We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel with a resort feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bocas Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bocas Island Lodge to your Saves list
Bocas Island Lodge
On A Hill Above Red Frog Beach | 15 min water taxi from Bocas Town, Isla Bastimentos, Panama (Formerly Bocas Bound Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hostel with a resort feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The good:
Everything was super clean, and the kitchen was huge. Dorms are a great option for the budget traveller. The common area in the restaurant was very relaxing, and they have a reasonably priced happy hour(s). It's maybe a 5 min walk to Red Frog beach, which is probably one of the nicest beaches in Central America. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The bad:
We had to ask about the air conditioning on the 2nd day, which they promptly came and turned on. The room did get pretty cold after that though. No cups or glasses in the kitchen. Although not completely related to the hostel, the on site restaurant is WAY overpriced, and the food wasn't very good.

Bottom line:
A very clean and relaxing place on Isla Bastimentos, at a great price. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    32
    27
    19
    17
See reviews for
12
48
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were very pleased to find this place with nice staff, air'co, clean, free computer and free breakfast and a kitchen all that for 22$ per night. Had a really great time exploring the beaches and taking it easy. Nice atmosphear, defenetely the best accomodation we found in Panama.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port au Prince
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I truly enjoyed this place. I found the dorms very clean and giving a lot of privacy. I had an excellent sleep here. Bathrooms are clean and they have enough toilets and showers so that there is one free most of the times.

The location is also very good. Red Frog beach is only 5-10 minutes away from the hostel through a path through the jungle. Isla Bastimentos is much more quiet and beatiful.

The lounge area and the restaurant were also pretty nice. Good food and friendly people.

The only downside was that as I was travelling alone it was difficult to book tours. They were either very expensive or I was dependent on other people signing up. Luckily they arranged with a company from Isla Colon to come and pick me up from the island so I could join their tour to dolphin bay and coral key. Very beatiful and had a nice time on the tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It's a nice place to stay if you're in Bocas del Toro. Isla Bastimentos has great beaches and is a lot quieter than the main island.
The restaurant and lounge area is nice, the food is fairly priced and tastes good the service good be a bit better. You can use the shared kitchen but it lacks kooking supplies.
The dorms have a lots of beds, which make the bathroom (cold water showers) go filthy in a second on an busy day. But they take care of it immediately if you tell them.
To bad they close the bar early. There are not a lot of other options in the neighborhood to have a drink. So after the bar closes you're on your own.

But overall a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The best budget option if you do not like camping.
Rooms comfortably and reasonable value, can be noisy depending on your neighbours.
The resort is a concrete abomination however. Sterile and no atmosphere or real communal area for the guests to mix. Broken computer and ripped pool table. Drinks and food are expensive.
I spent all my evenings at Palmar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The good: The food is great and very affordable, as are the drinks. The showers have hot water that didn't run out. The common area has a pool table and a ping pong table, which our 11-year old loved. She also loved the zipline tour, though I just about died of fright on it. It was professionally done, so I have to blame it on, oh, I guess... being 100 FEET UP in the air, maybe!!! And last but not least, the sloths- they are amazing animals.

The bad: The rooms have AC which cannot be turned off. Presumably this is the lazy and non-environmentally friendly method that Management uses to address perceived humidity issues (even though the climate did not feel humid in the least). The rooms were hence noisy and COLD- not something you want when you've come down to the tropics from Canada in January. Luckily our AC stopped functioning (darn!) after we called Maintenance to have them address the AC's rattle that would have kept us up all night.

The ugly: The ethics of both off-site field trips we signed up for was questionable. Our first was the Cave tour. The activity itself was amazing, but it was pretty clear that the local landowner, who is also the guide during the expedition, is not being compensated fairly for the use of his property. The resort charged about 35$ per person (i.e. expensive), and yet when we got there we were told that we needed to pay 5$ to the landowner. Upon our return to the hostel I asked why this cost was not included upfront, and I was told that it's because sometimes the landowner isn't there, so in those instances the tourists don't need to pay the 5$! It's pretty bad that this local family is not getting a decent portion of the 35$ paid by every visitor. I relayed my concerns about this to a Manager (the hostel is affiliated with Red Frog Villas); if enough people complain maybe they'll change their policy.

Our second outing was the Crawl Cay- Dolphin Bay boat trip. Although the snorkeling was very disappointing, it was the dolphin watching that I took issue with. It did not respect marine mammal watching guidelines by any stretch of the imagination: there were at least a dozen motor boats at a time, running tight circles around the dolphin pod. The underwater noise must have been horrendous. I strongly recommend that you not support this practice by avoiding a trip to Dolphin Bay.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

After two months of travelling this was the first dorm I have stayed in that had air-con at no extra cost. it was bliss! Also, although the dorm rooms are big they are sectioned off in groups of 4 and we were all spread out in the room so everyone got their own little section - plenty of space and privacy. Really good value - I was charged $6 for the first night and $11 for any subsequent nights. Also got a small free breakfast which was enough for me - 3 slices of home-baked bread, toasted, with jam and fruit (pineapple, banana, watermelon). It is a very quiet hostel - at least when I was there - so if you want to relax this is the place to come. If you want to party, stay in Bocas. The food available at the hostel was ok (sandwiches, spaghetti, pizza, burritos etc) and they have a guest kitchen but make sure you stock up on food before you get there as there are no supermarkets nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites
Tropical Suites
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#3 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#6 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Island Lodge
Bocas Island Lodge
#13 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmar Tent Lodge
Palmar Tent Lodge
#4 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Island Lodge

Address: On A Hill Above Red Frog Beach | 15 min water taxi from Bocas Town, Isla Bastimentos, Panama (Formerly Bocas Bound Hostel)
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a living rainforest, on a Caribbean island, Bocas Bound is the place to stay and visit in Bocas del Toro. Bocas Bound provides immediate access to surfing, rain forest hikes, kayaking, and beautiful beaches. Bocas Bound is an exotic destination in Bocas del Toro that attracts back-packers, surfers, and cost-conscious families looking for a place that is extraordinarily different from a typical Bocas hotel. Trails from your doorstep lead you through dense jungle to breathtaking beaches and hidden coves. The nightly chorus of nature will cause you to truly appreciate Isla Bastimentos.* 8 min walk to Red Frog Beach * Beach Activity Center* Hiking Trails and Canopy Zipline* 15 minute water taxi to Bocas Town* Air-conditioned rooms* Full Restaurant Bar and Lounge * Community kitchen * Free Breakfast & Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bocas Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Bound Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Bocas Island Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocas Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.