We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 3a. y Ave. A, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed one night, the staff was so nice they helped us look up information around the area. You can't find nicer people around. We felt, to stay in a piece of history this well kept, it was a great value. We were quoted $175 just next door and this was in the $85 range here. Breakfast was small but just right and on the upper balcony with a wonderful view of the boats and other islands. Not sure how anyone can complain about anything here as our experience was great. This is a super clean cute place to stay with an amazing staff, hope to return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
13
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my boyfriend because I was delayed in leaving the island. The rooms were large but very basic and dark. Seemed a little bit stale. The toilet in our room clogged up which was a bit gross. Staff were friendly enough. Overall it was fine, but there are better places for cheaper rates. Probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in August 2011 for 5 nights. The location is very close to everything and it's fun to stay in a historical building but there are some things I did not enjoy...
1. The reception people at the front desk were not very friendly even though I spoke to them in Spanish.
2. The walls of the rooms are very dirty and need painting.
3. The music from the club El Canto across the street can be heard inside the room even when the windows are closed.
4. The free breakfast is nice but it's basic and the menu never changes.
5. We only had hot water 50% of the time.
6. The view from our window was a broken down dirty home.

For the price, $67 it was fine for 5 nights. They will offer you a higher rate but if you speak Spanish you can get them down about $20 a night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

This is the second time we stayed. Two years ago we satyed here after coming back from other island. This time, our flight got cancelled so we chose this hotel to stay.
Nice old Boca style wooden building is nice and a shared big terrace on second floor is very nice. But room is just ok. What you pay is waht you get. Location is great. So don't expect too much here.
By the way the restaurant across the street from this hotel is excellent with very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

This is the 2nd stay at the hotel but this time is my last visit. The room smelled of urine. The ceiling was freshly painted but a dropcloth was not used so the floor looked polka dotted. In the morning there was no hot water for the shower. The room is poorly furnished and dark. The room rate was $83 and I can only say that I was ripped off. The hotel was built in the early 1900's and it shows. There was a breakfast included which was ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Got to Bocas and went straight to the hotel Bahia...
Was nothing more then OK,
Kinda lame vibe and dark rooms...
Saw some really nice places the next few days when travelling the Island,
As I have already paid it all upfront I got stuck in the Bahia...
Not bad but not too good either...
My advice, check some other places before checking in…

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivoli, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Bahia hotel served our purposes of having somewhere to sleep and eat breakfast. The breakfast was good but Bahia was nothing special, you can find better for the amount of money they charge.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites
Tropical Suites
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 2 in Carenero Island
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia

Address: Calle 3a. y Ave. A, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the Southern tip of Third (Main) Street, in a majestic antique wooden building, that has already celebrated its hundredth anniversary and is still standing firm despite the ravages of time and the destructive earthquakes of 1917 and 1991. Built in 1905, it is considered one of the oldest buildings in the area. We offer the 18 most spacious and comfortable rooms, all of them with A/C, WI-Fi connection, Cable TV, safety boxes and private bathroom with hot shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Bocas Town
Gran Hotel Bahia Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.