We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Olas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Olas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hotel with a nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

*Nicely laid out hotel. Relaxing on one of the decks or in one of the hammocks as the sun is setting with hummingbirds buzzing around you is a pretty nice experience.

*Ben, the manager, is a very friendly helpful (english speaking) person.

*The complimentary breakfast is very basic but for a small fee I would recommend the shakshooka (eggs poached in a tomato based sauce).

*The snorkelling directly beneath the hotel is surprisingly good.

*Wifi is difficult to pick up on the 2nd and 3rd floors.

*The air-con didn't work in our room, but it wasn't a problem as we were given a different room immediately when we brought it to the attention of the staff.

*The hotel is pretty dated and as other reviewers have said, you will find little critters like geckos running around the walls of your room at night... but that comes with the territory when you're in the Caribbean and, in my opinion, it just adds to the experience.

*Although I can't give Hotel Olas a high score for things like 'cleanliness' and 'wi-fi availability throughout the hotel' all in all I enjoyed my time there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    81
    24
    19
    31
See reviews for
22
93
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

nice place i have stayed here two times now .Management very nice and helpful. Price was great and i would stay there again for sure .the back deck is awesome right on the water and the best place to eat diner Refugios is just a few doors down .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

At a quiet place in town this sea-Side hotel is run by a friendly israelian guy named Ben and therefor a popular hangout place for travelers. Rooms are clean but walls are thin, combined with an loud aircon u may wanna bring earplugs.
Breakfast is included but is limited to a muffin, juice and coffee. The snorkling tour was worth it! Overall a good experience

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great place and great value for your money. Located on a quiet side of town. It has a great ocean deck to watch the most beautiful sunset. You can borrow bikes and ride around town or just walk a few blocks to find lots of restaurants and shops. Grocery store nearby too. You can also book your tours right at the hotel. Rooms are average, but was great with friends. Continental breakfast was included. I would definitely stay here again. Had a great time and the staff were very nice and friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Las olas is the best place to stay while you are visiting Bocas del Toro. Great Staff and great services.
Perfect location to rest after our longs days full of activities and party. Hotel Las Olas also provide us ideas for our tours and tour guide to make sure that you are Safe and enjoy every single tour around bocas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here...the price was reasonable and the staff was so friendly!! The room were very clean and the location was quiet, but very close to stores and great eating. Ben was an excellent host as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The owners are very warm, make you fell at home. The manager ,helped us with everything that we need during our stay on the island.You can take tours with a boat from the place itself for cheaper prices than the locals and you can ask for private tours as well .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olas

Address: Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Hotel on the water with great ocean view. Quiet location, 2 minute walk from main street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olas Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Olas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.