We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Frog Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Delivered Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montvale, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Red Frog Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here (in Villa 4) from Feb 9-14 with our 2 adult children and loved the experience. Villa 4 was at the very top of the sometimes paved and sometimes not paved road that winds from the resort entrance thru what i called "Scottsdale" into the jungle and to the top of the property. Our Villa was a large 2 Bedroom 2 Bath with a large loft area but because it was so hot up there my kids shared the second bedroom. A continental breakfast was delivered each morning consisiting of pastry juice and coffee so its best to stock up in Bocas befoe you arrive if you want something more substantial. Very private with an infinity pool overlooking the jungle. Its really not much of a resort but its all about the beach and it has a very laid back surfer vibe. The punta lava restaurant was good for lunch and dinner but we mostly hung at the next beach down where you can grab lunch at the Jungle lounge or at Palmar a good surfer hang. Overall a fun relaxing trip. Best part,getting driven home by my tipsy 20 somethings in our golf cart on bumpy jungle roads. Saw some animals ive never seen before but it can be buggy there. The zip line on the property is Awesome.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    33
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
98
80
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice, quiet place to relax and entertain yourself .....welcoming personnel and beautiful landscape ... Nice escapade .... Good beach with waves for surfing, gotta be careful though for the rip tail waves

Great atmosphere with music and dance and nighttime bar .... enjoyed the patio on the beach ....

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently spent 6 days at Red Frog Island Beach Resort & Spa with my boyfriend. Overall, we had a good time there, but there are a few things I would have liked to know.

1. We rented the 29A luxury king suite. I'm assuming it's called the Luxury Suite because it's private with no shared space. The site said the upstairs is owned by someone living there, which was fine (and he was very nice). But I still expected to have a living area of our own and everything. 29A is basically like a hotel room with a great patio and private pool. There is a bedroom and a bathroom with a mini fridge. No extra living space, no kitchenette, no laundry (which the website said). It was very nice and everything, but it wasn't exactly what I thought it would be. I think if I returned, I would get a group of people to fill up all the rooms in a villa, so you'd have a whole place with all the amenities.
The pool and patio were used only by us and were awesome.

2. The beaches. The website showed calm, clear water at all the beaches. In reality, the main resort beaches were very rough. There were more surfers than swimmers. I was hoping to snorkel all around the beach but it was way too rough for that.
The resort map shows a jungle path walk to a nice calm snorkeling beach. We tried that the first day and almost turned back. The path was half mud which you could sink in up to your shins. There were land dispute signs posted all around it too which was a little unnerving. (if we had kids with us, we would have turned back pretty quickly). Once we got to the beach, there was decent snorkeling but still pretty cloudy. We didn't want to go back because of the jungle path. The last day we were there, we tried getting there from walking down beach paths. That was a thousand times better than the jungle path, and I would have liked to have headed out there a bit more had we known there was a better way. So yeah, if you want to go to the snorkel beach (low visibility but we still saw some cool little reef fish), take the beach path!!!

3. We weren't given much information at reception when signing in. Apparently the second desk in the lobby was for activities, but there weren't really any signs about it and the lady didn't tell us. We didn't figure that out til the end. It would have been nice to set up tours through the resort. They tell you of the two restaurant choices on the island: Punta Lava and Kayukos. Actually, there are several more options. There is an old shrimp boat that's been turned into a restaurant, Castaways, at the marina right near the Red Frog lobby. It had GREAT food (fish tacos!) and excellent staff. There is also a little beach bar/restaurant called Paimar (or Palmar?) which is fun (good music and atmosphere, and they have breakfast). There are a few beach things like taco stands and hot dog/hamburger guys, and a bar in the jungle called the Jungle Lodge.
Our fave of all was Castaways, and we had most of our meals there once we found it.

