We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend HBDT...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bocas del Toro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPRING BREAK $129.00
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommend HBDT...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely spot in the middle of Bocas and right in the heart of the action... The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and really helped me out when I got an infected leg (probably mild gangrene- im going go be ok...) by getting a doctor for me. The foods average but then Panamas hardly a gastronomic delight, but its clean and not too ecpensive, certainly up there in Bocas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    55
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
98
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solvang, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful, Caribbean style hotel built over the water. English speaking staff are very friendly and helpful. I suggest you try the Jonny cake hamburger in their restaurant. A unique, locally made bread used to house a delicious burger with all the trimmings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent 5 nights with my family of 5 at this hotel only because they have an 8-day cancellation policy. I showed them my confirmation email which did not include this policy, but they accused me of some how cutting it off the email !?! The hotel is clean but no cleaner than the other hotels we looked at. It is in "downtown" Bocas (loud at night), but worst of all , the beds are lumpy and not comfortable. The rooms have window air conditioners so in the room I shared with my husband, one of us had cold air blowing on us all night or the other was too hot to sleep. My three kids were in a triple that was so small that with the beds and suitcases, they could barely move around. The hotel is okay, you can do worse, but, for the money, you can definitely do better. For the money we spent, we could have booked a 2-bedroom villa at Red Frog Beach Resort or 2 much more spacious rooms at Playa Tortuga (not in town but on the beach and only $2 taxi ride to town) I think the owner likes to give the impression of truly caring, but she's as cutthroat about making a buck as everyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wold, General Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hotel Bocas del Toro appreciates all reviews from our guests. We are sorry this guest had an unhappy experience. The Team at Hotel Bocas del Toro continues, without pause, to always give our guests the benefit of the doubt. In this case, we could not pass on this benefit.

Reservations were made three months in advance for two rooms for five days during peak season. Our reservation cancellation policy is on the hotel website where the Online Reservation was made, including three emails sent. There was no reason, nor would the hotel staff accuse the guest of cutting it off. The guest had ample time to better research a two bed villa at Red Frog or two rooms at Playa Tortuga for a family of five.

Our boutique hotel supports 15 Bocateranian families in our commitment to Sustainable Tourism by hiring only island staff. Their livelihoods & wellbeing depend on Hotel Bocas del Toro, not on the whim of a guest’s last minute decision. Bocas del Toro is a destination retreat. The guest neglected to mention the hotel offered two different plans of significant savings, while offering to make reservations elsewhere, for the last minute cancellation request during peak season. They declined both offers, one at a savings of 75%.

In spite of the guest threatening and disrespecting our staff, it is Hotel Bocas del Toro’s policy to accommodate even the most difficult patrons. The guests were provided with complimentary cocktails and appetizer, and we made every effort to insure a comfortable stay. We are sorry these efforts were not successful, however we do not believe this review accurately reflects our hotels commitment to quality customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very helpful owner and staff. Loved the location which was in the center of town and we could walk anywhere we wanted as well as catch a water taxi when we wanted to venture out a little further. The nightly festival in the park was lots of fun and packed with people listening to music and visiting the shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This charming hotel more than met our expectations. The staff was very helpful, even helping friends of ours in town for the day, get transportation to the airport. Attention to detail is apparent everywhere, whether relaxing in our room, or on the water front restaurant deck. Proprietress Carla, was so helpful, suggesting outings and adventures, which we would not have discovered without her. Breakfast is included and a variety of items are available, fresh juices, omelets, fresh fruit and more. We stayed for 4 days all total, and dined at their restaurant 3 of the 4, preferring it to any place else we came across in town. Whether on a romantic get away, or a family stay, I highly recommend this quaint, but elegant hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel with excellent lobster, serene views of Boca harbor and my daughter and I had lovely foot massages and pedicures of our balcony -each an hour or more long both for $25 !!

I'd come back!

Room Tip: definitely get a balcony or penthouse room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Personnel especially front desk is friendly and helpful. This hotel has a well earned reputation that you may be a little more for but you can be assured of a clean, costumer first experience. The location is great and the rooms are lovely and the bathrooms meet US traveler expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Town
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town
Address: #2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Boutique Hotel available in the Archipelago of Bocas del Toro offering personalized service tailored in a luxurious fashion but with an atmosphere that makes you feel at home. Located over the ocean on Panama's Caribbean Coast, in the Archipelago of Bocas del Toro, featuring open air dining and bar, accommodations are distinguished by nautical decor in a nautical setting with captivating views of the ocean and adjacent islands, accessible only by boat. Hotel Bocas del Toro features deluxe comfort accommodations with unique Caribbean architecture from exotic hardwood creating a cozy interior space. FACILITIES11 Rooms, including 1 Luxury Ocean View Balcony Suite, 2 Premium Ocean View Balcony Rooms, 4 Premium Town Balcony Rooms and 4 Bocas Standard Rooms, all with WiFi, air condition, flat screen TV, telephone, organic coffee service, amenities. Centrally located, only 5 minutes from the airport.Ocean Front Terrace Restaurant Open Air BarFree WiFi access to Tours, diving and Spa Services upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bocas del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.