We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there, worth it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelworld.com
Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel
Bluff Beach Rd. | Big Creek, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Santiago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go there, worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We had a really nice, friendly and peacefull experience at the Playa Beach Resort. The locations is perfect, just outside the village and ideal to do by bike (10 minutes biking trip). Also the rooms are clean and provided with airconditioning, the food is explended and we loved the attention we got from the staff and the Manager Michael. He is very thoughtfull and he helps you with everything you need. Also very good to visit with little kids. We brought our son of 2 years old and we had a blast..
Absolute worth going! I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel was a good value, it was very clean, the food was great, staff were very friendly, pool was fantastic and the room comfortable. But the manager (Michael) made our trip so much fun that the hotel was really kind of secondary. He arranged great day trips that fit our budget and always made sure that we paid an appropriate price, suggested restaurants, took care of taxis and made great breakfasts (and conversation). For a family of four this was definitely the best deal in the Bocas. The kids lived in the pool and we ate dinners on the dock over the water.
Hot tip: try the hamburgers, mmm

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My wife and I have taken a lot of trips over the past couple of years and nothing compares to this one. Micheal Evnin (GM of the resort) greeted us with the most sincere hospitality and took care of us during the entire stay. He gave us great recommendations for things to see and places to go. The entire staff was so friendly! The room was very clean and well maintained. The food and drinks were excellent. The location is great too. It sits right on the beach and has a nice pool/poolside bar. You CANNOT beat the price of the room for the wonderful service and location. It's only a 5 min. taxi ride into town which is very convenient. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who plans on visiting the beautiful area of Bocas!! I plan on returning very soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed for second time at Isla de Colon -Bocas del Toro in Panama. After bad experience first time, in the "downtown", chose we this time a place outside of the centrum. It was HIT !! Close to the town ( 15 min.walking in beautifull green nature-oceanbeach-safe and interesting local culture mix ), undisturbed of other hotels, traffic and street noise, aviable kitchen and bar almoust all the time( with really tasty pizza!!-strong recommended) and very relaxed surroundings, hospitable crew, romantic brew with eating plateau to the sea, valuble private area outside of the room, beautiful oceanview and possibility for tours, trips and transportation by boat directly from the hotels brew to all this unforgettable places / paradise islands we have visisted! and more! Music from the bar, very attractive for teenagers according to need and request was never "too high or too bad"..And lazy evenings in the hammock with cold beer and ocean by night!! After many years with intense travelling and a lot of different places all over the world, we will warm rememberance this hotel and this stay for a long time ..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

The manager Michael was very nice and arranged some excellent horseback riding for my customers.

The location is nice and quiet, there is a nice pool, cute and friendly bar staff, and the rooms are fantastic.

The location is a little bit out of town but the manager knew many trustworthy boat captains and taxis that we could take back and forth.

The price of the hotel was fantastic for the service.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010 via mobile

Excellent value for money option on Isla Colon just outside Bocas Town!

Initially, we had some doubts based on the previous reviews on TripAdvisor. Since this was the only affordable place with a swimming pool on the island, we decided to call the new manager (Michael). Over the phone, he already convinced us of the improvements he made, so we decided to give it a try.
 
We are extremely happy we did, because Playa Mango offered us a trully excellent stay:
- nice and clean swimming pool
- comfortable rooms with good bed, excellent combination of airco and fan and free wifi in room
- delicious food and drinks at reasonable price (try the pasta with shrimps!)
- last but not least, extremely friendly and helpful staff who all speak English well

We would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for more luxury than a hostel, without paying western resort prices.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I found the Playa Mango to be a very comfortable and friendly place to spend 10 days of my month long vacation. My intention was to spend a few nights here and there in different resorts in and around Bocas Del Tora. What I found was that most of the area attractions could be booked from and accessed from Playa Mango. The boat dock at the hotel was really handy. Cabs into town were only 2 bucks each way. The manager of Playa is really friendly and helpful. He and the staff try hard to please, and in my opinion they do. He is upgrading the restaurant which I thought was already pretty good food. He is giving the place some TLC which is needed because of the humid climate. The rates are fair for what you get if you value a good time and making new friends.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Playa Mango Beach Club Hotel Bocas Town
Playa Mango Beach Club Hotel
Playa Mango Beach Hotel
Playa Mango Beach Club And Resort Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town
Address: Bluff Beach Rd. | Big Creek, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Hotel with 14 rooms and 1 suite, ocean front and with a beautiful pool. All rooms face the ocean and have gorgeous views of Bocas Town and Isla Carenero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.