Overall, I might go back with family and rent out a whole villa. I think that would be pretty fun. Plus, knowing a bit more about the options there would help us to make more of the time we would spend there.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We echo allot of the same positive comments from previous reviewers. The property is under a bit of a transformation from housing development to resort so there is some construction happening. It doesn't really bother anyone and is needed as they are constructing a grocery store. We stayed in a beautiful home with a private pool and modern kitchen. The kitchen is somewhat ironic because it has everything you would need to make a gourmet meal with all cooking tools and appliance but getting the food to cook is very difficult and I don't think anyone uses it. This forces you to eat at one of the dining establishments that are on the island in which the Punta Lava restaurant was decent quality. The other one at the Lodge we did not have a good meal at all. It was quite dirty and could smell sewer. You can take water taxis into town but this is expensive if you have more than two people as they charge per person each way. We rented the golf cart which we felt is absolutely necessary. The island is very nice with quiet beaches and dense jungle, and Red frog resort seems very respectful of that, trying to maintain the area and promote conservation. I think if you were a good planner and filled a couple suitcases full of grocery's before you came over it would be perfect. There is a mix of families, retirees, couples and backpackers because there are several accommodations at the resort you can choose from. From Houses to jungle rooms to hostel type accommodation. The scope of the development is very large and was a very ambitious project when it was constructed in the 2000's. I believe there are 64 houses, all top quality which is rare when you look at some of the other property's in the surrounding area. I would recommend this to young families, I think it might be a bit quiet for couples but that is a choice you would have to make.

Room Tip: All houses look to be beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family vacation and it had something for everyone. A beautiful mix of rain forest jungle and tropical beaches, luxurious relaxation and as much adventure as you desire. Sunny beaches, hikes in the jungle, zip lining, surfing, snorkeling, poolside lounging, eating & drinking. Stayed in a very beautiful villa with it's own private pool. Beautiful views of ocean and jungle. Spent many hours watching sloths & their babies, capuchin monkeys bouncing thru the trees past our porch & iguanas sunning in a nearby tree.

Having the golf cart provided was a must and made getting to the wonderful beaches and marina easy. Red Frog Beach Resort is a wonderful blend of rustic, eco friendly with touches of luxury. You can stay in the villas as we did, or stay in the hostel for those on a budget. The restaurant, Punta Lava, has excellent food. Everything fresh and delicious. The other restaurant was more casual and like an open air pavilion with fun activities such as giant jenga, pool table & ping pong.

The entire staff at Red Frog Resort was always welcoming & friendly. After the first day it was like we were greeted by old friends. We have travelled all over the world and with vacation time and vacation dollars being precious this is one of those rare places that we would go back to in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful resort for those who seek peace and tranquility in a tropical oasis while not missing out on some of life's luxuries. The beaches are quiet and extraordinary, and the villas are exceptionally beautiful. My friend and I had a 5 bedroom, 4 bathroom villa all to ourselves with our own private pool, golf cart (for getting around the resort), huge kitchen and living/dining room. The villa was neat and tidy (be prepared....they do not offer daily housekeeping though). My only warning to travelers is that the resort is extremely remote, so if you're looking for solitude, peace and total relaxation, you've picked the right spot. However, if you're looking for a variety of restaurants, activities or nightlife you may prefer to find a location closer to Bocas town. We had several days of rain, and with the commute to town being so long and in open boats, we decided to stay close and keep dry. The problem with this is after a while we felt "cabin feverish" and desperate for something to do. All the locals we spoke with recommended September as the month to travel there.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To be fair, the beach at Red Frog Resort is amazing. Beautiful. Definitely worth visiting. The taco stand on the beach is fabulous. The restaurant on the beach is great, though overpriced. The condo we rented at the resort, however, was sub-par. The condo was barely clean and was a good 20 minute walk from the beach (all downhill to the beach, all uphill from the beach). We also realized we would need to rent golf carts to get around reasonably - not the surprise I was hoping for. So if you're prepared (and that's half of it, right?) to walk to the beach and you're not expecting too much, the resort is fine.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.