We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big and very good benefits for small money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel
Bluff Beach Rd. | Big Creek, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Sarpsborg, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“big and very good benefits for small money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed for second time at Isla de Colon -Bocas del Toro in Panama. After bad experience first time, in the "downtown", chose we this time a place outside of the centrum. It was HIT !! Close to the town ( 15 min.walking in beautifull green nature-oceanbeach-safe and interesting local culture mix ), undisturbed of other hotels, traffic and street noise, aviable kitchen and bar almoust all the time( with really tasty pizza!!-strong recommended) and very relaxed surroundings, hospitable crew, romantic brew with eating plateau to the sea, valuble private area outside of the room, beautiful oceanview and possibility for tours, trips and transportation by boat directly from the hotels brew to all this unforgettable places / paradise islands we have visisted! and more! Music from the bar, very attractive for teenagers according to need and request was never "too high or too bad"..And lazy evenings in the hammock with cold beer and ocean by night!! After many years with intense travelling and a lot of different places all over the world, we will warm rememberance this hotel and this stay for a long time ..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

The manager Michael was very nice and arranged some excellent horseback riding for my customers.

The location is nice and quiet, there is a nice pool, cute and friendly bar staff, and the rooms are fantastic.

The location is a little bit out of town but the manager knew many trustworthy boat captains and taxis that we could take back and forth.

The price of the hotel was fantastic for the service.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010 via mobile

Excellent value for money option on Isla Colon just outside Bocas Town!

Initially, we had some doubts based on the previous reviews on TripAdvisor. Since this was the only affordable place with a swimming pool on the island, we decided to call the new manager (Michael). Over the phone, he already convinced us of the improvements he made, so we decided to give it a try.
 
We are extremely happy we did, because Playa Mango offered us a trully excellent stay:
- nice and clean swimming pool
- comfortable rooms with good bed, excellent combination of airco and fan and free wifi in room
- delicious food and drinks at reasonable price (try the pasta with shrimps!)
- last but not least, extremely friendly and helpful staff who all speak English well

We would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for more luxury than a hostel, without paying western resort prices.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I found the Playa Mango to be a very comfortable and friendly place to spend 10 days of my month long vacation. My intention was to spend a few nights here and there in different resorts in and around Bocas Del Tora. What I found was that most of the area attractions could be booked from and accessed from Playa Mango. The boat dock at the hotel was really handy. Cabs into town were only 2 bucks each way. The manager of Playa is really friendly and helpful. He and the staff try hard to please, and in my opinion they do. He is upgrading the restaurant which I thought was already pretty good food. He is giving the place some TLC which is needed because of the humid climate. The rates are fair for what you get if you value a good time and making new friends.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Mike the new manager is great and the hotel was the perfect place to stay for me in Bocas. The water taxi dock is awesome and is possible to ocean kayak right outside your front door!

To get away from it all....this is a great place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

As mentioned in other reviews the hired staff at the hotel were quite nice. Also the location was good for water taxi pick up, and for walking along the road and visiting nice beaches nearby. However you cant swim in the ocean near the hotel due to jelly fish and stingrays. And the pool is not appealing due to lack of cleanliness. Plus the staff had kids living at the hotel who were often in the pool making lots of noise with other kids from the area. The whole place was dirty, divey and dingy including our room. We didnt even have a proper door on our bathroom and the room had no shelves, bureau or anywhere to put our stuff. The sheets felt like burlap and I got some "mysterious" bites all over my torso and chest-- bedbugs??? The breakfast was white bread and fruit. No drinking water was provided. This for $100 a night?!? This is central america! I would maybe feel OK about spending $20 on this place. If you want to stay out of town try "Los Coralinas" down the way-- we had a great dinner there and it looked clean and was located at a beach where you could surf and swim.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangobeach1, Manager at Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
I am Michael Evnin, the new General Manager of the Playa Mango Resort Hotel, Bocas del Toro, Panama.

Some recent reviews have been less than complimentary. We are now under new manangement (myself) and I assure TripAdvisor and future guests that we will be doing everything possible to turn things arround so that all reviews are positive.

Cleanliness and order - attention to detail - are uppermost in my mind. Come back and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Pacifica, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Look - we're solid 3 star people simply looking for truth in advertisement, and a clean, quiet place to sleep. We found none of these at Playa Mango. Yes, nice location, away from town, except it'll cost you $10 in taxi rides to get to town and back as there is no shuttle service nor bikes available for guests like all the other hotels offer. There was NO drinking water - alternatively a $10 ride into town to buy water! At 8:00 a.m. there was no coffee service to be found. The room was good sized, but there was no mattress pad - just a sheet over the mattress - yuck. No hand towels or wash cloths - just worn towels. A bare light bulb lit the bathroom - where exposed wires connected the on-demand hot water - really scary. We watched Mike the owner/operator "wash" our coffee cups with his fingers and running water and put them in the drying rack - no sponge, no soap - yuck again. We received no housecleaning services. The air-conditioner was incredibly loud and smelled of mold when we turned it on - which we told Mike about but he made no effort to remedy the situation. Our TV received 4 channels clearly, all Spanish. The pool and pool area needed a good cleaning.

Lunch was expensive by Bocas standards, it was supposed to be a "Fresh vegetable stir fry" but it ended up being veggies (red pepper and maybe onion?) cooked beyond recognition in soy? sauce - the rice was cooked in/saturated with the same sauce. We did not risk another meal here - we paid the $10 to go to town and eat - and since we chose this place so we wouldn't have to spend our time in town ... you can see where this began to get frustrating.

But the kicker? The hotel had one other room rented when we checked in....the morning of our second (last) day there a bunch of young Panamanians showed up with full coolers and looking to party - which is great - except he sandwiched us between their rooms! The whole flipping place was empty and he put them on both sides of our room anyway - they kept us up until 4:45 a.m. - in the morning when I couldn't wait to check out - Mike said he didn't get much rest either - admitted he knew how loud and obnoxious this group was and did NOTHING about it! I was so angry I couldn't leave fast enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangobeach1, Manager at Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
I am Michael Evnin, the new General Manager of the Playa Mango Resort Hotel, Bocas del Toro, Panama.

Some recent reviews have been less than complimentary. We are now under new manangement (myself) and I assure TripAdvisor and future guests that we will be doing everything possible to turn things arround so that all reviews are positive.

Cleanliness and order - attention to detail - are uppermost in my mind. Come back and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel

Address: Bluff Beach Rd. | Big Creek, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Hotel with 14 rooms and 1 suite, ocean front and with a beautiful pool. All rooms face the ocean and have gorgeous views of Bocas Town and Isla Carenero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Mango Beach Club Hotel Bocas Town
Playa Mango Beach Hotel
Playa Mango Beach Club And Resort Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.