We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and laid back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel
Bluff Beach Rd. | Big Creek, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Seymour, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice and laid back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I booked here last year. WE had never been to the area, but it was one of the only places with a pool and that pretty much made the decision for us.

The place is a trip and a half. Very strange...

When we were there the manager was away on vacation, and Mike, the owner was taking care of things. Things happen here at their own pace. If you have to have things a certain way, or at exact times Playa Mango is not for you. If you don't mind sitting around in the mornings waiting for Mike to get out of bed and make Coffee, while you play with the hotel parrot, than you will enjoy this place a great deal.

One caution I would give is that the showers are very strange - To me at least. The shower head has a heating element inside it - they almost never work. Ours would give you bracing cold water, and at the end stream would shoot out of it for 3 min.

We told Mike, he said he would take care of it, which meant calling a friend in Miami, FL to order a new one, which should arrive in 3 to 6 weeks (we were there for 10 days).

We lived with it and laughed about it. It was all just part of the way things work in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower head works and gives you hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The hotel website and the travel guides really oversold this hotel. There is no beach, the bar over the water was filled with cheap plastic chairs, some broken and there was no working bar. The first night I had to ask for clean sheets as the ones on the bed had a bad smell, as did the towels on some days. There was a strong sewer smell by the front entrance which is also where the bar/kitchen area is. A couple of mornings the sewer smell was wafting in through my open window, yuck! The sheets were pilled and threadbare and you could see right through them. One day the room was not even made up or tended to. The grounds were cluttered with bags of garbage and unused/unusable items laying around. No tv and if there was it was only Spanish speaking, 3 channels. The two staff, despite the unorganized management, tried very hard to be helpful and pleasant. It was not a good experience. Nicer places in town were cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Playa Mango did not live up to the previous reviews. We stayed one week and would have left if we had not prepaid. There has been a change in management and I assume this may be the reason the resort has apparently gone downhill. The linens on the beds are horrible, rough and very pilled. The grounds are poorly maintained with plastic sacks full of cans, wood, broken glass and crumbling sheetrock by the stairs to the upper rooms. The pool could use more upkeep, extra chlorine, scrubbing. There is often a strong smell of sewer by the front entrance. There was no working tv in our room. We were offerred connection to an an antenna that would bring in three local spanish speaking channels. No satellite or cable. The whole place needs a facelift. On the positive side, the TWO service staff work exceptionally hard to allow the guests a pleasant experience. The free coffee in the morning was delicious, breakfast adequate. We did not eat dinner so cannot comment on the food but the bar over the water was not open when we stayed there. The resort has lots of possibilities but it currently is not a place we could recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagerPanama, General Manager at Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Yes, there was a change in management prior to your visit.

I joined the hotel in June '10 as General Manager and resigned effective end February '11. During my tenure, I focused on many of the aspects enumerated by you. I enjoyed serving as host to so many fine guests and appreciate the reviews written while I was at the hotel.

Sincerely, Michael Evnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I spend new years week at the hotel and had a great time.
We got lucky to have Michael, he was a the best person to recomend us the correct people, taxi driver, boat etc
The Hotel is located 10 minuts away on boat ($5 per person) to the best surfing spots in bocas(Paunch, carenero, la curva etc) and the boat will wait for you.
If you wanna keep the boat all day long is only($15 per person) ask for teodoro captain.
I really recomment Bocas del Toro as one of the best Surfing trips you should do.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

My partner and I needed a relaxing get-away and that is exactly what we got when we stayed at Playa Mango. The rooms were very clean and it was very quiet and relaxing. The manager Michael is so friendly and caring. Catilla, the cook/bartender, makes a mean Pina Colada and her cooking was excellent! The pool right off the ocean is a nice touch. There is also a really nice dock where you can sit on the ocean, have a drink, and watch the sunset. Playa Mango is an amazing place for couples, families, or even solos. I would definitely suggest staying here while you are in Bocas.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We had a really nice, friendly and peacefull experience at the Playa Beach Resort. The locations is perfect, just outside the village and ideal to do by bike (10 minutes biking trip). Also the rooms are clean and provided with airconditioning, the food is explended and we loved the attention we got from the staff and the Manager Michael. He is very thoughtfull and he helps you with everything you need. Also very good to visit with little kids. We brought our son of 2 years old and we had a blast..
Absolute worth going! I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel was a good value, it was very clean, the food was great, staff were very friendly, pool was fantastic and the room comfortable. But the manager (Michael) made our trip so much fun that the hotel was really kind of secondary. He arranged great day trips that fit our budget and always made sure that we paid an appropriate price, suggested restaurants, took care of taxis and made great breakfasts (and conversation). For a family of four this was definitely the best deal in the Bocas. The kids lived in the pool and we ate dinners on the dock over the water.
Hot tip: try the hamburgers, mmm

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Playa Mango Beach Club Hotel Bocas Town
Playa Mango Beach Club Hotel
Playa Mango Beach Hotel
Playa Mango Beach Club And Resort Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town
Address: Bluff Beach Rd. | Big Creek, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Hotel with 14 rooms and 1 suite, ocean front and with a beautiful pool. All rooms face the ocean and have gorgeous views of Bocas Town and Isla Carenero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Mango Beach Club and Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.