We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribbean View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Caribbean View to your Saves list
Hotel Caribbean View
Bastimentos casa 97 RUTA R0074, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Caribbean View for three nights during a tour of Costa Rica and Panama. The family that run the hotel are amazing - incredibly accommodating and super friendly. The location of the hotel is idyllic in my opinion far nicer than the main island of Colon. The hotel is well maintained. Our room had a/c and a balcony overlooking the sea. The family are able to organise any tours and days trips. We opted to make use of the hotels kayaks and also went on and 2 great fishing trips organised through the owners’ son-in-law, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have balconies overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the caribbean view for one night only and we wished we had had longer to spend there. We felt immediately at home, the family is very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent.
They brought us on tours around the island and were very accommodating in regards to where we wanted to go and how long we wanted to stay there. Most of the boats leaving isla Colon take too many people on board, so I highly suggest booking a trip with the caribbean view.
Our room was great, very comfortable and clean.
We look forward to going back already!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place is managed by a local family , with all the facilities, including restaurant, kayaks, tours, A/C , hot water, etc, and all teh family members are very friendly and helpful, excellent location , much better than the main island Colon.... and Bastimentos Island is great !

Room Tip: Get a room in the second floor with the balcony facing the town and the sunset....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Caribbean View on a trip with my university and had the loveliest experience. The family that owns/operates it is really something special. They're cooking is delicious and be sure to ask Melma (i think her name was) about all her knowledge regarding herbs and healing. A few travelers were sick/had slight infections and she fixed them up like magic! They had kayaks to use that we took advantage of while the sun rose. A lovely experience, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This was a real find, the hotel is only accessible by water taxi, about 30 minutes from the mainland or 10 minutes from Boca. Owned by a lovely family who are delightful people. It's like a boat house or hotel on stilts. The rooms are beautifully wood lined with good beds, pillows and AC, you have your own balcony and there are hammocks at the top of the stairs. The sunrises and sunsets are magical, there is no traffic on the island, rush hour is just a few small boats going back and forth.
The food they offer is nothing fancy but freshly cooked and service by Louis is friendly and efficient, we had some fresh fish one evening, it was great. Red Frog Beach is a 10 minute boat rise away and worth a visit, it has good facilities. The main town is 10 minutes away, there are lots of bars and restaurants, quite a lively place. Stayed for 3 nights, could have stayed a week.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Old Bank on Bastimentos is about as laid back a place as you could imagine. It's fairly basic, with stray dogs and children freely running around. Feels friendly and hassle free. Caribbean View is high end for here, with A/C, ensuite bathrooms and a nice deck for meals, plus breezy upper deck for relaxing. It's used by small tour groups of 10 or 12.

Rooms upstairs have balconies, good for sitting out watching village life in all its colour. Or the sun come up.

Food good from a limited menu, but they made off menu veggie meals for me too. Clean and well run, service not fast but we're not here to rush around.

The whole family works here, and they give it a friendly atmosphere. They'll hail boats to go to beaches or other islands, and generally look after you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel Caribbean View is a nice hotel built on poles in the ocean. Nice restaurant with decent prices. Friendly and english speaking staff. Feels safe and the rooms where clean. They can arrange for boat tours. They have wi fi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribbean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribbean View

Address: Bastimentos casa 97 RUTA R0074, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caribbean View is a family owned hotel and restaurant and has been for the last ten years. We offer a pleasant water front dining experience with spectacular views. We have a variety of room types that all include A/C, Free WiFi, private baths and nice comfortable beds with affordable prices. Also ,are upstairs rooms offer private balcony's. Are restaurant uses local fresh produce,fruit and seafood right here from Bocas Del Toro. Are dinners include whole lobster,snapper,shrimp,octopus all in one of are unique Caribbean creole sauces. Are dinner price range is 9-25$ usd. With authentic Caribbean Style food and wonderful hospitality Hotel Caribbean View is a excellent vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caribbean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean View Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribbean View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.