We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and simple but small and uncomfortable beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 3a. y Ave. A, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“clean and simple but small and uncomfortable beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we checked in with no problem, staff is semi-friendly. they offer breakfast included with hotel stay, but only for 2 hours (7-9am): coffee, milk, cereal, fruit, ham/cheese, toast. Very clean and no mold smell. AC worked perfect. Hotel charges beach towels fee, not much but they charge without telling you. Hotel is nice and quiet. The bed was more of a full size than the queen size they said it was. overall hotel is nice, historic along with charming, stayed upstairs and it was nice and quiet.
Bocas had no water and electricity for a few hours the 2 nights we stayed. So cold showers are not appealing with rain and dampness in the island. Thye don't know why they don't have it or when they will get it back but it came back.
Would this be my favorite destination or coming here in the near future...NO....too much rain, damp. frankly it seems like it is not in the caribean sea. Temperatures dropped. A must bring: bug repelent, rain coat, umbrella. I rather go to the caribean islands than this place. The smoking nightclubs are a pain too you choke on smoke and they don't seem to adhere to the no smoking in indoors law.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
13
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in both an upstairs ( renovated) and downstairs ( unrenovated) room. Downstairs room was dark and musty. It also had a weird air fresher thing that would spray stuff periodically. We lost power I. The whole hotel lost power one morning and the darkness made it very difficult to find anything as we packed up to move rooms. The upstairs room was light and airy. Night and day difference. Best night we had in bocas. The hotel is on the quiet end of town so that's a huge plus too. Breakfast is minimal and they basically ran out of food one day. But overall a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just returned from a quick business trip to Bocas and had the good fortune to stay at the Gran Bahia Hotel. The owner Tito is a real class act. The hotel is very well maintained. The place was spotless. This is the only hotel on Bocas with a room for handicapped individuals. Every year in June they renovate two rooms. There was hot water on demand in the showers which was refreshing after a day of salt water and sea spray. It is located directly across from a couple of water taxi companies which is convenient and at the end of the main street in town where all the shopping and restaurants are located on the island. Breakfast is served on the upstairs balcony. Water coolers with cold water can be found on each floor. There are air conditioners in each room and some rooms have flat screen TV's. There are also in room safes. There is a shuttle for pickups at the airport and the staff was helpful and pleasant. Will definately be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was convenient. None of the rooms have a water view but you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very charming historic property. The building dates back to 1905, original Bocas headquarters of United Fruit Company. Recently refurbished, the building still preserves the original Caribbean architecture. The staff was very helpful and friendly specially the owner Tito who knows everything about Bocas del Toro.
My room had a fridge, a sofa, flat screen TV, A/C. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed one night, the staff was so nice they helped us look up information around the area. You can't find nicer people around. We felt, to stay in a piece of history this well kept, it was a great value. We were quoted $175 just next door and this was in the $85 range here. Breakfast was small but just right and on the upper balcony with a wonderful view of the boats and other islands. Not sure how anyone can complain about anything here as our experience was great. This is a super clean cute place to stay with an amazing staff, hope to return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my boyfriend because I was delayed in leaving the island. The rooms were large but very basic and dark. Seemed a little bit stale. The toilet in our room clogged up which was a bit gross. Staff were friendly enough. Overall it was fine, but there are better places for cheaper rates. Probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in August 2011 for 5 nights. The location is very close to everything and it's fun to stay in a historical building but there are some things I did not enjoy...
1. The reception people at the front desk were not very friendly even though I spoke to them in Spanish.
2. The walls of the rooms are very dirty and need painting.
3. The music from the club El Canto across the street can be heard inside the room even when the windows are closed.
4. The free breakfast is nice but it's basic and the menu never changes.
5. We only had hot water 50% of the time.
6. The view from our window was a broken down dirty home.

For the price, $67 it was fine for 5 nights. They will offer you a higher rate but if you speak Spanish you can get them down about $20 a night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites
Tropical Suites
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 2 in Carenero Island
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia

Address: Calle 3a. y Ave. A, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the Southern tip of Third (Main) Street, in a majestic antique wooden building, that has already celebrated its hundredth anniversary and is still standing firm despite the ravages of time and the destructive earthquakes of 1917 and 1991. Built in 1905, it is considered one of the oldest buildings in the area. We offer the 18 most spacious and comfortable rooms, all of them with A/C, WI-Fi connection, Cable TV, safety boxes and private bathroom with hot shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Bocas Town
Gran Hotel Bahia Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.