We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place for a Honeymoon on a Budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Angela
Save Saved
You added Hotel Angela to your Saves list
North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Place for a Honeymoon on a Budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while on our Honeymoon. For the first night we stayed in room #5, and for the third night, we stayed in the Suite. Both of the rooms were clean, cute, romantic, and had private balconies with nice views. The morning staff here is very helpful and professional. They were very accommodating when we asked for directions and prices for our itinerary. Their breakfast is included in the price and it is pretty good! The servings aren't that big, but you can always ask for seconds. Whenever we came down to the restaurant for breakfast, my husband and I never had to wait more than 5 minutes to be served. The only issues we had with this hotel was that they "lost" our booking confirmations, which we made almost 10 days ahead of time. Luckily, the rooms we wanted were available and we were even given a $25 discount on the Suite. The other issue is that the Suite does NOT have a jacuzzi like it advertises, but a bathtub that barely fits two people. The hot water only lasted about 10 minutes, so it wasn't even worth it to take a bath. There was also a little bit of construction work going on outside, but hopefully this won't last very long because it was NOISY! Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel and would recommend it for people looking for a quaint, cozy, accommodating, place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
51
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. Nice staff, on the water, quiet and clean. You can buy your own beer and hangout in the back by the water. Paid $45 a night. Great place if you are on a budget. Especially if you are not planning on spending the whole time at the hotel. It was really great for what it was. We weren't looking for pool side service so it worked for us.

Room Tip: Best place if you are on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 9 nights...we paid a bit extra for a suite which had more space and a fridge but no balcony which we would have liked.
The room was very clean and there was plenty of hot water...don't think that the bar and restaurant was open but that didn't bother us as we like to eat out...breakfast was ok though.
Good location close to bars and restaurants... We liked the Mana bar which was quite near...great pizzas !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's a great place to stay. We occupied the Suite, a magnificent ocean view, wide enough for us (4 adults), if J have to criticize something.... is breakfast,
Placed in the oceanfront Street, close to everythig, restaurants, caffes.

We also asked for a bota tour, they arrange the tour for us and the boat picked us up in the hotel floating restaurant

Room Tip: Reserve in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in Room 6 and it was good value with a separate 'dining room' with a small table, 2 chairs, a fridge and the TV with windows onto the street. The AC worked well; the shower area was large even if it just had a plastic shower curtain, there generally was ample hot water. However, one reason we picked the hotel was the description of the food: "For your fine dining experience, our restaurant offers a sumptuous feast of delectable seafood, fresh from the bountiful Caribbean sea. Lobster, shrimp, conch, calamari, fish fillets, to name a few, are all excellently prepared, sufficiently succulent to satisfy the most discriminating palates." However, probably due to a reported change in ownership, there was no fresh seafood, no lobster etc. I don't think that any one ate dinner there and I never in 5 days saw anyone drinking at the bar which definitely didn't have "the very best selection of wines and liquors" as stated on the web page.
But for under $70 per night with taxes for 2, it was acceptable.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for Rooms 6, 7 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puero Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

As experienced budget travellers, we feel compelled to give an honest review about this hotel. Our family of 4 stayed for 3 nights in hotel Angela. Our room looked pretty much like a cell, with hardly any visibility towards the outside world. Nights were noisy as we were too close to the reception. The head of staff seemed to lack the elementary rules of politeness. And the best of all is that there is no breakfast on Friday: day off for the cook, nobody else around to make scrambled eggs!

It may have been a good place ten years ago, but the atmosphere is definitely gone and guidebooks should update their reviews.

Room Tip: not number 5 nor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in Room 3. We probably should have paid a little more to stay in a nicer room.

Pros: Good location, nice breakfast area. A/C, TV, some staff helpful although the manner was somewhat business-like and cold

Cons: Every corner had what appeared to be 50 yr-old accumulation of dirt. Leakage in the bathroom ceiling(notified the hotel but nothing was done). Stains on the wall. No division between the shower and the bedroom other than a thin moldy curtain – made a puddle of water in the the bedroom floor when shower was used. The room was so small that two of us could not pass each other comfortably.

Room Tip: Room 1,2,3 are the cheapest therefore the most poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.