Eclypse de Mar and had a delicious meal from an immaculate kitchen. Also, Calypso Joe was playing his guitar, which was entertaining, so make sure you have tip money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Great after a day of snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The fresh squeezed papaya was amazing and the pina coladas had kick! As a vegetarian eating at a seafood restaurant, the options were a bit limited. Rice and some diced veggies. Nothing too exciting for me, but my fiance liked his fish. The location over the ocean is the best.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots also viewed

Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.