We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bocas del Toro to your Saves list
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“In the middle of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Bocas del Toro is an interesting place. The Hotel Bocas del Toro seemed an oasis in the midst of a busy beach town. Lots of foot traffic outside, but inside it is quiet and so friendly. The staff remembered us after the first day and remembered what we liked to eat and drink. Our room's balcony was over the street. It was wonderful for people watching but a bit noisy when the bars let out. We used the activity agent right across the street, and she was able to wave at us when our ride arrived for our excursions. The hotel was clean and neat. They even made sure we could have breakfast on the day of our departure before our ride for the airport came. Definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
When it's time to escape the hustle and bustle, Hotel Bocas del Toro is the perfect oasis. Our friendly staff is ready to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    62
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
104
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hotel Bocas del Toro was the best stay of our entire vacation. It's centrally located and and close to everything. It sits on the water overlooking the beautiful scenery. The room was big! We had a queen and two twin beds, great for our family. The hotel was quiet and clean. The hospitality and service was great as well. The only downside I'd say is the restaurant inside of the hotel. The food wasn't good and was overpriced. Other than that, it was a wonderful place!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review! Convenience, comfort and we offer large rooms to accommodate families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This small hotel is just a few doors down from where the water taxi drops you off and is about a 5 minute drive from the airport in Bocas del Toto on Isla Colon. It is central and is located near many of the tour companies, restaurants, and markets. It is also close to the main town square/park. Don't expect a 5 star hotel but the rooms are clean and the window/wall air conditioner, while pretty loud, is effective. I would rather stay at a lower end hotel with a great location like this one than a 5 star resort located away from town. If you are looking for a 5 start resort, this is not it. This is for someone who wants a comfortable room with a great location.

While I was there, I met the owner, Miss Claire, and the bartenders were nice to me. They all speak both English and Spanish so Americans who cannot speak Spanish can get good service.

I also like that they allow late checkout (2 PM) for $40 extra. This will allow you to do something the day you leave and come back and shower before leaving.

Room Tip: I think there are only 11 rooms so I don't know if any one is better than the other. My room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Location is everything! From the front steps of Hotel Bocas del Toro, you're just a few steps away from everything you'll need for a fun island vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Bocas del Toro was a terrific hotel located right in the middle of town and right on the water. With our ocean view balcony we were able to drink in the special feeling of this island. The hotel had a wonderful staff and the Happy Hour Drink specials were unbelievable. When is the last time you had a beer for $1. The room was lovely with a nautical theme.

Room Tip: The ocean view was well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We're happy all the time, not just during Happy Hour! Glad you enjoyed the hotel, the restaurant & bar and of course the beautiful view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because our original hotel was not as advertised (you get the idea). It was ideal. Great location, fabulous, impeccably clean room, amazingly helpful front desk staff and invested owner. We are so thankful they rescued us from our original nightmare of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
To the rescue! Everyone at Hotel Bocas del Toro is glad to help. Thanks for commenting on our great view, friendly staff and 'impeccably' clean room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had a wonderful ocean view room at the Hotel Bocas del Toro. It accommodated the 3 of us quite easily. We loved sitting on the balcony reminiscing over the day's events. Carla, the owner was amazing and showed us some lovely beaches we would never have found on our own. All in all Hotel Bocas del Toro was the highlight of our visit to Panama. In addition, the margaritas at the bar were over the top and I think they were only $6.00. We'd return for another any day! Thanks wonderful staff at Hotel Bocas del Toro for an unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Bocas del Toro. We're so pleased you enjoyed the veranda and the maracuya margaritas! We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Last minute decision to go to Bocas so ended up with an inside room, would have loved one facing the sea however can't complain room was pretty basic but clean and I slept well. I was surprised at the difference in cost and quality compared with Boquete but accommodation is generally more expensive in Bocas. Staff were very friendly and helpful, enjoyed the breakfast, all in all can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, the friendly staff and breakfast in the restaurant. Prices in the islands tend to be more expensive because everything is brought over from the mainland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Address: #2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler's 2014 Gold List ,¨Cuisines & Bars¨, IP App, honored Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar as one of the "Top" Caribbean Bars in the best spots in the world. The Hotel also received TripAdvisor's 2014 "Certificate of Excellence". We've discovered that understated elegance in our Caribbean Wood Design and discerning service are essential. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements. 2013 Hotel Bocas del Toro was chosen and featured in the January issue under ¨Caribbean Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨, for our commitment to Sustainable Tourism over the last 10 years. Bocas del Toro's oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar are unique. Eleven perfectly appointed nautically inspired rooms, displaying thirteen different types of exotic Panamanian hardwoods, custom built furnishings, some with ocean view or town balcony rooms. We invite you to join us and experience the best sustainable boutique hotel in Bocas del Toro, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bocas del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.