We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be a great resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
northern california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“To be a great resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We rented villa 13.

The good: house is gorgeous and impecably clean. IIts very large with beuatiful granite finishing and nice wood work. The family room & kitchen are huge with a large dinning table for 8 and lots of couch sitting area. A brand new flat screen tv with english programing is a plus for relaxing evenings. Boodrooms and baths are wonderful. The huge porch opening up to an amzing view is beautiful. The pool while small, is very clean and overlooks the oceon as it spills over its infinity finishing.

The bad: First, the property is not finished so many of the other houses are still being built. The roads are also unfinished so driving is hard because the road is so bumpy. But all of this will be finished soon. The other big negative is the amount of incredibly huge bugs everywhere. it makes it impossible to leave the house at night, but hey, this is the jungle, right? Finally, make sure you have purchased food provisions on the main land by day. The restaurant on the island is very poor quality so there really is not much option for anything other than staying in after dark.

I recommend the property, but would wait a bit until the place is fully finished.

Room Tip: Villa 13 offersgreat views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    24
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
90
73
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Barrington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this trip on a whim through Living Social. Was nervous about all the unknown in traveling to Panama but found out there was nothing to be worried about. Stayed in one of the villas. Very luxurious and high quality construction. Beaches are BEAUTIFUL. The further down the island you go, the more private the beach. We were there in slow season and often had one of the remote beaches to ourselves. Not sure why October is slow season as it was perfect weather. It is true that the food options aren't the greatest but that wasn't important to us as we just wanted some peace and quiet. The food we did eat at the restaurant was plenty good enough for our tastes. I would compare this place to what Hawaii must have been like before it was commercialized. I highly recommend renting the golf cart as I think it enhances the experience. You tend to do more when you can get around easily. The only downside of this experience was getting the vacation booked. It took me many emails and phone calls to get a response and to finally get things arranged. I spoke to one of the owners about this part of the experience because I think it is something they really need to improve. This place is too wonderful to allow poor reservation service to bring them down.

I'm offering some general notes about Panama City that would have helped me:

1. While Panama City is run down and filled with poor people, it is still safe. People tend to be poor because they don't want to work, which makes them less interested in material things and not necessarily interested in stealing or using violence to get things.

2. There are no street signs so you must use GPS to get around. We learned this the hard way and ended up having to have the police escort us to our first hotel which was in the mountains off of Panama City (not Red Frog Beach). The police were very friendly and helpful.

3. Car rental in Panama City is not standard to any place I've ever been, even though I used a national rental place (Hertz). They swipe your credit card and make you sign 3 blank receipts so they can fill it in if you damage your vehicle or incur other charges. This made me very nervous but I hadn't arranged for any other transport so I felt stuck. I don't know that I would rent again as you really are exposing yourself to possible unwarranted charges. Side note, there are no signs at Albrook telling you where to return your rental car. We ended up just parking in a side parking lot and putting the keys in their drop box. This worked out ok but felt very risky.

3. The flight from Panama City to Bocas is expensive. Additionally, you have to pay for a shuttle between the international airport and the local airport . Next time I would fly into San Juan Costa Rica and drive or bus the 5 hours to Bocas. Much simpler and cheaper. Also, the flight to Bocas allows only 30lbs of luggage. This is very limiting so I will avoid this in the future.

4. Panama City is beautiful and a trip to old town is a must. We only had a few hours on our way out of town and we were lucky enough to find a cab driver that had some time on his hands to give us the royal tour. The people of Panama are wonderful!

All in all it was wonderful and I can't wait to go back someday.

Room Tip: All the Villas are beautiful. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

VIsited Red Frog Beach on my two day trip to Bocas del Toro. Lunch at their restaurant was very good and then spent the rest of the day on the beach. Saw some “Red Frogs” and had some drinks at the Punta Lava Beach Bar. The water is so clear and the color is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've been on this island for 5 days and I can describe my experience as magic, is like being in a castle in the middle of the jungle. The villas are beautiful, comfortable and luxury. They have an amazing landscaping, each villa has a private pool and they are all different, beautiful view.

