We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend HBDT...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bocas del Toro to your Saves list
Hotel Bocas del Toro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #2 Calle | No 2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SPECIAL SAVINGS
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Highly recommend HBDT...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely spot in the middle of Bocas and right in the heart of the action... The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and really helped me out when I got an infected leg (probably mild gangrene- im going go be ok...) by getting a doctor for me. The foods average but then Panamas hardly a gastronomic delight, but its clean and not too ecpensive, certainly up there in Bocas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    71
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
127
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solvang, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful, Caribbean style hotel built over the water. English speaking staff are very friendly and helpful. I suggest you try the Jonny cake hamburger in their restaurant. A unique, locally made bread used to house a delicious burger with all the trimmings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent 5 nights with my family of 5 at this hotel only because they have an 8-day cancellation policy. I showed them my confirmation email which did not include this policy, but they accused me of some how cutting it off the email !?! The hotel is clean but no cleaner than the other hotels we looked at. It is in "downtown" Bocas (loud at night), but worst of all , the beds are lumpy and not comfortable. The rooms have window air conditioners so in the room I shared with my husband, one of us had cold air blowing on us all night or the other was too hot to sleep. My three kids were in a triple that was so small that with the beds and suitcases, they could barely move around. The hotel is okay, you can do worse, but, for the money, you can definitely do better. For the money we spent, we could have booked a 2-bedroom villa at Red Frog Beach Resort or 2 much more spacious rooms at Playa Tortuga (not in town but on the beach and only $2 taxi ride to town) I think the owner likes to give the impression of truly caring, but she's as cutthroat about making a buck as everyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wold, General Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hotel Bocas del Toro appreciates all reviews from our guests. We are sorry this guest had an unhappy experience. The Team at Hotel Bocas del Toro continues, without pause, to always give our guests the benefit of the doubt. In this case, we could not pass on this benefit.

Reservations were made three months in advance for two rooms for five days during peak season. Our reservation cancellation policy is on the hotel website where the Online Reservation was made, including three emails sent. There was no reason, nor would the hotel staff accuse the guest of cutting it off. The guest had ample time to better research a two bed villa at Red Frog or two rooms at Playa Tortuga for a family of five.

Our boutique hotel supports 15 Bocateranian families in our commitment to Sustainable Tourism by hiring only island staff. Their livelihoods & wellbeing depend on Hotel Bocas del Toro, not on the whim of a guest’s last minute decision. Bocas del Toro is a destination retreat. The guest neglected to mention the hotel offered two different plans of significant savings, while offering to make reservations elsewhere, for the last minute cancellation request during peak season. They declined both offers, one at a savings of 75%.

In spite of the guest threatening and disrespecting our staff, it is Hotel Bocas del Toro’s policy to accommodate even the most difficult patrons. The guests were provided with complimentary cocktails and appetizer, and we made every effort to insure a comfortable stay. We are sorry these efforts were not successful, however we do not believe this review accurately reflects our hotels commitment to quality customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very helpful owner and staff. Loved the location which was in the center of town and we could walk anywhere we wanted as well as catch a water taxi when we wanted to venture out a little further. The nightly festival in the park was lots of fun and packed with people listening to music and visiting the shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This charming hotel more than met our expectations. The staff was very helpful, even helping friends of ours in town for the day, get transportation to the airport. Attention to detail is apparent everywhere, whether relaxing in our room, or on the water front restaurant deck. Proprietress Carla, was so helpful, suggesting outings and adventures, which we would not have discovered without her. Breakfast is included and a variety of items are available, fresh juices, omelets, fresh fruit and more. We stayed for 4 days all total, and dined at their restaurant 3 of the 4, preferring it to any place else we came across in town. Whether on a romantic get away, or a family stay, I highly recommend this quaint, but elegant hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel with excellent lobster, serene views of Boca harbor and my daughter and I had lovely foot massages and pedicures of our balcony -each an hour or more long both for $25 !!

I'd come back!

Room Tip: definitely get a balcony or penthouse room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Personnel especially front desk is friendly and helpful. This hotel has a well earned reputation that you may be a little more for but you can be assured of a clean, costumer first experience. The location is great and the rooms are lovely and the bathrooms meet US traveler expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Address: #2 Calle | No 2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bocas del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly upgrade high speed internet along with Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar honored as one of the "Top" Caribbean Bars in the best spots in the world on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, ¨Cuisines & Bars, IPAPP. The Hotel consistently receives TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence". We've discovered that understated elegance in our Caribbean Wood Design and superior service are essential. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements. 2013 Hotel Bocas del Toro was chosen and featured in the Conde Nast Traveler January issue under ¨Caribbean Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨, for our commitment to Sustainable Tourism over the last 11 years. Bocas del Toro's oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar are unique to this island paradise. Eleven perfectly appointed nautically inspired rooms, displaying thirteen different types of exotic Panamanian hardwoods, custom built furnishings, some with ocean view or town balcony rooms. We invite you to join us for a memorable experience at the best sustainable boutique hotel in Bocas del Toro, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bocas del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.