We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bocas Bound Hostel

Save Saved
You added Bocas Bound Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bocas Bound Hostel
On A Hill Above Red Frog Beach | 15 min water taxi from Bocas Town, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice stay but basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is great to get away from the main island and enjoy the beach. Bocas Bound is nice but very basic. The property is located on Red Frog Beach about a 20-minute boat ride from the main island. Let me say that the island is amazing, absolutely stunning. It part jungle, part ocean…. paradise!

Our room was private, very small, with a bunk bed for two. We shared a bathroom and hallway with fellow travelers who had private rooms. In our room, the top of the wall is open to allow the air-conditioning to circulate. The only problem with this is that you can hear every single noise, so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. Its simple accomodations but are cheap and you never are in the room, only to sleep, so it works.

The common area is right in front of the dorms. It’s open so you can hear the sounds of the jungle while eating breakfast. This is where you can reserve tours and they have a restaurant. The food is amazing! It’s cheap and delicious. The best fruit smoothies I ever had. In the common area there are pool tables and couches to relax. I really enjoyed taking a nap on the couch with the summer rain shower and jungle noises all around. The best time we had was sitting around in the common area watching a soccer match with people from all around the world.

The main draw and the biggest reason to stay here is red frog beach. You hike on a small path through the jungle to the most amazing beach ever. The water is warm and there was no one on the beach. We had the whole beach to ourselves. We went late at night to walk the beach and stumbled upon a rustic beach bar and meet some really cool people.

Overall, I would recommend this place as long as you know that it’s basic. This is such a relaxed and laid back place. It something you have to experience while in Bocas. Keep expectations low and all will be good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    26
    18
    16
See reviews for
12
43
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The accommodations at Bocas Bound are amazing. I stayed in one of their mixed dorms and was very pleased to have A/C, clean bathrooms, and hot water for the first time in several months of traveling. I didn't have a reservation but there was plenty of availability because this place is huge. There are very large bedside lockers for each dorm visitor that can fit a 75 litre+ backpack and more. On Wednesday nights, they have free rum punch and tasty appetizers for all guests during their social hour (aewsome!). Then there are the beaches. I dream of these beaches. White sand, perfectly blue water, and very few people. If you want a totally deserted beach, it is only a short walk away and even the walk is lovely.If you want a crazy party, it is only a short boat taxi away but far away enough that you won't even know it's there unless you want to be there. There is also a Zip line course on the property that is backpacker affordable and totally insane! I highly recommend this place. The price was right, the amenities were great, the location was unbelievable, and the beaches are pristine. Don't miss out on this gorgeous place! I am already planning my trip back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at Bocas Bound with a group and it was one of my best stays at a hostel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I stayed in a private room which was in excellent condition and very comfortable. The bed was the best out of all the hostels I had stayed, the A/C worked perfect and the bathrooms were immaculate! The food was great at the restaurant and the store had essentials if you needed them. The staff were all friendly, especially Dwan and Steve, they were fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Bocas Bound is a really nice place... I enjoyed it really much. Staff is really helpfull and steve is great

The rooms are clean (great matresses) and atmosphere is very good too... Some awesome beaches around... Totally recomended

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed in the mixed dorm during Semana Santa (Spring Break for university's/Easter week.) The A/C was so cold it made me because of the difference outside. The rooms were clean and the food the restaurant was reasonable and tasted fine. Many beaches to see close by and ziplining was a blast.

I recently called to make another reservation. Correction, I called upwards of 20 times over a week and a half period and no answer. I left a message and sent an email but nothing. We decided to stay on the main island instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Bocas Bound was a perfect location for our group! We had easy access to everything Bocas del Toro had to offer and it felt as if we had our own island. Our group enjoyed the abundance of flora and fauna on the island as well as the easy access to Red Frog Beach. The accommodation was always clean & the staff was incredible! They went out of their way to accommodate our group at the hostel, with activities during the days and even in the evenings with beach parties and nightlife tours. Much love and thanks to the staff and our new Panamanian friends: Dwan, Marlon, Guille, Sharina, Chef Jose and Steve! I recommend Bocas Bound for traveling couples, backpackers, student groups, etc. They have an option for everyone! Keep it up Bocas Bound! See you in January!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Basic accommodation, great food but no atmosphere. Please be aware that this 'hostel' is actually part of the Red Frog Beach Resort, which is a large scale development project on Isla Bastimentos, which has a significant impact on the local environment. You decide whether this is positive or negative. Stay at Palmar Tent Lodge instead, which is ecofriendly and just on Red Frog Beach. Manned by a bunch of friendly, international volunteers with a relaxed vibe and fabulous, cheap family style meals every evening. They also run an excellent cocktail bar!

Room Tip: Be aware that the semi private rooms do not have enclosed ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bocas Bound Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Bound Hostel

Address: On A Hill Above Red Frog Beach | 15 min water taxi from Bocas Town, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a living rainforest, on a Caribbean island, Bocas Bound is the place to stay and visit in Bocas del Toro. Bocas Bound provides immediate access to surfing, rain forest hikes, kayaking, and beautiful beaches. Bocas Bound is an exotic destination in Bocas del Toro that attracts back-packers, surfers, and cost-conscious families looking for a place that is extraordinarily different from a typical Bocas hotel. Trails from your doorstep lead you through dense jungle to breathtaking beaches and hidden coves. The nightly chorus of nature will cause you to truly appreciate Isla Bastimentos.* 8 min walk to Red Frog Beach * Beach Activity Center* Hiking Trails and Canopy Zipline* 15 minute water taxi to Bocas Town* Air-conditioned rooms* Full Restaurant Bar and Lounge * Community kitchen * Free Breakfast & Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bocas Bound Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Bound Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Bocas Bound Hostel Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocas Bound Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.