We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A House on Water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Del Sol

Save Saved
You added Bahia Del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahia Del Sol
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Double Suite
Ranked #1 of 23 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A House on Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I just spent four nights at Koko Resort in Bocas Town which is run by Bahia del Sol. We had a great little cabin built on stilts over the bay of Saigon. It is right next to Bahia del Sol. Jack and Lee were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed Jacks breakfasts and really appreciated all of their knowledge and the effort they put into scheduling our daily excursions and taxis.

I would recommend this as a great place to stay but you I have to understand that this is Bocas Town and this is not the Westin. Our cabin was very comfortable and we had everything that we needed but it is not the Westin. We had star fish and even a stingray swimming under our deck. We could just off of our deck and swim or go kayaking. We enjoyed the owners, the staff and the other guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    52
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
127
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had a great time at Bahia Del Sol and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a true Panamanian experience. This B & B is literally ON THE WATER!! The sounds and sensations of the Caribbean, like the rainbow over the ocean I witnessed one morning, were outstanding. The hosts were fantastic and the food was absolutely delicious!! Breakfast is made with fresh daily by Jack, who makes creative culinary dishes to delight even the most discerning tastes. The American owners have a relationship with the community, which makes the experience terrific; taxis and access to resources are easy and affordable! I took an all day snorkeling excursion that Jack arranged, which picked us up on the BDS dock! The boat captain was knowledgeable, bilingual, and friendly; he took us to some exquisite snorkeling spots with the best biodiversity I’ve seen in a long time! The owners take pride in their B&B and the customer service is outstanding. My room was large, comfortable, clean, affordable, and the shower was hot. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at Bahia del Sol. The location, while a 15 minute walk from the main part of Bocas Town, was really lovely and a great spot to enjoy a morning coffee or a lazy afternoon. The breakfasts cooked by Jack were amazing - each day was something different, from waffles to breakfast burritos. The only downside to our stay were the rooms. We stayed in two different rooms on our trip, and both had their own issues. First the good - the beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were nicely decorated and both had AC. The negatives -- in the standard room upstairs in the main house, you WILL be woken up every morning at 7 am or so by the eager tourists chattering loudly in the kitchen/lounge, which is where breakfast is served and is right below the room. You will also hear everything said/done in the room next door, since the walls dont go all the way up to the ceiling. In the Casa Rosada Room II, which is in the house next door to the main house, the only downside was the shower, which was in need of some renovations and cannot be used while someone else in the house was showering. Overall, we would recommend, although we felt without the amazing breakfasts we would have felt we paid to much for the rooms we stayed in.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Breakfasts are great (although heavy if you're used to a bowl of cornflakes) and Jack and Lee are very helpful with things to do in the area. They're always around so if you need something or have a question, there's someone to answer it. We booked late so ended up shifting between two rooms at Bahia del Sol and one of the cabins next door at Koko's resort they also own. The rooms were nice and had a little deck area out front with a table and hammock. While basic rooms, they were comfortable and there was always enough warm water.I recommend staying here, read their FAQs first though. It's a short walk to town and a 60c taxi ride - much better than being near the noise of the town.

Good day trips in the vicinity but **** WARNING**** if you are planning on going to Isla Bastimentos, I advise you NOT to go to Wizard Beach. It is a walk to get to and very isolated. We were there and there were a few other couples spread out on the beach, Two masked men came, one with a machete and one with a piece of wood to rob everyone. They wanted cash and noone was hurt but it's a scary experience. Reported it to the police but they didn't seem interested. I'm sure Jack and Lee will warn you not to go there, but if not, here's the warning,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosstone, Owner at Bahia Del Sol, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for the kind review. The beach that this reviewer mentioned that they had a problem at is on a completely different island then where we are located. This is a day trip that some people take but I just wanted to be clear that this is not on the same island or no where near where our properties are located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

One of our highlights of the trip. Bahia del sol is a place has a great vibe vibe and the owners Jack and Lee went out of their way to help us out and make our trip enjoyable. The views from the rooms are amazing. If you are Traveler not a Tourist you will cherish this gem and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the master suite with the bathtub overlooking the water. Amazing view, but tends to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Bocas Town is a place to skip and continue to one of the islands! The Bed and Breakfast we stayed at, BAHIA DEL SOL.....is in need of a serious cleaning....the owners are very present...however they need to seriously clean up the place...starting with some bleach...and cleaners! It is in need of serious repairs!...leaks....broken boards...etc much more! this place was like a glorified youth hostel.!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosstone, Owner at Bahia Del Sol, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
This kind of review really makes us sick. We take great pride in keeping our HOME as clean as humanly possible every day. Yes Bahia Del Sol is our home as well as a bed and breakfast. We allow smoking on our back patio but not inside the home. Sounds like this guest did not like Isla Colon at all and took it out on us. We are a family run B and B and take great pride in making all of our guests happy. We have no idea what leak or floorboard this review references but we are a wooden home built over a ocean. Sometimes things break and when they do we fix them normally within a few hours. If you stay with us please allow us to help you make the best of your vacation in Bocas and we will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can repeat the same positive things about Bahia Del Sol--that the rooms are rustic but clean, that the breakfasts are great and that the innkeepers are helpful but that doesn't even come close to all the things Jack and Lee did for us before we ever arrived and after. We had a bad experience procuring our Air Panama tickets and were ready to cancel our trip to Panama over it when we didn't have tickets two days before. Calls and trips to the airport by Jack got us our tickets. We spent a night in Panama City where I left an expensive camera battery and charger and Jack and Lee worked with the hotel there to get it sent to me on the next plane over to Bocas. Finally, my husband had a drug reaction and Jack and Lee helped get us medical attention.

We aren't normally high maintenance travelers so all of this was unusual for us. I can't imagine any other innkeeper doing as much for us as they did and we appreciate every effort and gesture.

We felt like we made good friends at the Bahia Del Sol and I would say if you're looking for solitude, this might not be the best place for you. The cornucopia of visitors makes for interesting conversations with real travelers and Jack and Lee always seem to know who to pair people up with for dinners or excursions to enhance the experience for less expense. We highly recommend the Bahia Del Sol!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Del Sol

Address: Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Del Sol 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bahia Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Bocas Town
Bahia Del Sol Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.