We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bocas del Toro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LIMITED TIME SAVINGS 15%
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hotel Bocas del Toro was the best stay of our entire vacation. It's centrally located and and close to everything. It sits on the water overlooking the beautiful scenery. The room was big! We had a queen and two twin beds, great for our family. The hotel was quiet and clean. The hospitality and service was great as well. The only downside I'd say is the restaurant inside of the hotel. The food wasn't good and was overpriced. Other than that, it was a wonderful place!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review! Convenience, comfort and we offer large rooms to accommodate families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    57
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
100
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This small hotel is just a few doors down from where the water taxi drops you off and is about a 5 minute drive from the airport in Bocas del Toto on Isla Colon. It is central and is located near many of the tour companies, restaurants, and markets. It is also close to the main town square/park. Don't expect a 5 star hotel but the rooms are clean and the window/wall air conditioner, while pretty loud, is effective. I would rather stay at a lower end hotel with a great location like this one than a 5 star resort located away from town. If you are looking for a 5 start resort, this is not it. This is for someone who wants a comfortable room with a great location.

While I was there, I met the owner, Miss Claire, and the bartenders were nice to me. They all speak both English and Spanish so Americans who cannot speak Spanish can get good service.

I also like that they allow late checkout (2 PM) for $40 extra. This will allow you to do something the day you leave and come back and shower before leaving.

Room Tip: I think there are only 11 rooms so I don't know if any one is better than the other. My room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Location is everything! From the front steps of Hotel Bocas del Toro, you're just a few steps away from everything you'll need for a fun island vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Bocas del Toro was a terrific hotel located right in the middle of town and right on the water. With our ocean view balcony we were able to drink in the special feeling of this island. The hotel had a wonderful staff and the Happy Hour Drink specials were unbelievable. When is the last time you had a beer for $1. The room was lovely with a nautical theme.

Room Tip: The ocean view was well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We're happy all the time, not just during Happy Hour! Glad you enjoyed the hotel, the restaurant & bar and of course the beautiful view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because our original hotel was not as advertised (you get the idea). It was ideal. Great location, fabulous, impeccably clean room, amazingly helpful front desk staff and invested owner. We are so thankful they rescued us from our original nightmare of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
To the rescue! Everyone at Hotel Bocas del Toro is glad to help. Thanks for commenting on our great view, friendly staff and 'impeccably' clean room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had a wonderful ocean view room at the Hotel Bocas del Toro. It accommodated the 3 of us quite easily. We loved sitting on the balcony reminiscing over the day's events. Carla, the owner was amazing and showed us some lovely beaches we would never have found on our own. All in all Hotel Bocas del Toro was the highlight of our visit to Panama. In addition, the margaritas at the bar were over the top and I think they were only $6.00. We'd return for another any day! Thanks wonderful staff at Hotel Bocas del Toro for an unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Bocas del Toro. We're so pleased you enjoyed the veranda and the maracuya margaritas! We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Last minute decision to go to Bocas so ended up with an inside room, would have loved one facing the sea however can't complain room was pretty basic but clean and I slept well. I was surprised at the difference in cost and quality compared with Boquete but accommodation is generally more expensive in Bocas. Staff were very friendly and helpful, enjoyed the breakfast, all in all can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, the friendly staff and breakfast in the restaurant. Prices in the islands tend to be more expensive because everything is brought over from the mainland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thanks to Danica and the owner Karla for making our one day stay more than just a whirlwind. A surfer dude on the boat ride over told us that it wouldn't cost us more than 50 bucks. Surfer dudes being more dufus dudes that wasn't the case.
The nightly cost was much more, but it didn't matter. Our first point of contact was with Danica, a ten year veteran of the establishment whose demeanor and engish were very impressive. She knew lots about the wooden history of the hotel. Which is its signature; nicely finished moderately wide wood panelling, with a nautical theme.
As we left late in pm to fly back to Panama City, she said it was no problem to use a room to shower off the salt from our day at the beach.
We were fortunate to meet Carla, the lovely owner of the hotel. She queried us extensively of what we thought was good and/or bad of our stay, and we had a frank and honest conversation, that included much interesting anecdotes of her 10 year ownership and Bocas del Toros itself.
Though our stay was short, I would think that this is and will be a long term landmark location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for recognizing Hotel Bocas del Toro as an important landmark. Bocas is surrounded by gorgeous nature and has great nightlife, but It is also steeped in rich history. Our staff are pleased to provide great customer service and speak English as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Address: #2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Boutique Hotel available in the Archipelago of Bocas del Toro offering personalized service tailored in a luxurious fashion but with an atmosphere that makes you feel at home. Located over the ocean on Panama's Caribbean Coast, in the Archipelago of Bocas del Toro, featuring open air dining and bar, accommodations are distinguished by nautical decor in a nautical setting with captivating views of the ocean and adjacent islands, accessible only by boat. Hotel Bocas del Toro features deluxe comfort accommodations with unique Caribbean architecture from exotic hardwood creating a cozy interior space. FACILITIES11 Rooms, including 1 Luxury Ocean View Balcony Suite, 2 Premium Ocean View Balcony Rooms, 4 Premium Town Balcony Rooms and 4 Bocas Standard Rooms, all with WiFi, air condition, flat screen TV, telephone, organic coffee service, amenities. Centrally located, only 5 minutes from the airport.Ocean Front Terrace Restaurant Open Air BarFree WiFi access to Tours, diving and Spa Services upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bocas del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.