We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bocas del Toro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LIMITED TIME SAVINGS 15%
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Boquete, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Adorable Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Each time my husband and I visit Bocas Town we choose this hotel. The first time we went to Bocas, I studied the travel guides to make sure I would choose the kind of hotel that would fit the budget we had and have all of the amenities that we enjoy when we travel. Hotel Bocas del Toro fit our needs perfectly. It is right on Main street and also on the water. Our stay was just lovely. The entire hotel is so cute and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included and this is a full american breakfast that you eat in their restaurant which is really a huge dock! Just so nice to be sitting outside over the water in the sunshine sipping coffee and eating a great meal. Each visit we have always been pleased and we will keep choosing this hotel because we have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Views on the water side are do die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    57
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
102
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 4 nights at this wonderful boutique hotel, located in the heart of Bocas Town. We spent 2 nights in a premium room with a town-view balcony and 2 nights in a premium room with an ocean-view balcony. Both rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. We greatly enjoyed relaxing on the balconies after day trips to the surrounding beaches – we preferred the beautiful views of the ocean, but also enjoyed the people watching on our two nights in the town-balcony. Accordingly, we would definitely recommend getting a room with a balcony, even though they are a bit pricier. However, generally speaking, there are lots of hotels on the water, so there are likely better values-for-money in Bocas Town. We had a great experience though at Hotel Bocas, so the rooms were well worth the price.

The staff was a huge help in organizing tours and giving us information about how to get back and forth from different areas in the archipelago. Our favorite spot was Boca del Drago, where the beach is not crowded, the water is a beautiful color, and you can spot lots of starfish. Prospective travelers should know that there is no beach in Bocas Town itself, but taking day trips is easy to organize and inexpensive (most sites are about 15-45 minutes away). We thought that this was the best of both worlds because the town was a fun place to wander around, but the distance between the town and the sites made the beaches less crowded and more fun to explore. At many times we felt like we had an entire jungle beach to ourselves. The bartender at the hotel was also quite friendly and we enjoyed talking to him and learning about the island. We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Bocas del Toro. The staff was extremely helpful in every way. They went above and beyond our expectations of what it would be usual service. Do not go anywhere else but Hotel Bocas del Toro. The owner and her staff are the best in town.

:-)

Room Tip: Get the rooms with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We just left the Bocas del Toro hotel after a great week. The staff and the American owner Carla could not have been kinder or more helpful. Rooms are nicely decorated, plenty of hot water and cold ac. Very clean. View over the water magnificent. Coffee maker in room made it worthwhile to watch morning sunrise. Great bar happy hour finished off our days at Red frog or Zapatilla beaches.
Regarding Bocas town
dont expect playa del carmen or Cancun. Restraunts are small but serve good food. Best pasta may be at Carlas hotel resteraunt. Ignor Drago or playa estrella. Little to buy, so enjoy the beaches and relax. If you are lucky Carla may extend happy hour at the BDT hotel bar.



  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have visited Bocas many times. This hotel is first class. The staff is awesome, the rooms are spotless, the beds.., oh the beds are so luxurious! After playing all day, it is pampered paradise to come home to the hotel and fall into such an inviting, first class environment!

When you enter the hotel, the lobby and restaurant area radiate with the most beautiful, perfectly cared for hard wood floors, walls & furniture. This carries out throughout the entire hotel and into the rooms.

The pride and professionalism of ownership and staff really shows throughout this hotel and its service.
Thanks to the whole staff for making my stay in Bocas so wonderful- as before. It just keeps getting better!
Rebecca

Room Tip: The best rooms in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a great stay. It is centrally located yet quiet. Very comfortable room and extremely helpful and friendly staff. I appreciated the access to restaurant menus, Miami Herald newspaper, coffee in the room for early risers. The hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Bocas del Toro for one night with my boyfriend. We stayed during the Feria Del Mar, which is a festival they have every year.. food, crafts, souvenirs, and discos set up on the main beach on Isla Colon in Bocas. Because of this festival Panama was a little bit more crowded, and therefore prices were more expensive. I loved the design and architecture of the hotel, made of beautiful wood, on the water. They have a restaurant, and a bar area, plus breakfast is included. Breakfast was eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee or tea.

The room was clean and comfortable, but I think for the area, it was a little bit dated and small for the price you pay compared to other hotels close by. That being said, the location can't be beat. You are close to all of the best restaurants/bars and activities.

All of the receptionists were very nice and helpful, and one of them helped us book a taxi to Boca del Drago and Playa Estrella for the day. I highly recommend doing this! It's about a 1 hr drive to the other side of the island, but Playa Estrella has beautiful crystal clear waters, you can see starfish, there are several local restaurants on the beach as well. We went out on a small boat to a coral reef close by and snorkeled for awhile.

All in all it was a great trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Address: #2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Boutique Hotel available in the Archipelago of Bocas del Toro offering personalized service tailored in a luxurious fashion but with an atmosphere that makes you feel at home. Located over the ocean on Panama's Caribbean Coast, in the Archipelago of Bocas del Toro, featuring open air dining and bar, accommodations are distinguished by nautical decor in a nautical setting with captivating views of the ocean and adjacent islands, accessible only by boat. Hotel Bocas del Toro features deluxe comfort accommodations with unique Caribbean architecture from exotic hardwood creating a cozy interior space. FACILITIES11 Rooms, including 1 Luxury Ocean View Balcony Suite, 2 Premium Ocean View Balcony Rooms, 4 Premium Town Balcony Rooms and 4 Bocas Standard Rooms, all with WiFi, air condition, flat screen TV, telephone, organic coffee service, amenities. Centrally located, only 5 minutes from the airport.Ocean Front Terrace Restaurant Open Air BarFree WiFi access to Tours, diving and Spa Services upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bocas del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.