We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodations were okay, beach was great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bocas Bound Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bocas Bound Hostel to your Saves list
Bocas Bound Hostel
On A Hill Above Red Frog Beach | 15 min water taxi from Bocas Town, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Accommodations were okay, beach was great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I spent Friday October 11 to Monday October 14 at Bocas Bound Hostel. I could give numerous examples of how the service is anything but decent. I am not hard to please, but the staff at Bocas Bound were not great.

The beach was amazing. The hamburger at the restaurant on the beach was great.

The air condition was nice and cold, however, it leaked really, really bad. I put a trash can under the leak and it had overflowed by the morning.

There was mildew on the doors going into the bathroom.

The bed was comfortable, sheets were okay.

It is about a 15 minute walk to the beach.

Keep in mind, that if you plan on heading to Bocas Town, it's $5 during the day and $10 at night each way.

Overall, it was a very lack-luster experience as far as the Hostel and its staff is concerned.

The beach was quite amazing though.

If you are any sort of picky, DON'T STAY HERE. If you don't mind a few quirks, it will be okay.

breakfast is NOT included in the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    30
    27
    19
    17
See reviews for
12
46
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in a dorm which has aircon and lockers and seemed clean.
After the first night we discovered the room had bedbugs (as we woke up with bites all over us).
Although it is not the hostel's fault, usually people are apologetic after an encounter with bedbugs but not this one.
They made us feel as if we were lying about it. They told us that is is impossible because they have metal bed frames (which isn't true).
We were able to wash all of our things in hot water and change rooms but they were not happy about it.
Food was good but a little expensive.
They have a kitchen but no supermarket so bring what you want from Bocas Town.
They have a good pool table and ping pong table, a good social area and an excellent jungle walk to the beach (we saw sloths and monkeys about 30 metres down the track).
Overall the hostel was good but one particular staff member made it one to forget.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

For the price we paid ($33), we have stayed at better hostels.

Pros:
- friendly reception guy. Gave us a 3 person room with a window for the price of a double without a window.
- Inexpensive rooms.
- Pool table.
- Nice walk to the beach.

Cons:
- Dry air in the rooms.
- A lot of ants everywhere.
- Dirty open air kitchen with a lot of insects in it.
- Lack of atmosphere in the room and restaurant.
- Expensive beer prices ($2) for a hostel.
- In the restaurant area they serve free water. Don't drink it, it made me sick (diarree) for days.
- They work with a water taxi company. The hostel arranged a water taxi to Bocas town and back for a fixed price, but once arrived at Bocas town, the taxi guy tried to rip us off with the price. The guy never showed up to bring us back to the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is great to get away from the main island and enjoy the beach. Bocas Bound is nice but very basic. The property is located on Red Frog Beach about a 20-minute boat ride from the main island. Let me say that the island is amazing, absolutely stunning. It part jungle, part ocean…. paradise!

Our room was private, very small, with a bunk bed for two. We shared a bathroom and hallway with fellow travelers who had private rooms. In our room, the top of the wall is open to allow the air-conditioning to circulate. The only problem with this is that you can hear every single noise, so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. Its simple accomodations but are cheap and you never are in the room, only to sleep, so it works.

The common area is right in front of the dorms. It’s open so you can hear the sounds of the jungle while eating breakfast. This is where you can reserve tours and they have a restaurant. The food is amazing! It’s cheap and delicious. The best fruit smoothies I ever had. In the common area there are pool tables and couches to relax. I really enjoyed taking a nap on the couch with the summer rain shower and jungle noises all around. The best time we had was sitting around in the common area watching a soccer match with people from all around the world.

The main draw and the biggest reason to stay here is red frog beach. You hike on a small path through the jungle to the most amazing beach ever. The water is warm and there was no one on the beach. We had the whole beach to ourselves. We went late at night to walk the beach and stumbled upon a rustic beach bar and meet some really cool people.

Overall, I would recommend this place as long as you know that it’s basic. This is such a relaxed and laid back place. It something you have to experience while in Bocas. Keep expectations low and all will be good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The accommodations at Bocas Bound are amazing. I stayed in one of their mixed dorms and was very pleased to have A/C, clean bathrooms, and hot water for the first time in several months of traveling. I didn't have a reservation but there was plenty of availability because this place is huge. There are very large bedside lockers for each dorm visitor that can fit a 75 litre+ backpack and more. On Wednesday nights, they have free rum punch and tasty appetizers for all guests during their social hour (aewsome!). Then there are the beaches. I dream of these beaches. White sand, perfectly blue water, and very few people. If you want a totally deserted beach, it is only a short walk away and even the walk is lovely.If you want a crazy party, it is only a short boat taxi away but far away enough that you won't even know it's there unless you want to be there. There is also a Zip line course on the property that is backpacker affordable and totally insane! I highly recommend this place. The price was right, the amenities were great, the location was unbelievable, and the beaches are pristine. Don't miss out on this gorgeous place! I am already planning my trip back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at Bocas Bound with a group and it was one of my best stays at a hostel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I stayed in a private room which was in excellent condition and very comfortable. The bed was the best out of all the hostels I had stayed, the A/C worked perfect and the bathrooms were immaculate! The food was great at the restaurant and the store had essentials if you needed them. The staff were all friendly, especially Dwan and Steve, they were fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Bocas Bound is a really nice place... I enjoyed it really much. Staff is really helpfull and steve is great

The rooms are clean (great matresses) and atmosphere is very good too... Some awesome beaches around... Totally recomended

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bocas Bound Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Bound Hostel

Address: On A Hill Above Red Frog Beach | 15 min water taxi from Bocas Town, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a living rainforest, on a Caribbean island, Bocas Bound is the place to stay and visit in Bocas del Toro. Bocas Bound provides immediate access to surfing, rain forest hikes, kayaking, and beautiful beaches. Bocas Bound is an exotic destination in Bocas del Toro that attracts back-packers, surfers, and cost-conscious families looking for a place that is extraordinarily different from a typical Bocas hotel. Trails from your doorstep lead you through dense jungle to breathtaking beaches and hidden coves. The nightly chorus of nature will cause you to truly appreciate Isla Bastimentos.* 8 min walk to Red Frog Beach * Beach Activity Center* Hiking Trails and Canopy Zipline* 15 minute water taxi to Bocas Town* Air-conditioned rooms* Full Restaurant Bar and Lounge * Community kitchen * Free Breakfast & Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bocas Bound Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Bound Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Bocas Bound Hostel Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocas Bound Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.