We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia
Calle 3a. y Ave. A, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Boquete, Panama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Impossible to sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

There was a lot of history there. Originally,it was home to the American Fruit Co. It was built in 1904 as their offices. The building itself is all wooden construction,so you will here people next door and in the hallway.

La Iguana music played very load,disco,thumping music from 1000 pm until 330 am. we are unable to sleep. I actually got dressed,went down to the street, It was impossible to stay in bed.. Then there are the locals at Bocas Barnaq,just below us, as well. So....been the two issues it was VERY,maybe even extremely noisy. The locals were only noisy till about 2 am. LOL.

We switch rooms the next morning. Management is apparently,and without success, trying to deal with the problem at the La Iguana.
It helped....a little. I would never stay here again because of that. Even toilet paper in the ears and covering with a pillow did not help. Drink lots. It may help you sleep.

There were some good things. The staff was wonderful,the breakfast was great and the rooms were very comfortable and clean..but...

Room Tip: Do not expect to sleep from 10 till 330 if La Iguana is open Do not take room 210 even though it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    16
    9
    1
See reviews for
10
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

This former United Fruit Company office is renovated in the spirit of the town with colourful fabrics and original oak floors. The front desk staff helpfully provided some useful local knowledge regarding restaurants and tours. For $2 you can get a towel for a day trip to the beach. The hotel is convenient to everything in town, including a loud night club across the street. Take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. Our only criticism is the breakfast which didn't include much protein (eggs, yogurt).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

So, my boyfriend and I travelled into Panama and stayed in this hotel on a package we organized in Costa Rica. The rest of our trip was rustic so this was definitely a luxury to stay here. The location is central, but it's a small town so everything is. The hotel itself was beautiful, boutique-y and clean. The building is very old but was well maintained, the wood a vibrant turquoise and accents of white and yellows.

There is cold, clean drinking water, hot water showers, a little balcony (non-smoking), TV in-room, wifi and complimentary breakfast which was eaten on the porch overlooking the water. The beds were very clean and comfortable. I can't remember if there's housekeeping but I think there was (who cares though, am I right?)
It was so charming here, the staff was kind and just really relaxing vibe overall.

There's so much to do in Bocas Town as far and food & beverage goes and nightlife. Tons of excursions to do at neighbouring islands but it was so vibrant here, my favourite thing to do was walk the streets.

I don't remember the exact cost as it was part of the package but somewhere around $100 a night. It was so worth it for the comfort and it was seriously the best part of my trip.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

In general this is a good hotel. It is located at the end of the.main street so its not too noisy even if the street is busy. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff was polite and willing to help. Breakfast was continental so toasts and cheese with coffee.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Last Summer I visited Bocas with my Family(Mom, Dad, Brother, Sister & 1 Cousin) and looking for a well located, good quality but no so expensive option we stayed at Gran Hotel Bahia which was just a few steps away from our Landing Boat Pier. The Rooms are so spacious and well design that we just had room enough to relax. Breakfast every morning at the upper terrace with a great view of the Bocas Bay like calling you to go out and enjoy. Services was great and our Hosts were so friendly and helpful to arrange tours that we consider them part of the family now! when going out at late night you will be provided with the front door key because will be closed for security after 21:00h but we had no problems with this. just an amazing time right at Down Town Bocas del Toro.

Room Tip: All Rooms are Good but the 2nd Floor Rooms are closer to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in two different hotels in Bocas. This one and also Hotel Bocas Town. Both properties locked the front door after about 9:00 pm. This was a little unnerving as it meant we were literally LOCKED IN!! the front door of the Gran Bahia Hotel had a very temperamental deadbolt and it took a few minutes of fiddling with the key to open it! Pretty scary to imagine trying to get out in a hurry in case of fire!
Beds were comfy, but the bedding left a little something to be desired. Rough, rather scratchy yellow bedspread. It was certainly not conducive to sitting. Room was clean and basic. Bathroom was small with minimal room in front of the toilet. Shower was a good size. This is apparently one of the oldest properties in Bocas so pretty well maintained when taking its age into consideration.

Room Tip: We were in room#105, right off the "so-called" lobby. The location was handy as we avoided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Beautiful place with historic background, very nice and clean rooms, comfortable beds, warm water, perfect located and acceptable breakfast. Recommended to all who are tired of private hostel rooms with no comfort, old beds and loud neighbors next door. Allow yourself some comfort to more than affordable prices!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia

Address: Calle 3a. y Ave. A, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the Southern tip of Third (Main) Street, in a majestic antique wooden building, that has already celebrated its hundredth anniversary and is still standing firm despite the ravages of time and the destructive earthquakes of 1917 and 1991. Built in 1905, it is considered one of the oldest buildings in the area. We offer the 18 most spacious and comfortable rooms, all of them with A/C, WI-Fi connection, Cable TV, safety boxes and private bathroom with hot shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Bocas Town
Gran Hotel Bahia Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.