We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan's Cay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swan's Cay Hotel to your Saves list
Swan's Cay Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Street | Main Street, Bocas Town, Bocas Del Toro, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
United state
1 review
“A good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I did not know previously Bocas del Toro, booked into this hotel because my friends recommended it. The hotel is very nice, and is much nicer inside than outside. We like very much to my wife and me. We were greeted with a smile at reception and checked in very quickly in 5 minutes. We booked a deluxe room from the balcony appreciate the center of Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    29
    15
    3
See reviews for
17
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Lovely and luxury hotel, nice bedrooms, refreshing swimming pool, excelent restaurant, it look like a french hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels ,Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My family and I rented three rooms for two nights at Swan's Cay Hotel in the "annex" section. For the price I thought everything was going to be alright. Then the first night one of our rooms did not have hot water and later that night we ran out of water. We made mention to the front desk about both of the problems. It seems they tried to remedy the hot water situation but it did not work. The water situation was repaired for the night thought. Then came the second night and the water problem again. Most of the water on Bocas del Toro is not good, so most of the hotels use rain water collection sytems for their water for the rooms. They seemed to be having a problem with their collection system so their tanks did not fill up. They remedied the hot water problem the second night after we metioned it to front desk again. I would stay there again however I hope they fix their water problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The lobby is nice, and it is a treat to have a pool in Bocas town. However, the beds are uncomfortable and the room was depressing. Breakfast was not included and the restaurant is overpriced for the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I stayed in the Terrezza area for over a week. The rooms were very clean and the pool was excellent.

However, breakfast was not included and was very expensive. As we were the only guests in the hotel, we tried to bargain on the price for an extra week.

An argument ensued and we were asked to leave the hotel. They turned down and extra week because they were so stubborn. Incredible. It was like they didn't want the business.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Mom, Dad and two teenagers stayed at their ocean front motel part called Terrazo by the Sea. The main hotel is on the main street a block and a half away. We thought Terrazo was definitely better. Ordinary, small but clean rooms with a good shower and excellent air conditioning. Big, bright white sun deck with umbrellas and reclining sun chairs right over the water. Pool was clean and wonderful and used after every walk into town and water taxi trip. There was a fridge in the room and a small TV with Spanish speaking stations. Also a safe for important papers, cameras, etc.

We though the front desk people were a little brusque compared to all of the other wonderful people we met in Panama. Maybe this was because we just dropped in and asked what their best deal was for two rooms for two days. The place was basically empty with only one other room being rented and they gave us a great discount with no haggling. Breakfasts were not included, you couldn't use their phone but they showed you where the pay phones were (in the town square, a block or so away) and there was no free internet. Internet service at the hotel was twice as much as the nearby Galaxie internet shop which was two blocks away.

It was quiet at night while being close to town, which was a real plus.

The pool is the major plus. We recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Swan's Cay for eleven nights. We loved our room, the front window had a beautiful view of the Carribean. We swam almost everyday in their lovely pool. We also had water taxis drop us off at their dock which was a short walk to the door of our room. Staff was great! The owners work very had at adding elegance to their hotel. The hotel is very quiet and private. I would highly recommend staying at the Swan's Cay!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
4.0 mi away
Tropical Suites
Tropical Suites
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 2 in Carenero Island
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan's Cay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan's Cay Hotel

Address: 3rd Street | Main Street, Bocas Town, Bocas Del Toro, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swan's Cay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Swan 's Cay is located on Main Street where it has a great advantage where it is accessible to all facilities and shops, offers elegant and comfortable rooms with private bathroom , air conditioners , televisions , safe , mini fridge and access to high speed internet , we have rooms for couples and families. Definitely the best place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Swan's Cay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan's Cay Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan's Cay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.