We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts and a relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Del Sol

Save Saved
You added Bahia Del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahia Del Sol
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Double Suite
Ranked #1 of 23 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hosts and a relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is probably the best place to stay if you want to be close to the action, yet far enough to get a solid nights rest. We rented the room the casa right next to the main house at Bahia Del Sol. For 70$/night it was a steal. The room overlooked the water and was very rustic chic. Also, we had tons of hot water...so nothing to worry about there.

Jack is an amazing cook. The breakfasts were like dining at a delish restaurant each AM.

This place is highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    52
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
127
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

If you want to be close to good restaurants, bars and fun but still be able to relax and just stare at the ocean and enjoy the nature this is the place for you.
We especially enjoyed the sundowners with a glas of wine on our own private deck, ideal way to relax after a full active day.
Besides that, the good home made breakfast by jack and coffee served by Lee is a nice way to start your day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

After two nights at Koko Resort I was wishing I could move right in and stay forever. The cabinas are situated a short distance away from town where it's incredibly quiet and private. You can sleep with all the windows open and enjoy the nice sea breeze while you are lulled to sleep by the water below you. The breakfast is OUTSTANDING, and the service from Jack and Leigh is equally as wonderful. I can't wait to go back on my next visit to Bocas.

Room Tip: All cabinas are on the water and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed in the mastersuite for 4 nights. I absolutely loved the jacuzzi on the balcony with the stunning view of the bay. Its a bit hot without AC but fans helps. Also a bit noisy at night with dogs barking. The owners are a very helpfull couple that can arrange whatever you like to do.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Staying in Saigon Bay means you're out of the craziness of downtown Bocas Del Toro, but you can reach it with a 60 cent cab ride. Bahia Del Sol owners, Jack & Lee, facilitate your every interest. Need a restaurant? Their recommendations on a Sunday when most places are closed, Pescado or Lemon Grass, are inspired. Want a boat tour that includes dolphin-watching, snorkeling, lunch, and swimming? They hook you up with JamPan and, if you're lucky, Moses as a captain.
Bahia Del Sol is a funky two story house on the water with clean, comfortable rooms, private baths (endless hot water), killer breakfasts and a back deck overlooking the water. You can swim or kayak from the adjoining dock and the sunsets from the deck are magnificent. For news hungry North Americans, CNN plays nonstop on the widescreen in the living room.
This is a real Panamanian neighborhood and It's noisy and chaotic, so if you need a pristine, sanitized hotel, it's not for you. But if you want to experience more, book here.

Room Tip: Our room faced the neighborhood and had a sitting room with wide. Screen TV and an extra bed as all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're in Bocas! A 10 minute walk from the center of Bocas town, this hotel is right on the water. We had booked a twin room, but to our surprise the room had 2 double beds, and they were even in separate bits of the room, with a door separating them, giving us extra privacy.

The couple running this restaurant make you feel right at home. We arrived very early in the morning, and while we waited for our room Jack offered us his brilliant breakfast. He and his wife were always giving us all the information we needed, and the way the hotel is laid out you often get to chat with your fellow guests, which adds to feeling "home".

It's hard to pick any negatives here. Yes, the water turns warm very slowly, but we found that everywhere in Panama & Costa Rica, even in the best hotels. And you might wanna bring some ear plugs, as the doors are "open" (no worries, you can close and lock them).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My 2 friends and I stayed at Bahia Del Sol for 4 nights during Carnival. We were greeted and caravaned to the B&B by Jack. We were given a beautiful room in the main house for the first night and then we were moved to a large two bedroom suite for the remainder of our trip. Both rooms were large, comfortable and clean.
Breakfast prepared each morning was delicious and plentyful. From eggs to tropical fruit to pancakes... we ate it all up and it held us through the day. This really made the cost of the hotel even better.
The B&B is a 20 minute walk into town and taxis were very cheap and easy to catch. Our hosts had wonderful suggestions for where to eat, what boat tours to go on, where to get spa treatments. Jack and Lee have many friends around the island and made sure we got the best treatment and deals possible.
The Bahia honestly made me feel right at home and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Del Sol

Address: Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Del Sol 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Bocas Town
Bahia Del Sol Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.