We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at Dona Mara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Isla Carenero, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
wiliamsburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay at Dona Mara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Yes, the rooms are small, but who wants to stay in the room when vacationing in Bocas del Toro. The staff is absolutely fantastic and caters to your every whim. The restaurant next door is excellent. The food is fresh and prepared to order so just know that you're going to wait. Enjoy an ice cold Balboa in the meantime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Horrendous experience. No water, fan didn't work, AC on the blink. Rooms( and they are NOT cheap) have all the personality of a bombshelter. STAY in BOCAS!! i.e. Cocomo on the Sea or Lula's

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

It wasn´t the plushest hotel we´ve ever stayed at but the staff made our few days there really special. They were lovely! The location was stunning and we would highly recommend Bocas del Toro!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcan, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We arrived at Dona Mara to find that there was no water. We were told there was no water anywhere else so we went ahead and stayed. We were asked to pay upfront for the three days we were staying. By the end of the second day we couldn't take the no water situation so we asked for a refund so we could move to a different hotel. We were denied a refund. The funny thing is we checked out neighboring hotels and they did have water. It was also not good for the price the rooms were a little run down. The other hotels we looked at were the same price but offered allot more for the money!

The good things we will say are that the hotel manager and his wife were very nice. I have nothing to say against them. The food at the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

My friend and I spent an absolutely amazing time as this fabulous, local hotel! It's right at the beach, on an island 2 minutes by boat from crazy Bocas, where one can party all night long. The hotel manager (Luis), his wife and staff were extremely welcoming and there for us with help and advise as needed. Food and drinks at Dona Mara are absolutely excellent! Try the fresh Pina Colada or Daiquiris for Happy Hour and have locally caught fresh fish for dinner! My friend and I have travelled extensively. Seldomly have we enjoyed our stay as much as at Dona Mara! Don't expect luxury, rather a simple, beautiful, quiet hotel; nice beach, great food, helpful staff and SMILES!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We had a fabulous time, everyone there were so nice. Penny and her husband do a wonderful job making you feel welcome. We didn't speak spanish, in fact just english. Their english was pefect.

The staff was very nice, you could eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, very inexpensive and very good. They had a bar and my favorite part was Happy hour.

I even had them to my laundry, for a very small amount.

They helped us with tours, water taxi, suggestions.

The rooms were fancy, but the beds were great.
We walked around and looked at all the other hotels on this Island and felt very luck to stay at the Dona Mara.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

What a wonderful getaway! This was our second visit to the Bocas area and we are so glad that Doug recommended this to us! We stayed a full week! Many days we moved only from the yummy breakfast to the end of the dock to sway in the hamock and watch the boats.
The service is out of this world and the food is excellent! We watched the local fisherman bring in crab and had a grand dinner that evening!
We are booking a trip for Jan of 2009 and will be sure to stay at Dona Mara!

  • Liked — Great Managers do out of their way for you
  • Disliked — 0
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast

Address: Isla Carenero, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on breathtaking, tranquil Carenero Island, our hotel is one of very few with rooms right on the beach. Our location is perfect, less than two minutes from Bocas Town, with its shops, restaurants, and nightlife. However, we're just far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet. Our bed & breakfast & restaurant provide comfort, tranquility, and a swimming beach without sacrificing easy access to/from Isla Colon. Taste the local flavor at our beachside restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Dona Mara Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Dona Mara Bocas Town
Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.