We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cobines luxury with an adventurous nature encounter.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cobines luxury with an adventurous nature encounter.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Red Frog Resort is perfect if you are looking for a wonderful place to relax while enjoying an exotic Caribbean local with luxurious touches. You can enjoy a lush manicured rain forest in amazing privacy while cruising silently among the chirping red frogs in your golf cart. You can take an afternoon dip and enjoy the sunset and amazing cacophony of jungle sounds from your own crystal clear plunge pool. There are two restaurant options on the property. One is more casual but certainly offering basic food options that also provides nightly diversions. The other offers more upscale options in a spectacular setting overlooking the beach. We spent our week moving between the two and were very satisfied. Bocas del Toro and Bastimentos Island give you access to a choice of well-run and accessible scuba diving options. I would recommend Bocas Water Sports. The coral reefs and animal life might not be as over the top as Belize or Bonaire but they still provide some very satisfying options to explore interesting reefs with smaller animal life and even an interesting wreck of an old ferry. Much to my relief, I’m a planner and logistics nut, getting to the dive shop in Bocas town was a breeze. The water taxi was timely, inexpensive and even enjoyable in the quiet of the early morning on the water among this cluster of beautiful islands. As an added plus for our group with members who are gluten free with Celiac, the head of the food service operations actually studied Celiac disease in culinary school. He was ready, willing, and able to work with us and made some great GF pancakes, pasta and pizza. In this regard, make sure you emphasize to the staff when making your arrangements that they should tell the head of the food service operations that you are coming so he can purchase the provisions and plan ahead for your needs. As you might imagine he can’t just run to a local Whole Foods and stock up on GF products. As seasoned zip line critics, we were very pleased that they have a well-developed and interesting zip line course. It was not only safe but had some interesting twists and challenges that were optional. That added to the experience to those in our party who might have felt that they really didn’t need to do another zip line. I would make sure you give yourself enough time so you can spend a day in Bocas Town exploring what they have to offer – shops, local restaurants, night life. Many of the younger hostel based tourists stay in town. Some make it to the hostel on Bastimentos. The staff were great working through the details and our many questions in the planning phase. And they had all the details and logistics worked out upon arrival. Don’t forget…this is well off the beaten path so you should expect things might move a little differently than at home…but that contributed to the pure joy of the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    23
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
86
71
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Non existent customer service. Horribly substandard food at the "restaurants ". Activities not available or not as advertised. Staff worse than useless. A poor excuse for luxury. Stay away! I'm serious.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven55, Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Lois:
I am very sorry about your stay here! We would like to invite you back and try and make it up to you. I acknowledge that we are not perfect and we do try and make an effort to accurately set expectations that match a guest's experience here.

Red Frog Beach is a unique resort because it is so spread out unlike an ordinary hotel-resort. We do not have a bell-hop at the bottom of the elevator to help at a moments notice; rather we use Jungle Carts to move about the island and it takes a little time to get back and forth through all the winding roads through nature.

The accommodations and scenery here are some of the nicest in Central America. We also think we have a wider-variety of activities than anywhere else. The food is good and getting better (and priced much lower than your average island destination). We can always do better at service and our native staff here is improving each day!

Please accept our apologies and please reach out to the director of the resort before any future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spent 5 nights here and absolutely LOVED it! The villas are amazing and luxurious. We got one that was on the end, next to the jungle, so we spent each night sipping wine on the balcony and listening to the jungle sounds. It's a bit of a hike to the beach, but that was rather fun, too. We packed our backpacks and hiked quite a ways and we had a beautiful beach entirely to ourselves. There are 2 restaurants on the island. Punta lava is one (right on the beach), and it's a great place for eating dinner (not the greatest for breakfast), and Kayukos is the other which is great for breakfast! It's a good idea to grab some groceries in town before you arrive as there are no stores on the island. The villa has a fully equipped kitchen
We saw lots of wildlife: parrots and other birds, sloths, monkeys, and of course red frogs! We did some snorkeling which was fun, though I would suggest renting your equipment in Bocas town. They only had a couple of pieces to rent on the island, and several of them were damaged.
We had the time of our lives here, and I hope to return again someday! It was a heavenly place to just get away from it all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Was only there a couple of days and was checking it out for future vacations. Was blown away with how beautiful the resort is--beaches, jungle, views etc. If you are looking for natural beauty in a beach vacation this is the spot. (everything else was great too, try the snapper at Punta Lava)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed in the Villas at Red Frog Beach with our family of 7 (ages 10-16). It was beautifully situated with a beach view and tucked up next to the jungle. My favorite part of the house were the multiple covered balconies that allowed us to enjoy nature in any weather. We watched the many species of birds frolicking right in front of us and heard that many see monkeys and other animals. The home is elegant and comfortable and fully stocked with anything you need (except food.) The linens are high quality, beds are comfortable, towels are big and plush, the finishings are high quality...every detail made us giggle. We felt so spoiled. The gold cart they provide makes the experience even more fun! We drove it to the dock for a boat tour (snorkeling is unreal here-water is so calm and clear!) We drove it to Punta Lava - a delicious restaurant right on the beach with open-aired eating. The golf cart added to the experience and gave us freedom to move about the island.

Helpful Hints:
There is a small store for simple items but no grocery store - so if you want to use the kitchen, bring in groceries from Bocas Town.

The staff was so helpful and helped us book water taxis and tours. There are tours to see dolphins, starfish, snorkeling, sloths, and so many more.

Be prepared for rain - that's what makes it so lush and green. Just bring a poncho or umbrella - it's warm rain and it doesn't last.

Red Frog is a quiet, peaceful way to enjoy the beauties of Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We decided to take our family of 7 (Ages: 16, 16(friend), 14, 12, 10) on a vacation to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa. We found the staff to be extremely friendly. The rental homes were luxurious and perfectly placed on the Island allowing an ocean and jungle view. Our home had a view of the ocean out the front of the home and the back of the home was right up to the jungle. The pool is beautiful and situated right below the lush forest. Each bedroom has its own balcony allowing quick access to the outdoors. We saw multiple birds and have heard that had we stayed longer we would have seen even more wildlife. The home is equipped with a state of the art kitchen. (There is no store on the island so you will need to bring in groceries from Bocas Town.)

The homes come with a golf cart to get back and forth to the beach and the restaurants, which was very useful and fun. The Punta Lava Restaurant was delicious and in a gorgeous setting right on the beach.

It was easy to set up a boat tour right on the island. We saw sloths and went snorkeling in tranquil, clear waters-so fun!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We rented villa 38 which advertises one of the best views on the island and we were not disappointed. This villa has a hugh patio that wraps around the villa. The owners of the villa were so helpful with everything from the booking to suggestions etc. and they always responded within hours of our emails. The restaurants had good food and good service. The resort management was slow to our requests which was the only negative of our vacation. WE WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK TO THE SAME VILLA IN THE NEAR FUTURE AND HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO OUR FRIENDS.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.