They have a restaurant name Kayukos that provides a very good attention and delicius Panamenian food, fish and sea food. Red Frog Beach is in my opinion the best beach in Bocas Del Toro, There are more beaches on the island but unfortunately the community does not clean them. I totally recommend visiting this place and enjoying all the activities that they offer. We had a fantastic experience there.

Room Tip: All Villas have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited Red Frog Beach in October and had a wonderful experience. We traveled as 2 couples so it was wonderful to rent a villa with two master bedroom suites with private baths. The quality of construction was very good and the furnishings were of high quality. The view off the balcony was breathtaking and a joy to wake up to. I especially enjoy the morning walk on the beautiful soft sand beach, as well as the afternoon swim in the warm, clear water.

We saw sloths, capuchin monkeys, many red frogs, and enjoyed the jungle surroundings with all the comforts of home in the beautiful villas.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurants, while not plentiful at this point, served tasty food at reasonable prices.

I would recommend this resort to anyone, and I am confident it will be an even greater experience next year when the villas are completed and the roads are paved. I strongly believe this resort will rival and exceed any beach resort in the world!

Room Tip: Seemed like most villas had beautiful views. #13 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We did not stay at the resort but made a day visit to the beach, which was a disappointment. The beach is full of all kind of garbage (PET bottles, cans, plastic bags, used dipers etc.) flushed up by the sea. They charge $3/person to enter the island, the resort, chair renters, restaurants and bars all make benefits from the visitors but nobody seems to care about to keep it clean.

Room Tip: If you look for a clean beach, do not go to this island
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven55, Guest Relations Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Day visitors are always welcome to come visit and enjoy Red Frog Beach.

We regularly clean our beaches and sometimes there is a storm that can bring in debris. Keep in mind that Red Frog Beach is a long beach and this review does not reveal if any of this trash was noticed at our restaurant, boardwalk peninsula or in the general vicinity of the resort. Most all of the time, our portion of Red Frog Beach is clean and our guests appreciate the serene and wild beauty!

Keep in mind that the villa accommodations are located above Turtle Beach which is more private than Red Frog Beach. Guests enjoy being able to access Red Frog Beach where they will see other day visitors from Bocas Town coming to ride the zipline, eat at Punta Lava or just relax on one of Panama's best beaches - but villa guests also have access to other beaches where they will find nearly no one there - nice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

There was a lot to like about Red Frog. The grounds were a beautiful combination of wild jungle and manicured flowering plants. We enjoyed watching the birds, butterflies and capuchin monkeys. There was access to nice tours such as Coral Key where the coral was the most colorful I have ever seen. The food at the restaurant was simple but tasty and reasonably priced and the ladies who work there were very nice and always smiling.
The resort says the villas are discounted due to construction but we did not find the construction to be a problem. We were disappointed, however, by the quality of the villa, the many added costs and the trash on the beach.
Our Villa 54 was pretty but has been allowed to deteriorate with stains on the sofas, curtains, pillow cases, towels and rugs and holes in the sofa and floor. The owner really needs to fix up.
No beach amenities whatsoever are provided to guests. Everything from chairs to boogie boards must be rented which adds up. A golf cart is essential. Roads are unpaved and rugged, distances are long and there are no lights. This will cost another $200 per week.
The resort charges guests for what they deem to be extra electric usage. They say this is a "conservation tactic." We were charged a small fee even though we were rarely there during the day. At night we had no choice but to use air conditioning because there were no screens on the windows and lots of bugs. There were cool ocean breezes and had there been screens we would not have needed the air conditioner. Wouldn't a better conservation tactic be to install screens?
Also, we were saddened by the amount of trash lining the beach from Turtle to Polo beaches. Trash is washed in by the tides but we did not see anyone tasked with removing it during the entire week we were there. Shouldn't a clean beach be a top priority for a beach resort?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.