We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Lay Your Head” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avenida Norte | Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 30116, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Lay Your Head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at Lula's for 5 nights, maybe 6. Who knows! Bocas has a way of sucking time away from you.

The property is nice, clean and extremely safe. I usually had a very good night's sleep here. Lula's has a very relaxing upper deck for guests to enjoy. The back deck overlooks a not-so attractive construction yard. And as a result of this, early mornings the boys begin to work which could make it difficult for you to sleep in (depending on which room you are in). That being said, I was usually up early enough to enjoy Lula's breakfast so the noise didn't bother me much and if it did, I'd just pop in my ear plugs.

The funny thing is, the construction was never much of a noise issue over the locals. Sometimes we could hear music from who-knows where that would bleed into the hotel. But it's not like the owner's can go hunt down some noise makers across the town. And out of my 5 nights, that was only an issue once.

I only mention these things so people have an idea of what it's like around Lula's. The reality is, Lula's is much quieter than the main stretch of Isla Colon and anywhere around the infamous hostels.

Breakfast is included and quite tasty! The rooms are extremely clean! The bathrooms are a tad small but at least you have your own bathroom.

I paid $55/night for a single. If you're looking for something more affordable you can consider Lula's hostel which is across the street on the water. It tends to cater to backpacker's who enjoy sleeping at night. Isla Colon is a party island and most hostels on the island are LOUD ALL NIGHT (as in right to 09:00).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    38
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
80
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First please take the poor reviews with a grain of salt, as with most poor reviews on TA. This place is in Central America and is not a RIU chain. It's CLEAN, FRIENDLY and PEACEFUL. You are a short 5-10 minute walk to anywhere you want to go in town. The staff will help you with advice or any plans you need to arrange. Breakfast is simple but perfect with all you can drink coffee! 2 different types of rooms, the smaller ones are on the small side but you have a bed, bathroom and closet and are only in the room to sleep and shower. The extra $10 for the larger rooms would have been worth it after seeing them but they were all booked during our stay. We tried to stay here again at the end of our trip we loved it so much but they were full. Thank you so much for our amazing stay!

Room Tip: Pay for the larger room if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lula´s is a great place to stay. Very friendly managers who help you with everything. Nice and safe. Good breakfast. A good thing to know is that the town of Bocas does not really have any nice beaches within walking distance. You need to take a taxi or a boat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had intended to stay only 3 nights at Lula's but enjoyed it so much we ended up staying a week!

We stayed in the new waterfront hostel building which is opposite the main hotel.

The hostel is perfect - comfortable clean beds and showers and a well equipped kitchen with a fantastic deck/pontoon, perfect to swim from.

Bryan (the owner) and Eric (the manager) could not have been more helpful in terms of sharing their local knowledge, and organising day trips. We went horse riding, kayaking, chartered a boat with skipper for the day, and also visited a local indigenous village - all on Bryan/Eric's recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spend three nights at Lula's in the end of December. The property is very cute and in a good location. Eric and the owner's were more than helpful during our stay. My friend and I had only made reservations for half of our trip. The owners (I cannot for the life of me remember their names) called everyone they knew until they had found us a place to stay. I cannot thank them enough, their recommendation (Los Secretos) was amazing!

Room Tip: There are not that many rooms, I think all of them would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the triple room. There was a double bed and a single. It had a room safe and a/c. We could not hear a sound from the other guests even though we were just off the common area. Everyone was so friendly and the staff was extremely helpful. Loved the refrigerator stocked with drinks where you could tally up your purchases. The dining room looked so beautiful with a linen tablecloth and nice silverware and dishes. The linen napkins were even in various pretty folded shapes. You could rent a kayak for $3/hour or $8 for half a day which is what we did. We talked to many people in town who had stayed there or stayed there after we did and they all loved it!

Room Tip: Three person room is largest and at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a 3-person room! A/C worked wonderfully! The room was quaint! Eric (general manager) was fantastically helpful! We would have never made it to our bus on time in Changuinola without Eric's advice to take the 7:30am watertaxi. He also made sure we got a good boat tour, and gave great advice for where to eat, etc. The hammock on the deck was a big hit with my family. The coffee and breakfast was great! It was nice to have a refrigerator stocked with bottles of water & soda, and a tab you could run up during your stay. We've recommended Lulu's to all our friends, and everyone who has gone loved it. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Avenida Norte | Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 30116, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lula's Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful and charming place to stay offering exceptional value, comfort and location. The historic home is open and airy, the perfect spot to relax after a day of exploring the area's natural wonders. We are certain you will enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Lula`s Bocas Town
Hotel Lula`s b&b
Hotel Lula's Bed And Breakfast Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.