We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bahia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahia Hotel
Third Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Sibenik, Croatia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Class Act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just returned from a quick business trip to Bocas and had the good fortune to stay at the Gran Bahia Hotel. The owner Tito is a real class act. The hotel is very well maintained. The place was spotless. This is the only hotel on Bocas with a room for handicapped individuals. Every year in June they renovate two rooms. There was hot water on demand in the showers which was refreshing after a day of salt water and sea spray. It is located directly across from a couple of water taxi companies which is convenient and at the end of the main street in town where all the shopping and restaurants are located on the island. Breakfast is served on the upstairs balcony. Water coolers with cold water can be found on each floor. There are air conditioners in each room and some rooms have flat screen TV's. There are also in room safes. There is a shuttle for pickups at the airport and the staff was helpful and pleasant. Will definately be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was convenient. None of the rooms have a water view but you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very charming historic property. The building dates back to 1905, original Bocas headquarters of United Fruit Company. Recently refurbished, the building still preserves the original Caribbean architecture. The staff was very helpful and friendly specially the owner Tito who knows everything about Bocas del Toro.
My room had a fridge, a sofa, flat screen TV, A/C. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed one night, the staff was so nice they helped us look up information around the area. You can't find nicer people around. We felt, to stay in a piece of history this well kept, it was a great value. We were quoted $175 just next door and this was in the $85 range here. Breakfast was small but just right and on the upper balcony with a wonderful view of the boats and other islands. Not sure how anyone can complain about anything here as our experience was great. This is a super clean cute place to stay with an amazing staff, hope to return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my boyfriend because I was delayed in leaving the island. The rooms were large but very basic and dark. Seemed a little bit stale. The toilet in our room clogged up which was a bit gross. Staff were friendly enough. Overall it was fine, but there are better places for cheaper rates. Probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in August 2011 for 5 nights. The location is very close to everything and it's fun to stay in a historical building but there are some things I did not enjoy...
1. The reception people at the front desk were not very friendly even though I spoke to them in Spanish.
2. The walls of the rooms are very dirty and need painting.
3. The music from the club El Canto across the street can be heard inside the room even when the windows are closed.
4. The free breakfast is nice but it's basic and the menu never changes.
5. We only had hot water 50% of the time.
6. The view from our window was a broken down dirty home.

For the price, $67 it was fine for 5 nights. They will offer you a higher rate but if you speak Spanish you can get them down about $20 a night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

This is the second time we stayed. Two years ago we satyed here after coming back from other island. This time, our flight got cancelled so we chose this hotel to stay.
Nice old Boca style wooden building is nice and a shared big terrace on second floor is very nice. But room is just ok. What you pay is waht you get. Location is great. So don't expect too much here.
By the way the restaurant across the street from this hotel is excellent with very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

This is the 2nd stay at the hotel but this time is my last visit. The room smelled of urine. The ceiling was freshly painted but a dropcloth was not used so the floor looked polka dotted. In the morning there was no hot water for the shower. The room is poorly furnished and dark. The room rate was $83 and I can only say that I was ripped off. The hotel was built in the early 1900's and it shows. There was a breakfast included which was ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel

Address: Third Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the Southern tip of Third (Main) Street, in a majestic antique wooden building, that has already celebrated its hundredth anniversary and is still standing firm despite the ravages of time and the destructive earthquakes of 1917 and 1991. Built in 1905, it is considered one of the oldest buildings in the area. We offer the 18 most spacious and comfortable rooms, all of them with A/C, WI-Fi connection, Cable TV, safety boxes and private bathroom with hot shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bahia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Bocas Town
Bahia Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.