We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing vacation I ever had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Minneapolis
1 review
“Most relaxing vacation I ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Rented a villa at Red Frog Beech a short boat taxi from Boccas town. The villa was amazing, very beautiful and clean with the best view of the ocean! They were a little further from the beach then we thought but Red Frog emplyees were great about picking us up in the golf cart and driving us. All the workers were really helpful and friendly. My son caught a Mackrel fishing and the cook cooked it up for us for dinner. This resort is still in the building porcess so the roads were a little rough but it is only going to get better there! We can not wait to go back... Very peaceful there and still feels un touched. Easy to get to other islands for meals and tours by boat taxi, cost reasonable.
You need to check it out

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    25
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
92
75
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Red Frog is the perfect getaway. The villa we stayed in was very clean with great amenities and a tremendous view of the ocean. Whenever we wanted to go into the town of Bocas, someone on the staff picked us up and brought us to the boat/ water taxi that would bring us there. The staff was very freindly and provided us with anything and everything we needed. This place is the most serene and peaceful getaway i have been to, yet it still is adventurous since you are in the middle of a gorgeous jungle! I felt as though I stepped onto an island in which Ive only seen in movies! You can relax and enjoy the peaceful environment, or you can kayak, snorkel, and explore various different islands which are only a 10 minute boat ride away. Red Frog is a paradise that anyone will enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Red Frog Beach resort is a must see. Surrounded by a luxurious villa all to yourself, in the middle of this lush tropical island, overlooking the ocean. Private staff to get you groceries, or cart you around if you want. I have traveled to Australia, new Zealand, Hawaii among other places and Red frog beach is one of my favorite places. Boca's the town close by is the most lovely little town. Within 2 minutes of being on our boat ride to red frog beach we had dolphins swimming beside us! The staff we friendly and really helpful. You even get a cell phone to take with you incase you need them! I mean these villas are sweet, I felt like a super star staying there. And I loved the private pool! Please Please if you go here walk down to the point, past turtle beach. Its about a 45 min hike (wear good shoes), and is one of the most amazing lookout points I have ever seen!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

WOW! What an Incredible Unique Place!

The Red Frog resort is one of the most amazing places I have ever been, and we travel a lot. Incredible rain forest, beautiful beaches and unbelievable views of the Caribbean sea from the villas. The 10 min boat ride to Bocas town among islands in a quiet water is unbelievable. You can stay in the villa for an elegant dinner or visit Cayucos restaurant in the resort or have a night on the town in Bocas with many bars and restaurants. We rented a boat and spent whole day visiting other islands and places. The staff is very friendly and professional.
Highly recommended!
Lucy

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

This place was better than advertised. It is a perfect getaway. I went with a group of friends and we had a blast. It's always nice to stay somewhere that's nicer than where you live. It's sometimes hard to find that on a remote island in Panama but this is the place. Beautiful views and amazing people. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

The red frog resort is amazing! I felt like we were the only people on the island! The hikes right out of our Villa were beautiful, especially hiking through the jungle near the undeveloped beach front. We also were able to do some excellent snorkeling, we saw dolphins and even found a harmless nurse shark! Traveling by boat taxi was an exciting unique experience. The restaurants in town and at nearby Bastimentos were cheap and delicious. I hope to make it back soon to see the latest progressions of the resort!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

I went with a bunch of friends for about 4 of 5 days and we had a blast. We saw some sloths, dolphins, the famous little red frogs, toured through a bat cave and a lot of other stuff. The people at Red Frog gave us contacts for the best tours, transportation from island to island, secluded beaches, best places to snorkel, and the best authentic restaurants. My favorite part was the snorkeling. There were a bunch of places that we snorkeled and saw a ton of colorful fish including barracudas, and we found and even touched a 8-9 ft long nurse shark napping on the ocean floor. It was awesome!!! The villas we stayed at were really nice too and it was good to have a nice relaxing place with good AC when we had been out in the hot sun all day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.