We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cheap, chill, clean place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Bastimentos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Bastimentos to your Saves list
Hostal Bastimentos
Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome cheap, chill, clean place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is great value, $20 for a 2 double beds private bathroom room per night ($10 each) with awesome views... hammocks, internet... basic kitchen but does the job.. roots is close by which is great for some carribean fare... the hostel is in Bastimentos town which is the most authentic town in the whole Bocas del Toro area... the town is just alive with atmoshpere and reggae beats... this hostel is a staple place full of colour, clean and run by the friendly dickson... you cant go wrong

Room Tip: Top private rooms have the best view, pay that bit extra and enjoy the amazing view, massive bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
18
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you are in Bastimentos, you will not find a better place and price for the quality and the guy who manages it is bomb. His name is Dixon and he loves to entertain his guests with card games including his own made up game named Dixon's Game! I had the best time there and I HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago so I can't speak to its current condition. We did, however, think it was an excellent value. We paid very little for our private room. The rooms were clean and bright, the views lovely, and the staff friendly. They were also very helpful guiding us around and connecting us with local tour guides. This was far nicer (and quieter) than anything we found in Bocastown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

my advise - find another place to stay. this place is infested with bed bugs. worst experience of my life.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed for a few nights in a private hoping to get away from the madness of Isla Colon. It was a really relaxed vibe and although a little hard to understand at times the staff were really helpful. Nice to see locals running a place. The kitchen could have been cleaner / had more utensils but overall a really good stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed on this island for the better beaches and quieter location. The town of Old Bank has a slightly unpleasant edge to its atmosphere but especially at this hostel. It seemed that the owner was away and the local guy in charge allowed his mates to congregate in the reception/kitchen area like they owned it. This was annoying and sometimes noisy but when I had my beers twice stolen within hours we decided to leave. Others recounted items going missing - it seemed like the unwelcome visitors were helping themselves. This raised a security risk that we couldn´t accept. Shame as the hostel could otherwise have been fine. The beach, the Thai restaurant and the shop 'Up on the Hill´ were all positives.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Hostal Bastimentos is one of the few places to stay at on Isla Bastimentos and it is not a bad choice to go there. Rooms are clean and you have enough space for the rucksack and everything you want to have ready to hand.

The view from the double bed rooms is amazing and you can enjoy the sunset from a hamak just in front of your room. Staff is nice and helpful even if you hardly can understand the nice guy at the reception ;)

We would have given five points for Hostal Bastimientos but the kitchen really needs to be fixed once and cleaned up a lot more all the time.

With the only 5min walk from the landing place you have good access to all the other islands and Bastimentos is a better choice if you prefer to sleep during the nighttime which could be problemtic on Isla Colon. The island itself is much more basic and "real" than its more famous brother and has its on carribean style.

Coming back we would stay here again but please restore the kitchen in the meantime.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Bastimentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bastimentos

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Bastimentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Bastimentos Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Bastimentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.