We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Bocas Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Olas to your Saves list
Hotel Olas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Bocas Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel Olas! Friendly and helpfull staf (in 99% of the cases). Cozy atmosphere, nice interior and great verandas by the water! It's a small town so location will let you walk anywhere in 5-10 minutes. It's possible to rent surfboards, bikets etc. and book tours at the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    82
    26
    20
    31
See reviews for
22
97
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

4 years ago I went for the first time to Bocas, me, my dad and my 2 brothers went for 4 nights and a guide from the island recommended us the Olas hotel. so we went there. we fall in love as soon as we got there. the room was small but they were comfort enough at sleep time. the most that we liked was the restaurant and the view you have at breakfast, and that you can get a boat to pick you up from there. the hotel has many options of tours and they arrange the tours you choose. its really relaxing and pretty and in a safe spot. is not close to bars so you can really sleep, but is not that far from them neither ,just enough to go walking. we liked it so much that we went for second time 2 years later. the same beautiful and relaxing hotel. I hope we go again next time

Room Tip: get a room with ocean view on the 3th floor!! is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Absolutely loved the place. Great room (quiet, A/C and hot water working perfectly), amazing view (right in the water, boats and yachts passed by, sunset was beautiful), but more importantly amazing people… we where treated like family. The breakfasts were good and the hotel is close to everything. We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Excellent place. Conveniently located away from the confusion of the main street yet very close. Nice building built over the water with a great terrace at water level where a very good breakfast is served. On the upper levels there are other smaller and quieter longes. Cute decoration. Some of the rooms have great views of the sea. Loved the hammocks hanging from the balcony. Would not hesitate and book it again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great location-around the corner from the Main Street but easy to walk anywhere! Rooms are clean, big, with air con & wifi. Breakfast is muffin & juice/coffee. Good value for
money-would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

*Nicely laid out hotel. Relaxing on one of the decks or in one of the hammocks as the sun is setting with hummingbirds buzzing around you is a pretty nice experience.

*Ben, the manager, is a very friendly helpful (english speaking) person.

*The complimentary breakfast is very basic but for a small fee I would recommend the shakshooka (eggs poached in a tomato based sauce).

*The snorkelling directly beneath the hotel is surprisingly good.

*Wifi is difficult to pick up on the 2nd and 3rd floors.

*The air-con didn't work in our room, but it wasn't a problem as we were given a different room immediately when we brought it to the attention of the staff.

*The hotel is pretty dated and as other reviewers have said, you will find little critters like geckos running around the walls of your room at night... but that comes with the territory when you're in the Caribbean and, in my opinion, it just adds to the experience.

*Although I can't give Hotel Olas a high score for things like 'cleanliness' and 'wi-fi availability throughout the hotel' all in all I enjoyed my time there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

nice place i have stayed here two times now .Management very nice and helpful. Price was great and i would stay there again for sure .the back deck is awesome right on the water and the best place to eat diner Refugios is just a few doors down .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olas

Address: Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Hotel on the water with great ocean view. Quiet location, 2 minute walk from main street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olas Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Olas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;