We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix the front deadbolt!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bahia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahia Hotel
Third Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fix the front deadbolt!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in two different hotels in Bocas. This one and also Hotel Bocas Town. Both properties locked the front door after about 9:00 pm. This was a little unnerving as it meant we were literally LOCKED IN!! the front door of the Gran Bahia Hotel had a very temperamental deadbolt and it took a few minutes of fiddling with the key to open it! Pretty scary to imagine trying to get out in a hurry in case of fire!
Beds were comfy, but the bedding left a little something to be desired. Rough, rather scratchy yellow bedspread. It was certainly not conducive to sitting. Room was clean and basic. Bathroom was small with minimal room in front of the toilet. Shower was a good size. This is apparently one of the oldest properties in Bocas so pretty well maintained when taking its age into consideration.

Room Tip: We were in room#105, right off the "so-called" lobby. The location was handy as we avoided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Beautiful place with historic background, very nice and clean rooms, comfortable beds, warm water, perfect located and acceptable breakfast. Recommended to all who are tired of private hostel rooms with no comfort, old beds and loud neighbors next door. Allow yourself some comfort to more than affordable prices!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

After spending one night in the horrible careening cay we moved to Bahia Hotel and it was a great surprised!. Rooms are nice and clean, with a very comfortable bed, AC working perfectly, clean bathrooms, nice tv. Everything you need! . Breakfast was very good, and is very well located, you can walks everywhere. We strongly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201 and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Great State of Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had such high expectations for this hotel based on the photos on their website. And, I realize that those are professional photos, staged to make the rooms look their best. However, our bathroom did not in any way resemble the bathroom in the photo gallery on the website. First, It looked as if the person who put in our bathroom went to a hardware store and picked up the absolutely cheapest possible components possible (e.g., a plastic shower head that spewed water in all directions and could not be adjusted in any way, cheap plastic towel racks), he then installed the fixtures not caring if things were straight/lined up properly. Then, housekeeping barely breezed through the cleaning. Throw in threadbare and stained towels and numerous stains on the wall that should have been removed or painted over. The bathroom was at most one star.

Wifi did not work in the room, we had to go sit by the office. I had to stay in touch with my business at home, so I'd asked when I made the reservation if Wifi would work in our room and the answer had been yes.

We had pretty colorful coverlets on the beds, but they were very thin, not much thicker than a flannel sheet. Which was totally insufficient when we turned on the AC. Which we had to use to cool the room and drown out the noise from the hotel next door. There were no blankets in the room, so I had to get out of bed and put on extra clothes to sleep in.

Such a shame. This is a gorgeous building with such sweet architecture. Too bad the owners have tried to cut corners and not make the investments (decent bathroom fixtures, clean towels, blankets) to make this a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I made a last minute booking during the Panamanian "festive season", so hotels were very difficult to obtain after New Year's celebrations. The receptionist over the phone was able to accommodate me for 2 of the 3 nights that I needed, so with little option, that's what I did.

The owner Tito, graciously picked up my sister and I from the airport in a van and transported us to the hotel. The building has a very long and rich history (over 100 years old). Having been converted to a hotel in the late 1960's, it has retained a distinctly colonial feel, but has certainly seen better days.

The room was very basic with a double bed and a single bed. The mini-split A/C unit worked fine and the shower had descent pressure and hot water. The furnishings and fixtures are old, but VERY CLEAN and functional.

WiFi was free and worked pretty well on my laptop, but the signal was not strong enough for to be picked up by my iPhone. The free continental breakfast is just that, very spartan, but tasty. It consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, bread, cold cuts, etc. Again, nothing special, just adequate.

The location can't be beat! It is at one end of the main street with lots of shops and restaurants to choose from. Keep in mind that Bocas is very much "bohemian" and "hippie"... attracting mostly the surfer / diver / backpacker crowd. Things are VERY LAID BACK!

Upon check-out, the owner graciously took us to the other side of the island to our other hotel (since he was fully booked for the last night that we had in Bocas). This was a very nice gesture. These hotel operators all know each other as this is a very small and close knit community for the locals.

Keep these things in mind and set your expectations accordingly.

Overall it was a good experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Unfriendly service.
Bugs in room.
Very expensive for what it is.
Stayed in a few hotels in Bocas. This was by far the worst value.
Would not recommend to a friend. Went out of my way to write review so people would know not to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetBocas, Gerente at Bahia Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello.
I wrote directly to you a couple weeks ago, trying to find out, exactly, which room you were and what happened during your stay, but haven't received any further information from you.
We would really like to know what did you experienced. Additionally, I, personally, ran an inspection of several rooms and haven't find bugs of any type, so if you can let me know what room you were I would really appreciate it. You can email me to gerencia@ghbahia.com
We take our guests feedback very seriously, but will need a more detailed account to be able to correct any wrongdoing.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good hotel with clean and airy rooms and very good service.in the center of Bocas town. Staff is very helpful to find respectable tour operators. Price is reasonable for the size of the room. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel

Address: Third Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the Southern tip of Third (Main) Street, in a majestic antique wooden building, that has already celebrated its hundredth anniversary and is still standing firm despite the ravages of time and the destructive earthquakes of 1917 and 1991. Built in 1905, it is considered one of the oldest buildings in the area. We offer the 18 most spacious and comfortable rooms, all of them with A/C, WI-Fi connection, Cable TV, safety boxes and private bathroom with hot shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bahia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Bocas Town
Bahia Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.