We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretend 4 star hotel whose reception doesn't even say good- bye and thank you for staying with us and spending your money here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swan's Cay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Swan's Cay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Swan's Cay Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pretend 4 star hotel whose reception doesn't even say good- bye and thank you for staying with us and spending your money here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Did'nt see hand soap anywhere in Bocas del Toro but expected it in hotel's washrooms! The bacon was fatty, fetticini alfredo so rich it was nauseating, the beef gamey, the herbed potatoes had freezer burn taste, flies visited breakfast uncovered trays of pretty cut American processed cheese slices! The pizza crust is missing 3 ingredients as Bocas cannot get them. Black mold on pool tiles. Should not cost more than $20 per night but is $35. Wifi did not work with my iphone4, their computer is 2x as much as Don Chicho's internet cafe 100 meters away. Workers did not smile and looked annoyed to help. Would not return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United state
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I did not know previously Bocas del Toro, booked into this hotel because my friends recommended it. The hotel is very nice, and is much nicer inside than outside. We like very much to my wife and me. We were greeted with a smile at reception and checked in very quickly in 5 minutes. We booked a deluxe room from the balcony appreciate the center of Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Lovely and luxury hotel, nice bedrooms, refreshing swimming pool, excelent restaurant, it look like a french hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

With a little bit of good management and friendly service, this hotel could be great The staff looked as though they had just been beaten and were just about to be beaten again. not a smile or a happy word from anyone. (I speak spanish) except for the Christian fellow on night shift. I don't know wether to blame this on the staff or the Management, however being a manager, I am well aware that s--t runs downhill. Stayed for three nights during Carnival . Carnival was a wash, nothing happening but a lot of extremely loud local music. seemed to work for the locals but all of the tourists wer getting out of Dodge. Rooms were ok. Hotel building was very nice, Pool was great. Resataurant was terrible and prices way out of line compared to other local restaurants, therefore constantly empty!! even during carnival. Value for $ was very poor. Paid $110 per night for a room that should be $50 a night. (We paid for the pool) . Wouldnt reccomend it unless you really need a pool.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool were Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels ,Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My family and I rented three rooms for two nights at Swan's Cay Hotel in the "annex" section. For the price I thought everything was going to be alright. Then the first night one of our rooms did not have hot water and later that night we ran out of water. We made mention to the front desk about both of the problems. It seems they tried to remedy the hot water situation but it did not work. The water situation was repaired for the night thought. Then came the second night and the water problem again. Most of the water on Bocas del Toro is not good, so most of the hotels use rain water collection sytems for their water for the rooms. They seemed to be having a problem with their collection system so their tanks did not fill up. They remedied the hot water problem the second night after we metioned it to front desk again. I would stay there again however I hope they fix their water problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The lobby is nice, and it is a treat to have a pool in Bocas town. However, the beds are uncomfortable and the room was depressing. Breakfast was not included and the restaurant is overpriced for the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in the Terrezza area for over a week. The rooms were very clean and the pool was excellent.

However, breakfast was not included and was very expensive. As we were the only guests in the hotel, we tried to bargain on the price for an extra week.

An argument ensued and we were asked to leave the hotel. They turned down and extra week because they were so stubborn. Incredible. It was like they didn't want the business.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swan's Cay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan's Cay Hotel

Also Known As:
Swan's Cay Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town
Address: 3rd Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swan's Cay Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Swan's Cay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan's Cay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.