We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of my 6 weeks in central america” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bocas del Toro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPRING BREAK $129.00
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The best part of my 6 weeks in central america”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and got a last minute price and was very pleased. Room was on 3rd floor and view was to town which we loved very much. Sun was very hot on water side. Staff are absolutely lovely. Carnival was going on for 3 days of our stay. Very cute. Flying pirates quad rentals are a most. Island was very fun to ride around and see. Starfish beach is a must spend the better part of a day. Take water taxi to Bastimentos really cute and a fun little restaurant for beers and burgers. Take the water taxi's to Isla carenaro too and have lunch at pickled parrot and at lulus also.This area will not be a secret hang out long. It has so much to do and you will not be disappointed with this hotel. Carolyn does the best job along with her staff. This is to me the best place to stay. A tip do not get drunk and eat burger off stand at 2:00 am no matter how hungry or good they smell. I was ill for days and had to antibiotic. Remember this was still our best in the 6 week vacation in central amercia.

Room Tip: there are all types of rooms here to select from. Find whats in you're budget or you can splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    55
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
97
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a charming wooden framed building over the water in Bocas town, we had a town view balcony room that was beautifully decorated in a nautical style. Bocas is a lovely place to stay and this hotel is in the middle of the town and ideally located. The room was comfortable and one of the few paces we stayed with a TV. The only let down was the breakfast, which wasn't very imaginative, so we didn't stay for dinner. Otherwise the staff were friendly and the cocktails tasty!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location is perfect. Everything was clean and neat. Coffee maker in the room didn't work, but that's ok, as friendly as the staff was, I'm sure that if I had said something they would have taken care of it. Staff was super nice and helpful. I upgraded my free breakfast with no problems (huge portion of bacon, eggs, and quality thick toast for just a small price to upgrade from the continental. Hotel was right on the water. Everything was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Unfortunately for some....my job is to travel the World.So there is many places i get to enjoy and visit.But Hotel Bocas Del Toro is a hidden gem.The hotel itself is very charming and impeccably kept.It sits over the water on the edge of the Harbor,where you can see the buzz of everyday life. The locals getting around in their out-board skiffs,taxiing the tourists to nearby islands,bars and restaurants.
I enjoyed sitting on the waters edge in the Hotel,indulging in their famous house cocktail,while the Hummingbirds flew around me.
The town itself is very colorful,the buildings are unique,the locals are very friendly and there is plenty of surf and diving.
Carla the owner was outstanding with her hospitality,and obliging a wealth of information of places to visit and see.
I highly recommend Bocas Town as a must see and Hotel Bocas del Toro a must stay!

Room Tip: Balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this cute little hotel, right on the water in Bocas Town. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go in town. Since the restaurant doesn't open until later in the day, hotel guests can use the lounge chairs at the end of the dock throughout the morning which was a lot of fun! Overall, staying here ended our trip throughout Panama on a great note!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid-june 2013. Great location right on the water. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penngrove, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Terrific service, fantastic view rooms, great restaurant, located right in the middle of Bocas.
Our room could have slept a whole family, three single beds and and a King. Nice large balcony with a great view of the Caribbean.
The entire staff was so helpful and so kind.
I would stay here again for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Town
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town
Address: #2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Boutique Hotel available in the Archipelago of Bocas del Toro offering personalized service tailored in a luxurious fashion but with an atmosphere that makes you feel at home. Located over the ocean on Panama's Caribbean Coast, in the Archipelago of Bocas del Toro, featuring open air dining and bar, accommodations are distinguished by nautical decor in a nautical setting with captivating views of the ocean and adjacent islands, accessible only by boat. Hotel Bocas del Toro features deluxe comfort accommodations with unique Caribbean architecture from exotic hardwood creating a cozy interior space. FACILITIES11 Rooms, including 1 Luxury Ocean View Balcony Suite, 2 Premium Ocean View Balcony Rooms, 4 Premium Town Balcony Rooms and 4 Bocas Standard Rooms, all with WiFi, air condition, flat screen TV, telephone, organic coffee service, amenities. Centrally located, only 5 minutes from the airport.Ocean Front Terrace Restaurant Open Air BarFree WiFi access to Tours, diving and Spa Services upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bocas del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.