We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Clean, Great Service, CHEAP!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Bastimentos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Bastimentos
Save
You added Hostal Bastimentos to your Saves list
Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, Clean, Great Service, CHEAP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you are in Bastimentos, you will not find a better place and price for the quality and the guy who manages it is bomb. His name is Dixon and he loves to entertain his guests with card games including his own made up game named Dixon's Game! I had the best time there and I HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
22
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago so I can't speak to its current condition. We did, however, think it was an excellent value. We paid very little for our private room. The rooms were clean and bright, the views lovely, and the staff friendly. They were also very helpful guiding us around and connecting us with local tour guides. This was far nicer (and quieter) than anything we found in Bocastown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

my advise - find another place to stay. this place is infested with bed bugs. worst experience of my life.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed for a few nights in a private hoping to get away from the madness of Isla Colon. It was a really relaxed vibe and although a little hard to understand at times the staff were really helpful. Nice to see locals running a place. The kitchen could have been cleaner / had more utensils but overall a really good stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed on this island for the better beaches and quieter location. The town of Old Bank has a slightly unpleasant edge to its atmosphere but especially at this hostel. It seemed that the owner was away and the local guy in charge allowed his mates to congregate in the reception/kitchen area like they owned it. This was annoying and sometimes noisy but when I had my beers twice stolen within hours we decided to leave. Others recounted items going missing - it seemed like the unwelcome visitors were helping themselves. This raised a security risk that we couldn´t accept. Shame as the hostel could otherwise have been fine. The beach, the Thai restaurant and the shop 'Up on the Hill´ were all positives.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Hostal Bastimentos is one of the few places to stay at on Isla Bastimentos and it is not a bad choice to go there. Rooms are clean and you have enough space for the rucksack and everything you want to have ready to hand.

The view from the double bed rooms is amazing and you can enjoy the sunset from a hamak just in front of your room. Staff is nice and helpful even if you hardly can understand the nice guy at the reception ;)

We would have given five points for Hostal Bastimientos but the kitchen really needs to be fixed once and cleaned up a lot more all the time.

With the only 5min walk from the landing place you have good access to all the other islands and Bastimentos is a better choice if you prefer to sleep during the nighttime which could be problemtic on Isla Colon. The island itself is much more basic and "real" than its more famous brother and has its on carribean style.

Coming back we would stay here again but please restore the kitchen in the meantime.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Bastimentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bastimentos

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Hostal Bastimentos Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Bastimentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.