We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at Punta Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Rica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Punta Rica
Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay at Punta Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our stay at Punta Rica was everything we wished for and more. My girlfriend and I stayed about 6 nights at the Villa, situated across the bay from Bastamiento's town and less than a 10 minute boat ride from Bocas town, so all of our day time excursions were very accessible. The property is situated on a hillside with lush tropical surroundings and the villas themselves are quite comfortable and roomie with nice wood workmanship throughout. The bottom level of the villa is fairly basic with table and chairs and doors that open out to small balcony facing some lovely tropical trees and such. The top level is spacious with a large comfortable bed and a fairly modern bath. The overhead fan provides for a nice breeze at night providing for a good night sleep among the sound of crickets.
Some of the best Punta Rica has to offer resides in the kitchen. Each morning Colette provides for a lovely Caribbean breakfast of local fruit, fruit juice, coffee, cheese, or you can choose to have your cereal or eggs if you like. Dinner was often a treat of family recipes from their native Montreal, so we were often spoiled with a starter, a main and a dessert typically of local produce and meats but prepared in a classic way... The host were always attentive to dietary restrictions and the most minute details. In a nut shell, the food is great.
But what really makes Punta Rica special is the warm atomosphere created by both Colette and Richard at their villa. They accomodated our schedules and let us move at our own pace with ease. They are not only great host, but great people and it made our stay all the more special...

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent three days at Punta Rica in our visit to the Bocas del Toro area of Panama. From the first moment our visit was relaxing and superb, with the business of our daily lives dissapearing instantly. The place is very beautiful with a tropical garden and big windows that overlook the forest and the sea. It is tastefully decorated and warm. The bedrooms are spacious and confortable, and very clean. The food is excellent, with a full breakfast with tropical fruits in the morning and wonderful sea food dishes that Collette prepares carefully. Our hosts, Richard and Colette, were great and went out of their way to make our stay confortable and enjoyable making us feel like guests of longtime friends. We would love to come back and definetly recomend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family of four - two adults and two teenagers - just returned from our four night stay at Punta Rica, and we can't stop talking about our superb visit!

Colette and Richard are wonderful hosts - they have thought of every little detail to make your stay more enjoyable and comfortable. The villa is set in a picturesque jungle location, yet is a quick boat ride to towns, beaches of all kinds, and recreational activities. Colette helped us plan activities during the days, and Cholo, the trusty boat driver, accompanied us on some fun outings snorkeling at Starfish Beach, looking for dolphins at Dolphin Bay, snorkeling at Coral Cay, and bringing us over to Red Frog beach for surf and zip lining (unfortunately, it was closed for repair). While we enjoyed all these activities, we were always eager to return to the villa for the fantastic company of our hosts, and the marvelous dinner we knew we would be eating. The food is exquisite - the freshest ingredients, well executed and lovingly prepared by Colette.

Colette and Richard pour their hearts and souls into Punta Rica and, no doubt, you will feel it as you eat, sleep, relax in a hammock, play a board game, or while taking in a beautiful sunset view.

Our stay with Colette and Richard was truly a memorable and unique experience for us - we wish we could have stayed longer. Colette and Richard - The Fischer Family sends you our love and we all agreed, we would love to return to your magical place - Punta Rica is a "gem"!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Colette and Richard are great hosts and Punta Rica is a lovely place to stay. The food is fantastic and the rooms are large. We were there with our two young kids (6 and 8). Colette went out of her way to accommodate them and was so sweet with them. That said, it's not ideal for young kids -- no beach to speak of and not a lot of space for them to run around. We found we really needed some attraction, like a beach or pool or waterfalls, to keep them occupied. I think Punta Rica is a good choice for folks without young kids who don't mind taking a boat to different activities and attractions. The food and the hospitality will not disappoint.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Oh yes, their rooms are large and spacious, the common areas are relaxing with great views, the location superb, but what makes any stay perfect are the hosts. Cholete and Richard fit the bill. They do everything possible to make your stay perfect. Besides Cholete's graciousness, what truly set Punta Rica apart for us was the food. A gourmet restaurant in a tree top tropical setting. We were there three nights and each night just got better. Entrees of fresh tuna, lobster and flounder made us want to bring Cholete and Maria back to the US! Sure you're staying in the tropics without airconditioning but the hilltop location catches every breeze. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Dear Richard and Colette,

we loved staying at your place!!! The amazing house in the middle of the jungle makes for excellent spotting of beautiful birds and other animals. I loved trying to take pictures of all the nature surrounding the house. We really enjoyed staying in the middle of the nature and even the unfortunate rainy day was spent happily by just sitting on one of the verandas or the private balcony and taking in all the great views.

The food is of absolute michelin-star quality and the freshest we've ever seen! More over you really put your heart and soul in preparing it. Special dishes with special origins and all soooo yummie! You've inspired us to take up cooking more seriously back home!

You have really spoiled us with all the attention and warmth you gave us: we felt right at home and would have loved staying longer.

Take care!

Wil and Helena

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at Punta Rica Bocas in March. One of the reasons we chose it was because of the reviews that others contributed. A quick boat ride from Bocas (about 10 minutes) and just a one minute boat ride from Bastimentos Town, it is sited beautifully on a hill overlooking the sea. There is a great layout - they are 2-floor units, consisting of a lower living area and an upper bedroom/bathroom. In the center, there is the "lodge" with a great room, surrounded by windows looking out into the jungle and the bay, surrounded by a covered deck. Richard and Colette are wonderful hosts, and Colette's cooking is awesome! There is no beach to speak of, however, taking water taxis are incredibly easy. Only a 10 minute ride to Red Frog Beach, and you can hike the island, zipline, and explore...and return in the evening to a lounge on the hammock and a truly gourmet meal!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punta Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Rica

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a nature lover’s dream, being a sanctuary for indigenous red, orange and gold-colored frogs. Many species of birds, such as parrots, hummingbirds and the gorgeous Montezuma Oropendola can be seen right from the open-air decks of the house. Howler and white-faced monkeys as well as sloths are also an occasional sight. There are two beautiful reefs within a short swimming distance of our private beach and dock and the most popular snorkeling spot in Bocas, Hospital Point, is just a few minutes away. Be at one with nature while enjoying many gorgeous beaches at close proximity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Punta Rica Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Punta Rica to your Saves list