We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Safe Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribbean View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Caribbean View to your Saves list
Hotel Caribbean View
Bastimentos casa 97 RUTA R0074, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
cleveland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Safe Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had just left the order and familiarity of Boquete.I was beginning to feel a little confused by peoples reactions to Bocas del Toro when I would tell them about my excitement and length of our stay in Bastimentos.Dirty and loud , or you'll be bored to stay there the 14 days that I had booked.We took the bus from Boquete to Bocas . Fabulous.Then the water taxis..I was falling in love.Then to this hotel ? that I had arranged to stay in for the next 5 days. Fortunately they had overbooked our reservation and found my husband and me a room at CARIBBEAN VIEW.Yes, I had some mental rearranging to do...and I love the characterization of the area where the hotel is in as being Local.But , we loved it and the owner Luis and his family and staff.The water taxis are the best...and well Carnival was beginning so you have to sleep with earplugs or else.Now that we are home and reflecting on the trip, Caribbean View seems to have proved us with some of our favorite memories. Thank you Lucho.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Fantastic location "on the sea", with wonderful carribbean views. Room tip: The front rooms upstairs have the best views, two directions.

We liked this more "remote" and "less developped" island better than the town at the main island. The downsides are of course that you need a boat to go to the beach, and if you want to go to the main town for meals, restaurants and so on. Taxiboat ride is easily arranged, and is around 3 USD pp

The family running the hotel is nice and friendly. Really a good atmosphere, and also reasonable and tast food. However as groups sometimes stay at the hotel, it sometimes get a bit "too busy" for them, and there are waiting time/mistakes. So better to order before you feel really very, very hungry. Anyway; Don`t miss their strawberry/blueberry smoothie. Also other restaurants and the island, however we did not try them

For those who look for bars and nightlife, the main island will be a better choice, although there are some bars and party venues also here

Room Tip: The front rooms upstairs have the best views, two directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The view from room and reassurance are amazing. The room had a fan and air conditioning. Staff was very friendly.

It is on bastimentos island.....which has great beaches, but not near hotel. The island doesn't have a lot of entertainment, so you might be taking a boat to isla colon often. The boat ride is short and beautiful, but it added extra cost for every meal or snorkeling trip.

If your looking for a quiet time, this is the place. If you're wanting to be near stores and attractions, might be better off on other island. Or just budget to go back and forth.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

One word to describe Bastimentos Island is Local, so if you wanna live the Panama Caribean culture this is the place to go, and I only have good things to say about their people and the hotel which by the way is definitely the best place to stay. But there are also some down sides of it, like the water is not clear at alland there is a lot of garbage in the surroundings. you have to go like 1 Km away to see clear water again but the hotel will let you borrow thir kayaks for free which is a really nice ride. But the hotel is neat clean sonyou don't need to worry about that. I also think their food is the best in all the island and the prices are good. The only other down side of staying in bastimentos is that the locals love reggae music and they play it every night very loud, again not at the hotel but you can still hear it, so it's not the natural Paradise that I imagined.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you are in panama, make a point to go to bastimentos, if only for the experience of hanging out in Old Bank with Luis and his family. They will take care of everything you need, including food. rooms are very clean, comfortable and have AC.
Also, Luis Jr. is the man. He will give you a day tour that you will never forget for $20-$30/person depending on the size of the group. we saw dolphins (including a baby), went snorkeling in 2 reefs, and went swimming at wizard beach. if you are really lucky, luis will bring his wife and kids with you on the tour. they are awesome (kids are too cute).
We were in Panama for 2 weeks, and the 3 nights we spent with Luis and family were the best by far. Thanks Luis!!!!!!!!!!!!! Respect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Caribbean View for three nights during a tour of Costa Rica and Panama. The family that run the hotel are amazing - incredibly accommodating and super friendly. The location of the hotel is idyllic in my opinion far nicer than the main island of Colon. The hotel is well maintained. Our room had a/c and a balcony overlooking the sea. The family are able to organise any tours and days trips. We opted to make use of the hotels kayaks and also went on and 2 great fishing trips organised through the owners’ son-in-law, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have balconies overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the caribbean view for one night only and we wished we had had longer to spend there. We felt immediately at home, the family is very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent.
They brought us on tours around the island and were very accommodating in regards to where we wanted to go and how long we wanted to stay there. Most of the boats leaving isla Colon take too many people on board, so I highly suggest booking a trip with the caribbean view.
Our room was great, very comfortable and clean.
We look forward to going back already!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribbean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribbean View

Address: Bastimentos casa 97 RUTA R0074, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caribbean View is a family owned hotel and restaurant and has been for the last ten years. We offer a pleasant water front dining experience with spectacular views. We have a variety of room types that all include A/C, Free WiFi, private baths and nice comfortable beds with affordable prices. Also ,are upstairs rooms offer private balcony's. Are restaurant uses local fresh produce,fruit and seafood right here from Bocas Del Toro. Are dinners include whole lobster,snapper,shrimp,octopus all in one of are unique Caribbean creole sauces. Are dinner price range is 9-25$ usd. With authentic Caribbean Style food and wonderful hospitality Hotel Caribbean View is a excellent vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caribbean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean View Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribbean View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.