We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family run place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribbean View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Caribbean View to your Saves list
Hotel Caribbean View
Bastimentos casa 97 RUTA R0074, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly family run place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Old Bank on Bastimentos is about as laid back a place as you could imagine. It's fairly basic, with stray dogs and children freely running around. Feels friendly and hassle free. Caribbean View is high end for here, with A/C, ensuite bathrooms and a nice deck for meals, plus breezy upper deck for relaxing. It's used by small tour groups of 10 or 12.

Rooms upstairs have balconies, good for sitting out watching village life in all its colour. Or the sun come up.

Food good from a limited menu, but they made off menu veggie meals for me too. Clean and well run, service not fast but we're not here to rush around.

The whole family works here, and they give it a friendly atmosphere. They'll hail boats to go to beaches or other islands, and generally look after you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel Caribbean View is a nice hotel built on poles in the ocean. Nice restaurant with decent prices. Friendly and english speaking staff. Feels safe and the rooms where clean. They can arrange for boat tours. They have wi fi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been at this quaint little hotel several times, and it is the BEST place around! The family who owns it and runs it, are such warm, hospitable people, that you will never want to leave the relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are cute and clean, and the down home Caribbean food is to die for! Don't miss this vacation experience, it may be the best one you will ever have in your life!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a family run hotel where all of your needs and wants are taken care of. From the first moment that your boat pulls up to the entrance right through till you're taking your last sip of a banana shake and lamenting your trip back, everything you could ever want from an island experience is fulfilled. The island itself has no cars, but you won't notice since the hotel is well situated and central to most of what the island has to offer. The rooms are well equipped, and the one we had included a deck from which we could watch the boats come in each morning.
We loved our time at the Hotel Caribbean View and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I am on my way back to see Eunice and her wonderful family and this review is over due.
I loved it! And I loved the family of this spotless, on the water gem. The rooms will make any woman exhale the minute you walk in. Romantic little balconies with tables for two draw you to sitting and relaxing and watching as local life does what it does on the water just below you. Share a coffee or an iced cold drink with your neighbor next door right through the cutsey little connecting trellis. Then go back inside to nap, your choice of fan, ac or an open door to the sea. Fluffy towels, awesome mattresses and the sweetest room decor you have ever seen. TV, full length mirror out fitted bath...really. And on top of this great food, all wrapped up in warmth and friendliness from a family and a place you will want to return to soon. Go for it. Pure Vida!

Room Tip: They are all good. Bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Luis is a true gent and was more than happy to help us out. Luis Junior took us on a couple of excellent trips in his boat to see dolphins, star fish and other wonders in the area. The island has no cars and don't expect a crazy wild time, this is a place to kick back and relax with a beer. I would def go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I had such an amazing experience at the Caribbean View Hotel in Bastimentos! I was greeted with such warm smiles and genuine hospitality. The rooms were perfectly clean and just the right size. My favorite thing to do was to sit out on the patio with the breeze on my face while I took in the beauty of the Islands...... I got to know many other travelers and watched them dance to the sweet sounds of Island music, most planning to stay for only a few days.... ended staying at least three days longer. I came back home without a tense muscle in my body!

This Hotel is family owned as I got to know the family all by name, they truly made my experience one to remember. Each with a smile on their faces ready to help with any thing you might need....... They are all such warm and delightful people, when I left I felt like family! I have stayed other places on the Islands and the food just does not compare to that of the Caribbean view. I could not get enough of the french toast with fresh papayas, bananas and seasonal fruit. And for dinner the fish, any fish they serve was delicious!

I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone passing through.... One last thing Luis Jr takes you out for day trips, my favorite by far was the Dolphin Bay adventure. I was able to see at least 50 dolphins. Next we went and discovered the coral reefs and on to the beautiful Red Frog Beach. He always has a smile on his face and does not rush your experience.

One more thing I would like to add in, I don't have any children but I have worked with kids for the past eight years. If you have children they are more than welcome here and will not get bored! It truly is a great place for the entire family or a single couple. I cant say enough good things about it!

Room Tip: They have eleven rooms, # 4 is the least expensive about 25$ if you are traveling light. the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribbean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribbean View

Address: Bastimentos casa 97 RUTA R0074, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caribbean View is a family owned hotel and restaurant and has been for the last ten years. We offer a pleasant water front dining experience with spectacular views. We have a variety of room types that all include A/C, Free WiFi, private baths and nice comfortable beds with affordable prices. Also ,are upstairs rooms offer private balcony's. Are restaurant uses local fresh produce,fruit and seafood right here from Bocas Del Toro. Are dinners include whole lobster,snapper,shrimp,octopus all in one of are unique Caribbean creole sauces. Are dinner price range is 9-25$ usd. With authentic Caribbean Style food and wonderful hospitality Hotel Caribbean View is a excellent vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caribbean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean View Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribbean View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.