We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we came back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Del Sol to your Saves list
Bahia Del Sol
Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“So good we came back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you're going to Isla Colon, I strongly recommend staying here -fifteen minutes from the main town and we felt 100% at home. Aside from being lovely accommodation, Jack and Leigh were the best hosts I've ever had on a holiday. If you don't have a plan/trip sorted for the day, they'll help sort one out and get you picked up from their jetty, and Jack's breakfasts (and jokes) will make sure you have all the energy you need for the day. We stayed three nights, then went across to Bastimentos and stayed somewhere we didn't like and thankfully we were able to come back to Bahia del Sol for another two nights. Jack and Leigh saved (and helped make) our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    54
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
138
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Bahia Del Sol will not disappoint! If you want to get away from the world of smartphones and instant access to outside world that this is the place for you. If you still need to be connected to the outside world then access is there at your fingers. Well worth the price to get away. If you want to snorkel, kayak, take a boat to where ever or just get the inside track to what to do they will help set up or give you onsite access to what you want. A homemade breakfast creation is an everyday morning routine with a fantastic cup of joe too! If you strive for a home away from home then look no further! A friendly staff is waiting to meet your needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Bahia Del Sol. Jack and Lee were wonderful and Jack's breakfasts were awesome (as others have said). We specifically chose this hotel because it was close to the Feria del Mar festival and it was great. We had a wonderful time. The hotel sits right on the water and we loved the sound of the waves at night, there is no better way to fall asleep. This hotel is around a 15 minute walk from Bocas's town center or a 5 minute taxi ride. Make sure to take the bus to Drago beach and eat at the Caribbean restaurant on the beach - amazing food. Say hello to Sophia when you go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was really impressed with our cabin --clean, spacious, and right on the water. The view was amazing, and Jack and Lee provided us with anything we wanted: kayaks, snorkel gear, restaurant recommendations, etc. They were also quick to help us find the best quality/value tours and made breakfast each morning. If we needed to be somewhere, they made sure a cab was waiting at the appointed time.

Bahia Del Sol is a small walk into town, which was a great thing. We could walk or take a cheap cab ride and not be disturbed by the night life when we were at the cabin. The nice thing was that Jack, Lee & staff went out of their way to accomodate us, even with extra requests (beach towel, etc). I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in a low key and extremely fun vacation destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place was fantastic. First of all, the pictures in the advertisements do not deceive, the rooms are beautiful, the view is a serene paradise (I recommend lake side). Second, the "laid back" breakfast is delicious! Jack makes you breakfast whenever you feel like coming downstairs (not like other places where breakfast begins and ends at predetermined times). Breakfast was always my favorite part of the day:). They had great advice on what to do and where to go in Boca's and made all our reservations for us, always making sure we were being taken care of and that our taxi's and tour guides took care of us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carteret, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here in late May. The house is not on the main strip but don't worry, you can walk or catch a dollar cab. I absolutely loved staying at Bahia del Sol. My girlfriend did not want to leave ( and neither did I) but we had other countries to visit. Jack and Lee are such a wonderful host and hostess. Everything that I read about Jack’s famous breakfasts was true. But what really makes them well-liked and successful is that they will go out of their way to make sure that they help you with information from restaurants to traveling. My next destination was San Jose and I wasn’t sure of the best means of transportation to get there. Jack called up a reliable friend who met us at Almirante and drove us to Changuinola for the bus to Costa Rica. One piece of advice: if you have time, sit down with Jack and let him talk about how to be successful in business. I feel like I got more value out of him than my MBA education.

Room Tip: Room 5 and the room on the back end on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Unfortunately we only had one night in Bocas del Toro (damn American vacation policies) but Lee and Jack made it both memorable and worthwhile. They offered us excellent advice as to what to do with our short time in Bocas, and help make arrangements on the fly to make our stay great.

Breakfast was great, and rooms are clean and comfortable. There is nothing like waking up and coming downstairs to look out over the water to the mountains.

I would highly, highly recommend Bahia Del Sol to any and all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Del Sol

Address: Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Bocas Town
Bahia Del Sol Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.