We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Caribean style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swan's Cay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swan's Cay Hotel to your Saves list
Swan's Cay Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Jaco, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Caribean style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Cozy room and old fashion antillas islands style lobby and dinning room. Staff is general is friendly. The price are really good and the food excellent and very local wish is great for the island style life. Tours we did were outstanding.

Room Tip: Room with view to the main street are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
15
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 3 days. The hotel itself is nice and has a very nice ambience inside and out. Upon arrival we were given the keys to the room. The breakfast room was also nice and breakast was very good.

1. The security safe ONLY works with the keys which you have to leave at reception when you leave the premises, basically your stuff is at their mercy. The digital locks didn't work at all.

2. On the pillow we found some little balls of wood, presumably wood worm on the ceiling. The rest of the room was in order but they should have made sure the bed was also in top condition.

We were charged full price for the room all three nights but got less than what is advertised on their website:

3. The pool was not in service as they were remodeling. We couldn't enjoy the pool after the beach.

4. They said WiFi is available but it is NOT. You can connect to their internal WiFi network BUT that network has NO CONNECTION TO THE OUTSIDE WORLD (INternet). Basically useless. I talked to the people on the reception SEVERAL times and showed them it wasn't working (I am an IT specialist) but they kindly refused to take action saying they didn't know how to do that.

Considering WiFi wasn't working and the pool wasn't either, I feel we should have been charged a discounted rate. We were charged the normal rate shown on the board.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had two nights and the room we had was newly remodeled with a nice TV but the internet upstairs is very weak. In the lobby is a good connection. A little trouble some that no one told us of the places have different codes. At this time the pool is out and nosey in the day hours for I suppose remodeling. The staff and breakfast very nice..
All in all the nights rest was pleasant.

Room Tip: Sorry I am not sure what would help. We were on an outside room and if the pool was in shape that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I purchased a 2-night stay for this hotel from OfertaSimple and the accommodations were great. Upon my early arrival, they secured my baggage while I went into the town for breakfast and to look around. Before heading out for a tour, they were able to have a room available and ready for check in. Also secured bags upon early checkout & tour. Very clean hotel/room and friendly staff. The breakfast assortment (included w/stay) was also good. Additionally, the hotel was one of the few places in the entire town that had a generator when the lights went out for most of the night. Many of the other hotels didn't have any light. Away from the noisy bars, etc, but still within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had read other people's reviews on Swans Cay, and must say they were correct on a couple of things.
First, there definitely IS a mold problem with the rooms; the moldy smell could be felt the exact second you entered the room. To me it was just annoying but to someone with allergy/asthma this could be a huge issue. Carpeted floors just isn't a clever idea in a hotel based on pool/beach activities.
Secondly the pool, though a nice idea to continue the fun after a day at the beach, was too deep to really enjoy. The water was a tad cloudy, not "murky" like another traveler said, but nothing that kept me from going in.
One thing I did not appreciate was the absence of the minirefrigerator as advertised on the website. My 9 year old daughter came with me and we were really looking forward to having yogurt, cold juice and water, fruits and cheese sticks in our room for late night snacking. We certainly could do without this but would have then preferred not having it offered to us through the hotel's website. Speaking of which, we never got the wifi to work on the iPad nor on the cell phones. We didn't really miss the wifi, as we were looking forward to "disconnect", but for those of you who have for some reason to be "connected" this could be troblesome.
That being said, we had a pleasant stay. The room was spacious and clean, the beds were comfy and the a/c worked just fine. We had water and electricity throughout our 4 days, which I read other hotels were having a shortage of, so it was excellent to count on those.
Cayuco bar is near the hotel and one night a band played (awful) loud live music, which prevented us from sleeping soundly...but that wasn't the hotels fault. Just be aware that this could be bothersome depending on the location of your room. We stayed at 123 on the first floor, main building.
Staff were not exactly unfriendly but did seem to "blend" in the background, only surfacing to help if summoned.
Overall a nice experience, no huge complaints but no big compliments either. If you are looking for a luxurious experience, go elsewhere. But if you're looking for a nice place with a serene feel, daily breakfast, comfortable beds and a pool for kids who can swim, all while sticking to a budget, then I'd recommend Swan's.

Room Tip: We stayed at room123 on the first floor; if at the time of your stay there are kids making too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went to Boca for New Years without making reservations, this was the only place that had a room. We were shown two rooms, they both smelled bad. We were told the room in the main building was $260 and the room in a building behind the main building was $250. We were discussing the price and were finally told that price was for two nights. We had to pay $150 for one night. That did include New Year's Eve dinner and breakfast the next morning. Dinner was a buffet, and was ok, breakfast was a buffet and terrible. We tried to shower that night before bed and didn't have any water in the shower. When we tried to tell the front desk about it no spoke english. When we went out we were told to leave our key at the front desk, when we wanted to go back to our room we had to wait to get our key and one time were given the wrong key. We have traveled to several different countries and this was our worst hotel experience. Can tell that the the hotel was nice at one time but has not been maintained, picture on line are deceiving. Pool was murky and would not swim in there.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpfull all the time, specially Yarisbeth who helped us start to finish.
The rooms were confortable with brand new a/c split units. Internet connection was fast. Breakfast buffet was very complete, staff toasted bread upon request.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe rooms that face the main street for better internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan's Cay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan's Cay Hotel

Address: 3rd Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swan's Cay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Swan's Cay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan's Cay Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan's Cay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.