We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palmar Tent Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmar Tent Lodge
Save
You added Palmar Tent Lodge to your Saves list
Red Frog Beach on Isla Bastimentos | Bocas Del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Cabin Style Tent Now Open
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Too expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Palmar Lodge is very well located but unfortunately doesn't offer great service. Although all of the staff is nice, they are poorly organized. All of the front desk staff are volunteers and it shows that none has a service orientation. Food is average (and served on paper plates - in an Eco-friendly lodge??) and the lunch simply too expensive for what it is. Toilets were in a terrible conditions and no single moskito net intact - which is probably why us and all other people were eaten up by the bugs. Could be an awesome place with a bit more organized and service-oriented management.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarTentLodge, Owner at Palmar Tent Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks for your review and are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are currently training new staff and apologize if that came across as disorganized. We are also working on a new lunch menu and appreciate your feedback on pricing. Regarding the paper plates, this is definitely not our normal standard. We have been dealing with an extreme water shortage due to a drought and to conserve water we are using the most eco-friendly disposable plates we can find. We've taken your comments into consideration and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    38
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
88
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon here in December, at Palmar for one week, and the only thing I can think of since returning home is, "how soon can we get back to Island Bastimentos and Palmar?" The tents are comfy, the food delicious, the people beyond wonderful, we felt like family within a day! The island is magic. Quiet, adventurous, gorgeous, diverse, away from it all but close to what you think you need.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My family and spent three days there August 2013. Sadly, I am just getting around to writing a review, but trust me I think of Palmar Tent Lodge often. There are some many things to love: the beach access, great food, comfortable accommodations, and friendly staff. We definitely hope to visit again soon. I highly recommend this place to solo travelers, couples, or even small families like ours. My 10-year old loved it! Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Palmar Tent lodge has it all. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable and special as possible. Between the personalized yoga sessions, fantastic cocktails and food and, in my case, a surprise candle lit dinner for two, you could not ask for more. The ambiance is spectacular and the warmth and friendliness is better then anywhere in the area. Palmar Tent Lodge brings "Glamping" to a whole new level!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed at Palmar for a week last July. Just me and my 10 year old son. It was luxury camping, perfect for a mom and her son. We liked that there was no wifi because it gave us a chance to mingle with people from all over the world during dinner without everyone staring at their phones. It was comfortable, beautiful, and an amazing adventure. We found a huge blue crab outside our tent one night we tried to catch it but ut was too fast. A memory we will never forget. We can't wait to go back next July.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have stayed at Palmar twice in the last six months! It provides a haven away from the craziness of daily life, work, etc. I love sleeping under a tent listening to the waves crash at night and waking up to enjoy a cup of coffee on Red Frog Beach. The staff & volunteers are so friendly and helpful! I've had the perfect mix of hammocking and sunbathing combined with yoga, hiking, snorkelling, & other adventures during my stays. They're also connected to the Give & Surf non-profit so I've been able to volunteer in the local schools during my stay! I highly recommend Palmar to anyone who enjoys the outdoors... can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Palmar is a great place to meet fellow travelers and enjoy time on the beach. When you arrive in Bocas Town it seems a little crazy, but you will be taken to a place that is nothing like the madness of town. Red Frog Beach is gorgeous, laid back and feels totally off the grid. Turn your phone off and enjoy. Make sure to try one of Brian's burgers and take a walk to Polo's Beach. Don't forget your bug spray (a lot of sand flies) and after bite lotion. Bring t-shirts and shorts. No fancy clothes or shoes necessary. Many thanks to the volunteers (Ben, Dom, Brian, Chris) for making us feel like friends.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmar Tent Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmar Tent Lodge

Address: Red Frog Beach on Isla Bastimentos | Bocas Del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmar Tent Lodge has eco-friendly, affordable beachfront accommodations that are one of a kind in Bocas del Toro. Spend your days on the beach and your nights falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle and ocean. Accommodations range from comfortable private safari style tents to shared dorm safari tents, a cabin-style tent, and a two-story jungalow. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmar Tent Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmar Tent Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.