We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - a wonderful place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beverly's Hill Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beverly's Hill Guest House
Save
You added Beverly's Hill Guest House to your Saves list
Isla Bastimentos, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic - a wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay and highly recommend it! A little white gate leads into the sumptuous tropical gardens, where the palm covered wooden cabins are dotted about. There are lots of the famous tiny red tree frogs in the gardens, if you look carefully you can also spot yellow ones too.

The cabins have lovely views, some of the bay and some through the sheltered gardens, which keep the cabins cool in the heat of the day. Inside they're made of polished wood, with good showers, very comfortable beds with nice clean bedding, and the owners provide mosquito nets, just in case. Our room had a fridge and a really quiet and powerful fan, and a little terrace with hammock and chairs to sit on.

The location is very good, in the centre of the village of Bastimentos, which is much more tranquil and pretty than neighbouring Bocas, which can be incredibly noisy and boisterous. You're just a $3 five minute boat ride away from the bigger noisier island, if and when you want a big party night out though, and the boats run all the time, day and night. I'd prefer to stay in quieter, more local Bastimentos myself though.

The place is run by Simon, a friendly English gentleman and Sandra, his vivacious Columbian wife, Sandra. They're very kind and friendly and made us feel completely at home. Simon is very interested in music, and he's well worth having a chat and a beer with; they're lovely people and great hosts, always happy to help in any way they can.

This was definitely the most enjoyable place that we stayed in Panama. We'd highly recommend it to anyone travelling through the country, and we'd love to go back one day.

Thank you Simon and Sandra! x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
41
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chemnitz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

best stay in Panama! was sooo nice place with cute wooden cottages in a beautiful "jungle" garden with red frogs and very friendly host! adventural walk through the jungle to dream beach! thank you Simon! Greatings from Carolin and Co from Germany!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filipfc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Beverly's Hill was one of my favourite places in Panama. Nice, calm, clean, located on a hill in a beautiful garden. Being away from the main street, that is a bit noisy felt great. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Simon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This place is a gem. I stayed on the wonderfully landscaped grounds of Beverly's Hill and was thrilled with my stay. My gorgeous bungalow was the perfect balance of comfort and rustic jungle living. This was a really nice way to experience the stunning natural beauty of this Caribbean island but still have running water shower/toilets.

I cannot say enough about Simon and Sandra who were very helpful and attentive to my needs. They will even fill up your water bottle with filtered well water before you head out on your day's journey!

Highly recommended.


Brad H

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

A nice and quiet place with wooden cabins surrounded by beautiful plants. Chilling area with hammocks and ocean view. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. We stayed for two weeks and could hardly leave the place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

As this place will likely be sold soon, things may change. The current owners are a British man and a Colombian woman. They are both friendly and I think the woman does the bulk of the day-to-day running of the guesthouse. We stayed in the "honeymoon suite" (we found out this is what it was called after we'd stayed there one night), which had a great view and quite a nice main room. I'm not sure I'd want to spend my honeymoon there though. The bathroom was rickety at best and in need of a good clean / remodel (huge wad of someone else's hair on the floor of the shower, anyone?). It was at the top of a very steep set of stairs which needed a lot of concentration or you could end up with a nasty fall. The paths, in general, were scrubbed but very slippery when wet and meandered around the property. Wifi was available near the house but not really in the room we were in. Meals weren't included but could be ordered; however, we tried to order a couple of meals and, both times, the owner didn't turn up (she said she was off the island and had trouble getting a boat back) so we gave up. She was very keen to provide a good service to her guests and tried hard to do so, but it didn't always work out. There are two large dogs and a cat on the premises, as well as wild red frogs. Overall, the place has great potential but needs some work to make it worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

lovely garden around the place.

The best thing to happen for Beverly´s hill is that it is up for sale. I hope the next owners will bring back atmosphere and a good cleaning.

We haven´t seen the owners, just dealt with their 7 or 8 year old daughter.

If you are looking for a half decent kitchen, stay away from this place

Room Tip: nicer places along the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beverly's Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly's Hill Guest House

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Beverly`s Hill Guest House Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Beverly's Hill Guest House Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beverly's Hill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.