We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pukalani Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pukalani Hostal
Save Saved
You added Pukalani Hostal to your Saves list
Playa Mango, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

so glad we decided to go out of the way and stay at Pukalani! The owners were amazing people, the rooms were good and the pool rocked! pool table out on the doc, free kayaks and shuttles into town which is just 5 minutes away!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani H, Propietario at Pukalani Hostal, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
thank you very much for your comment, people like you make this job easier .
hope you come back.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    13
    10
    4
    16
See reviews for
11
20
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
City of Durango, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

pukalani is the best place to stay in bocas del toro, the owners are so kind, nice and lovely people, honestly i want to go back. if u are looking for a place to chill, to stay in the beack, to do some kayaking, cicling, you should defenitly stay there. I ve read some coments of it and almost all of them are real, it is the best place to stay. the people over there are going to guide you, and treat u like if u were someone in their family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Deje mi corazon en Pukalani!!
Definitivamente, el lugar es lo maximo. Todos hacen que te sientas en casa. Juan y Maify son excelentes anfitriones. Abres la puerta de la habitacion y tienes una fotografia eterna! La Full Moon Party no tiene precio! Siempre los recordare y espero volver muy pronto. Si, no pude evitar unas lagrimas al salir!!! ;(((

I left my heart in Pukalani. Definitely, the place is the maximum! Everyone make you feel like at home. Juan and Maify are the best hosts. YOu open your room doorand there you have an eternal picture of the beach! The Fool Moon Party is priceless! I'll always remember this place and this people and I hope to go back very soon. Yes, I couldn't help letting a few tear when leaving!!! ;(((

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The people running this place are incredibly rude. When we asked for food, which we had earlier been told was available, the nasty older woman looked at all of us in the face, sighed, spaced out a while, then said "no". The pool was full of screaming kids who were beating eachother with toys and making a huge mess and racket - clearly not paying customers, as we were, but local kids. Awful experience, would never come here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Pukalani for 5 nights, after only planning to stay 2. The owners were so lovely and accomodating to us and helped out whenever we needed. The hostel is very clean and very reasonably priced. All the dorm rooms have private bathrooms and hot showers too which was very welcome after lots of cold showers. There is a nice little kitchen so good for those who want to cook for themselves, but it is also really easy to get to town either with the shuttle service the hostel offers, by taxi for $2 or by bike which really is quite quick. The hostel is slightly out of town but has huge benefits of being within walking distance of the nicest beaches on the island which none of the hostels in town are. It also has a lovely swimming pool which is great for relaxing after a day in the sun! All the staff are so friendly, I really reccommend a stay at Pukalani, it definitely made our time in Bocas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Would have really loved Pukalani (setting is great-- pool, hammocks, pier overlooking the bay), but at around 5:30 PM they started playing loud "house" music that went on until about 10 PM. It was inescapable (even under water), ruined the beautiful and serene setting, and drove us crazy and out of the hotel for the rest of our stay on Bocas.

Shame really though, because otherwise it would have been really nice

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My fiance and I were staying on Bocas and he got a tattoo from Juan, the owner of Pukalani Hostal. Juan was an amazing guy to talk to for the 3 hour duration of the tattoo, and invited us to come swimming and check out his hostal. The next day (our last day in Bocas) we rented bicycles and it only took about 15 minutes to get there from town center. Their property is right on the beach with a beautiful gazebo over the water, large pool, bar and hang-out area. Juan told us that it is all new and they just opened in January of 2012. He showed us the rooms that were very clean, and really nice with TVs and an extra futon. He also showed us the honeymoon suit over looking the bay with a full granite kitchen, beautiful wood floors and a romantic bedroom. We regret not finding this hostal at the beginning of our stay. It would be perfect for anyone who wants to be close to the action during the day, but in a calm island paradise at night! I would send my 75 year old Aunt here, or my 21 year old nephew, great for everyone! We biked about 5 more minutes down the road to the best surfing beach in Bocas, too bad we can't surf! Stay here... and get a tattoo from Juan at Solo Ink!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pukalani Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pukalani Hostal

Address: Playa Mango, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Also Known As:
Pukalani Hostal Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pukalani Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.