We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not 4 stars.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swan's Cay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swan's Cay Hotel to your Saves list
Swan's Cay Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This is not 4 stars.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

1. BOTH nights i stayed there there was no water starting at probably 7 pm ALL night. When I finally complained, the receptionist pretended he had no idea what I was talking about and then finally turned on some water for my room. I am not paying for a four star hotel that gives me no water (hot or cold) for 12 hours a day.
2. ONE key per room- are you serious?? You can only lock the door from the inside or the outside with the key, so my roommate or i always had to be there for the other one to get in or out. absurd.

The hotel was clean, and the breakfast delicious, but what INSANE changes need to be made.

Room Tip: There are two separate buildings and they close the door to one at night- so I had to walk alone in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
15
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a standard double on the second floor (wouldn't recommend the first flop rooms due to the ease by which you can climb on their balconies). Could be really nice, all wood floors and ceilings but the decor is cheap and the walls are scuffed. I agree with the previous comments that the stag at reception is taciturn and doesn't smile very often. It also seems that kitchen staff are off on weekends and your breakfast is chewy bread, cold scrambled eggs and artificially tasting juice. Rooms are reasonably clean, no complaints there. If you book just the room, there is a nice bakery just next door for breakfast. All in all, wouldn't stay here again, there are plenty more places at good prices in town with a lot more character and just as clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Did'nt see hand soap anywhere in Bocas del Toro but expected it in hotel's washrooms! The bacon was fatty, fetticini alfredo so rich it was nauseating, the beef gamey, the herbed potatoes had freezer burn taste, flies visited breakfast uncovered trays of pretty cut American processed cheese slices! The pizza crust is missing 3 ingredients as Bocas cannot get them. Black mold on pool tiles. Should not cost more than $20 per night but is $35. Wifi did not work with my iphone4, their computer is 2x as much as Don Chicho's internet cafe 100 meters away. Workers did not smile and looked annoyed to help. Would not return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United state
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I did not know previously Bocas del Toro, booked into this hotel because my friends recommended it. The hotel is very nice, and is much nicer inside than outside. We like very much to my wife and me. We were greeted with a smile at reception and checked in very quickly in 5 minutes. We booked a deluxe room from the balcony appreciate the center of Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Lovely and luxury hotel, nice bedrooms, refreshing swimming pool, excelent restaurant, it look like a french hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels ,Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My family and I rented three rooms for two nights at Swan's Cay Hotel in the "annex" section. For the price I thought everything was going to be alright. Then the first night one of our rooms did not have hot water and later that night we ran out of water. We made mention to the front desk about both of the problems. It seems they tried to remedy the hot water situation but it did not work. The water situation was repaired for the night thought. Then came the second night and the water problem again. Most of the water on Bocas del Toro is not good, so most of the hotels use rain water collection sytems for their water for the rooms. They seemed to be having a problem with their collection system so their tanks did not fill up. They remedied the hot water problem the second night after we metioned it to front desk again. I would stay there again however I hope they fix their water problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The lobby is nice, and it is a treat to have a pool in Bocas town. However, the beds are uncomfortable and the room was depressing. Breakfast was not included and the restaurant is overpriced for the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan's Cay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan's Cay Hotel

Address: 3rd Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swan's Cay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swan's Cay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan's Cay Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan's Cay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.